We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“feel at home in Vang Vieng”

Vieng Thara Guesthouse
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vang Vieng
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vieng Thara Guesthouse
Ranked #26 of 97 Vang Vieng B&B and Inns
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“feel at home in Vang Vieng”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Very nice , cheap and friendly place , quiet rooms at the back of the building, some of them with views of the karsts . rooms have mosquitonets and nice hot showers , even little bottles with shampoo were supplied , and for coffeelovers , there is an expressomachine that makes decent coffee ....What more do you want ?

Room Tip: rooms at the backside are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tremendozapato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Macau, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We spent 2 nights in another guesthouse in Vang Vieng before moving to Vieng Thara, and it was definitely a move for the better.

Quiet, clean rooms with hot shower and aircon for a good price (70000K per night for a double in Sep 2012). The owner is extremely helpful and friendly, spending time teaching us some more Lao phrases. The location as others have said is about a 5-10 minute walk to the action of the town/bars, which is good when trying to get some sleep.

Bed and pillows were rather hard (albeit as is the norm for most accommodation in SE Asia), but apart from that it cannot be faulted.

Would definitely stay here again if we returned to Vang Vieng.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeANThology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We booked for 1 night through Agoda but ended up staying 4 (got a way better price at the guesthouse itself!!) This is an awesome guesthouse away from the main area of Vang Vieng yet still only a 5 minute walk. It was low season when we were there so Vang Vieng itself was a bit quiter than what we were expecting. The room is clean and a decent size, and for the price you pay you still awake to a decent view of the mountains each morning, if you have a chance ask for an upstairs room. Air con and hot water worked without any issues. Our room wasn’t cleaned whilst we were there, but we didn’t ask, whenever we needed frsh towels or soap and toilet paper the owner happily obliged so I’m sure if you asked for the room to be cleaned they would do it. The owner of the guesthouse is really nice, just lets you come and go as you please and the café that is part of the guesthouse makes really good food as well. We would definitely stay here if we returned to Vang Vieng, and will be recommending this place to all people travelling on a budget.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room, you have a bit of a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottandManisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights after having checked out of Pans Place after one night.
The rooms are large, clean and bright. The restaurant offers great breakfasts and good coffee. Family run and really friendly.
Great value for money and situated on the quiet side of town but only five minutes walk from the centre.
Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peroxide_steam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.0 mi away
Vieng Tara Villa
Vieng Tara Villa
#3 of 22 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riverside Boutique Resort
Riverside Boutique Resort
#1 of 22 in Vang Vieng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bountang Hotel & Guesthouse
Bountang Hotel & Guesthouse
#49 of 97 in Vang Vieng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 22 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
#6 of 22 in Vang Vieng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.0 mi away
Laos Haven Hotel
Laos Haven Hotel
#2 of 97 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vieng Thara Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vieng Thara Guesthouse

Property: Vieng Thara Guesthouse
Address: No.089 Viengkeo Village, Vang Vieng 1003, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Vang Vieng
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing