We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome cave, swimming area over run with partying backpackers”

Tham Phu Kham Cave and Blue Lagoon
Book In Advance
More Info
$121.00*
and up
Full Day Pak Ou Caves by Boat from Luang Prabang
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome cave, swimming area over run with partying backpackers”
Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

The cave it worth the 6km adventure out of town. We hired a motor bike which was great fun. The swimming area is beautiful apart from thumping music and backpackers lazing around everywhere. It ruined any natural atmosphere.
Make sure you take a torch to the cave. It's very easy to get lost.

Helpful?
Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    314
    412
    334
    129
    71
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Oulu
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect combination”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

A really interesting cave - make sure you go all the way to the end - plus the wonderful swimming afterward. Couldn't be better!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank 423Baerbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level 6 Contributor
397 reviews
188 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Lovely easy trip and cave tubing is very relaxing!”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We loved this trip which we combined with some walking through the fields and seeing some caves - a perfect day. We booked a cheap half day trip and got back about 2/3 - great value.

The caves are lovely and our guide let us stop and have lunch while there were quite a few people when we arrived. The lagoon is small but pretty and very blue.

You then get on a big inflatable, put a torch on your head and pull yourself through the cave using the rope attached to the side of the cave. its really good fun, quite relaxed and goes on for a long time. At the end you can get up, walk through a low ceiling area and then go on further into the cave. We had a good laugh.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Poopyscoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Stunning & unique !!”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

My family of four took a tuk tuk mid morning to the caves and blue lagoon. I am glad we did not ride bikes as the dirt road to the caves was bumpy and dusty.
It is a rather steep climb to the caves but well worth it once you get to the top. My kids just loved the cave and we went right in the cave and spent a good 45 mins exploring. You can actually go right through the cave and it is well worth hire one of their torches to put on your head. My son his his head torch and the rest of the family had their own torches and still the head torch I hired was the strongest. You need good shoes with grip as it does get slippery in places.
The blue lagoon was just so beautiful, we all had a swim in refreshing clear waters. We were swimming late morning and it was very quiet. You needed a swim after the cave as you were warm by the time you climbed back down from cave.
I would recommend a visit here for anyone.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank franjipanikoonya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Heaven on earth”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

not knowing what Blue Lagoon was, my friend and i decided we'd go as all the taxi drivers kept asking us if we wanted to go there. So we went early-ish and arrived at the crystal clear blue waters, perfect 'reveolver' type music playing and ropes that you can swing into the water with.

However, before coming we had domr mushies and decided we needed to be in a clamer place. So we made our way up the mountain and into the cave (which is free entry). We began our trip in the cave and was mesmerised by the huge, golden sleeping buddha in the middle.

Unfortunately we decided that renting a torch would be a waste of money - we were so wrong. A torch is definitely necessary when going into this cave.

The cave was amazing to trip in, though even if you're not tripping it's beautiful and huge. You can walk for days in the cave if you're not worried about getting lost.

I had the best time visiting blue lagoon and Phu Kham Cave. My only suggestion is to go really early in the morning to avoid all the young drunks who take over in the afternoon (not really what you want to be around if you're tripping).

Laos is incredible, but Blue Lagoon just made me realise how incredible it is.

Another tip, if you can, try to walk the 8km back into town. you pass villages, schools, people and small cafes. when you get too tired you can always hail a tuk tuk to take you back or maybe just get on the back of someone's motorbikes (that's what we did)

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Asharma-Adventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tham Phu Kham Cave and Blue Lagoon also viewed

Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
 
Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
 

Been to Tham Phu Kham Cave and Blue Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing