We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New hotel with good points but flaws”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Silver Naga Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Silver Naga Hotel
Ranked #16 of 96 Vang Vieng B&B and Inns
ACT
Level Contributor
129 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“New hotel with good points but flaws”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

The hotel was nominally still undergoing a soft opening when we stayed. The rooms are large but basic and the bathrooms look about 20 years old and are very small. The pool has a great view but is hard to get in and out of with a couple of dangerous slopes. Buffet breakfast was awful. I accept you can't expect international quality in Vang Vieng and the Naga is light years ahead of its sister, elephant crossing but go with low hopes if you don't want to be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grangeview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    74
    43
    34
    22
See reviews for
31
96
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

This hotel was newly opened when we stayed there in May, 2012. It is in a superb position on the riverfront, and not within raging distance of any of the bars and tubing part hotels so associated with Vang Vieng. Pool looked good - though we didn't use it. Wifi works. In room refrigerator. A/c and practical en-suite bathroom. Out the back door and up a special walkway - and you're on the main street of the town.

The owners are an Australian/Lao couple - the welcome warm. The only drawback is the stairs (no lift) if you're on the third floor. Breakfast was buffet style.

When we were there - no other meals were available, but it's location is excellent anyway with great views of the river and beyond - and nothing in the town is far away.

Room Tip: River side is best for views - most rooms are on the river side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank obione980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainz
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

Me and spouse were there beginning of March. We knew some parts were still under construction so that was no surprise. But we were really surprise how run-down some parts already looked although the hotel is brandnew. I wouldn't want to see how it will look in a few years...

And don't believe the website - it is definitely NOT luxury as they claim (besides the room rate, ha ha). We paid a "promotional rate of 65 Dollar for a "Deluxe Plus Room" due to the construction but it was still too much. It is "ok" but not for that amount of money.

The lobby is also the breakfast area. Check-in and check-out took ages, also due to the language barrier. The guys at the front desk looked a bit helpless - but were nice and tried to do their best. The room was big but very weird.There was only few furniture and it was chosen and placed without love and sense, e.g. you had about 2 meters between the night table and the bed ;-), but the mattress was good. The bathroom - also new - looked already very used, the bathtub had lots of scratches, the toilet looked and worked strange and all the tiles didn't fit together. Not a big problem, it was more a funny thing... But the bathroom had a disgusting smell, so each day I was happy when I could leave the bathroom again.

We stayed there for 3 nights but they didn't manage to clean the room once. Just on our last day the room service knocked on the door at 4pm but then we really didn't need it anymore.

The lobby/breakfast area is extremely sterile. It's really no fun or romantic having breakfast there - despite the location on the river. To us it looked as the breakfast was meant to cater for Asian parties and in fact we saw many and the quality wasn't good. For Western taste there is only little: the coffee is really bad (what a shame compared to the very good Lao coffee you can get everywhere else). The eggs and fruit are ok. Forget the bread, it's like a piece of wood.

To us this hotel has no value for money and was the one we liked less on our Laos trip.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cespina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vang Vieng hotels

San Francisco/London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights while going through Laos for a week. The hotel is still under construction and things like exposed wiring were throughout the halls and even in the room. The following is the list of issues we had with the property, service and room.

-The security lock on the door was broken.
-The door itself did not close properly and required us to slam the door numerous times for it to finally close.
-The bathroom was poorly finished, it seemed like nothing was measured before it was fitted. We didn't have a hair dryer or even hand soap.
-The floors in the bathroom and bedroom felt dirty.
-It was incredibly difficult to communicate with the front desk staff.
-The cereal and bread at breakfast were all very stale.
-There was no safe in the room. They would wrap up our valuables in a plastic bag and put them in the office but this required us to go down there to get anything we needed. My husband went down at midnight to get our iPad and found the security guard sleeping on a mattress by the front door with mosquito netting around him. He also found the front desk attendant sleeping on a mattress behind the desk with mosquito netting around him as well. The lobby is full of mosquitos and other bugs in the evening.
-The water in the pool was cloudy.

The location is nice, on the river. Free wifi.

I wouldn't recommend staying here until these issues are resolved.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MegHogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
522 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

I arrived in this town and was temporarily disillusioned by the town itself. Let's face it: Vang Vien is just a staging post!
But, right in the middle, with its back fronting the River Song (Nam Song) was the Silver Naga Hotel, brand new and not yet officially open!
. The views were quite pleasant with limestone, mysterious-looking mountains towering across the river.
The hotel is very conveniently situated for exploring the local limestone caves and the river.
The hotel itself is new and there was a little bit of landscaping work going on, but everything else was complete.
However, maybe because it was not yet "officially" open, the reception was not that well manned, especially in the evenings.
The breakfast was good and on a par with other big hotels in Lao.
I stayed there two nights. On the first night, a violent electric storm knocked out the lights in one section of the hotel. This is no fault of the hotel but the staff quickly offered a change of rooms.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gyanfernando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2012

We contacted Elephant Crossing and were told their main building was full up but their recently opened sister hotel next door still had vacancies with introductory discounts. We arrived at a building site next to the river. A small swimming pool is under construction and many of the rooms have not been completed. Dust is a major problem. Sadly even when completed the hotel is poor. The ill designed rooms make it impossible to view the TV from the beds. The bathroom has no plumbed hot water to the basins. The kitchenette is actually a tray with a kettle which cannot be attached to a socket without putting it on the floor. Wires hang out from ceilings. The" terrace" is divided by a wall betweeen the two windows. Breakfast is minimal and desultory. . A place to be avoided even when complete

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lkayBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.1 mi away
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
#3 of 21 in Vang Vieng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vieng Tara Villa
Vieng Tara Villa
#4 of 21 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
#6 of 21 in Vang Vieng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 21 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Vang Vieng Riverside
Villa Vang Vieng Riverside
#16 of 21 in Vang Vieng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riverside Boutique Resort
Riverside Boutique Resort
#1 of 21 in Vang Vieng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Naga Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Naga Hotel

Property: Silver Naga Hotel
Address: Ban Savang | Nam Song Riverside, Vang Vieng 1003, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Vang Vieng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Naga Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated on the river bank in the heart of town, the Silver Naga hotel welcomes guests to experience magnificent mountain views and warm hospitality. With a focus on ethical tourism, the environment and excellent service, we aim to make your stay relaxed and comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silver Naga Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing