We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Silver Naga Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Silver Naga Hotel
Ranked #16 of 96 Vang Vieng B&B and Inns
Vang Vieng, Laos
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

I spent a lot of time at the pool at Silver Naga when I was in Vang Vieng, and it was always fabulous. The staff were friendly and obliging. Alicia (Aussie girl) is a font of knowledge about the area, and is happy to chat and give advice. Highly recommended as a place to stay/hang out. The location is amazing, right on the river with a view of the mountains. It's a beautiful place to have a drink and watch the sunset and hot air balloons drift by in the early evening.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doodlebug20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    74
    43
    34
    22
See reviews for
31
96
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

I saw the reviews on here and thought I would check out the place for myself as building work will obviously cease at some point. I booked for 3 nights with a discount added as I was treating my partner to a bit of luxury on my traveller budget. Luxury it certainly was, the best pool around with stunning views to match, decent rooms, more you pay the bigger you get and with better views from the room. We got upgraded for free on the last day, as it was my partners birthday they put us in the luxury suite! The hotel staff are very attentive and seem to be constantly making sure the hotel is spotless. The manager Aleshia (hope thats spelt right!) went out of her way for us, and the hotel's very ethical in the way it is run (read their website). We felt like we had the whole hotel to ourselves most of the time, bliss!
Only thing I would say is get down early for the buffet breakfast or you may be left with food that has been left to dry out. Room 108 has noisy insects outside which we like but if you don't you might want another room, also a light outside (which can be switched off) shines through the top window which can light the room up.
All in all, a great hotel and very happy customers.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lukeharmony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

We had two wonderful nights in Vang Vieng, exploring its amazing surroundings. Given dodgy experiences at some other hotels in Laos, we were pleased to find a reasonably modern and clean hotel for good value. Our only complaints are that the hallways can be a little noisy and breakfast was so-so (the restaurant across the street has good pancakes). The staff are polite, cheerful, and eager to help, managed by an Australian who worked tirelessly to ensure that we enjoyed our time in Vang Vieng. We hope to return!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
176 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Silver naga had still not opened officially when I stayed there in early December 2012, but I have no doubt that it will be very good when they get the last few finishing touches in place. Seems to be a very competent management, helpful staff, great view of the river - it is located next to the riverside, in central Luang Prabang, but in a quiet area. Loved the swimming pool on the terrace. Good, new furnished and spacious room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moffedillen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern california
Level Contributor
165 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

We ended up here referred from it's older, more established sister hotel down the street, when they couldn't offer us a room where the doors and windows actually closed sufficiently to keep out mosquitos, or with air conditioning that actually worked! That turned out to be our lucky break. This property is new, and, as advised on check in, on soft opening status. The hotel sits on the river bank, is clean, with large rooms, air conditioning that works on lowest setting, elevators, an inside dining pavillion with views of the water and a large outdoor sitting area. The pool is an infinity type- beautiful, though, with river tubing and around town explorations, never used it. The room was huge, with enough hangers in the closet. The bathrooms are clean and well appointed with enough light to put on makeup or contacts, something not as common as expected in SE Asia. The beds are firm and comfortable. And did I mention CLEAN. A huge Thai group doing a Toyota 4 wheel drive trek through Laos was there when we stayed, which meant the breakfast buffet was a bit crowded, and the crowd did some evening celebrating, however, there was plenty of space, plenty of food (decent variety) and noise wasn't an issue. Manager was incredibly helpful, especially with tips and information. It did seem she was ever present, morning til night. If you're not a backpacker, and prefer a more comfortable hotel, as our Laotian guide said after touring it, "this is the best hotel in town".

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beardiegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

A new hotel with good facilities, which seems to be popular with large groups but it's still a little frayed around the edges.
Our room was outragiously big but not fully furnished, with the result that it had much unused space - an unusual state of affairs.
First impressions were excellent but once you started looking at the details, the amount of work still to do became apparent. This was particularly evident at breakfast, which appears to be operating from temporary serving arrangements at present.
The hotel manager was excellent, but seemed to be suffering a lack of support. She was often seen doing work which would normally be carried out by the staff.
Hopefully the coming winter will give them the opportunity to make the operation a bit slicker.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clarkes50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

The 'soft opening' seems to be lasting a while! It was reportedly still under way when we stayed in early December. Location is ideal - right on the river with views of nearby hills and away from the 'livelier' parts of town. Our room (I think we were upgraded) was enormous and nicely furnished but let down by tired and somewhat grubby bathroom. Staff seemed competent but not very forthcoming. This could develop into a great hotel - or may slide into mediocrity. It's difficult to predict.
BTW - following a recent Government-led 'clean-up' the worst excesses of Vang Vieng (as reported in Lonely Planet for example) are no more and while it's still strongly tourist/backpacker oriented the town now seems to be a much calmer place.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_man_in_Seat_29C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.1 mi away
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
#3 of 21 in Vang Vieng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vieng Tara Villa
Vieng Tara Villa
#4 of 21 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
#6 of 21 in Vang Vieng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 21 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Vang Vieng Riverside
Villa Vang Vieng Riverside
#16 of 21 in Vang Vieng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riverside Boutique Resort
Riverside Boutique Resort
#1 of 21 in Vang Vieng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Naga Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Naga Hotel

Property: Silver Naga Hotel
Address: Ban Savang | Nam Song Riverside, Vang Vieng 1003, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Vang Vieng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Naga Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated on the river bank in the heart of town, the Silver Naga hotel welcomes guests to experience magnificent mountain views and warm hospitality. With a focus on ethical tourism, the environment and excellent service, we aim to make your stay relaxed and comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silver Naga Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing