We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great if it Was in a Big City”
Review of Laos Haven Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Laos Haven Hotel
Ranked #2 of 97 Vang Vieng B&B and Inns
Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
494 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Great if it Was in a Big City”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We spent 2 nights in Vang Vieng. This area is known for its natural beauty and great views. This town would be a great place to spring for a nice riverside bungalow or something with a view in a quiet area.

Laos Haven isn’t that place. It is pretty decent hotel for the price. The staff is exceedingly helpful. The rooms are clean. Prices are very reasonable.

But the rooms are rather soulless and the whole hotel is a multi-level type that would be great in a city location. Here in Vang Vieng, it isn’t quite the type of place that fits.

One additional thing. It was a bit disconcerting to make a reservation for one hotel and, upon arrival, be walked across the street to a completely different hotel with a different name. We were informed that Laos Haven now manages this other hotel, so many of their guests go there. We had reserved late and had one night in this other hotel and a second night in Laos Haven. The other hotel is more expensive and has AC and larger rooms with better features. So it turned out to be OK. Just realize that there is a difference.

So, this would be a very good hotel in Vientiane. But in a place where the views and nature should be real important, Laos Haven just isn’t it. If you want a multi-story, non-descript hotel in the center of town with no decent views then this is a great place for you.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laoshaven, Owner at Laos Haven Hotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Michael: Thank you for your review and comments. We do have plan for a new property by the river and it would be a perfect place for your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    211
    65
    20
    15
See reviews for
28
267
90
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
98 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic value for money. The room was clean and had everything required, the breakfast was really good and the location is about 10 minutes walk from the centre of Vang Vieng. In addition to the room the level of customer service was exceptional, I would definitely recommend spending time here if visiting Vang Vieng.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laoshaven, Owner at Laos Haven Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Michael: Thank you for your endorsement and we truly appreciate your kind words and we hope to be of service to you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

We had a very nice stay here for 6 nights. The room was massive and bathroom quite spacious too. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was quite good, although the amount of fruit provided could be larger. We only had a couple minor issues - we had a poor wifi signal in our room and there was a bit of an ant issue in the bathroom (large ants). Two mornings we woke up to dozens of ants in the sink! It didn't bother us much though, we'd stay here again. I wouldn't recommend the deep tissue massage, both my partner and I had sore backs for days afterwards (and not in a good way...)

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a_wanderer777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laoshaven, Owner at Laos Haven Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Michael: Thank you for a positive review and i will look into your comment and suggestion. We sincerely look forward to be of service to you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

The bed wasn't very comfortable (very hard) but we have to give this 5 stars as everything else made up for it. The family that run it (especially the son) were the friendliest and most helpful that we have met on our travels, with excellent English. The location is fantastic. Rooms are simplistic and spacious, clean and have an excellent TV. Excellent choice for breakfast. We have paid more in the past for guesthouses/hotels far inferior to this.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laoshaven, Owner at Laos Haven Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Michael: Thank you for sharing your experience while staying with us. We truly appreciate your kind words and we hope to be of service to you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Upon arrival at the hotel, the staff had missed our online booking. We then stayed one night in a Standard room, before being upgraded and spending the remaining two nights of our stay in the Deluxe room. The Standard room was ok. Bed was comfy, room a bit small, and the bathroom a little cramped. The Deluxe room however, fantastic! Well worth the extra cash if you're deciding. The views were amazing, the bed excellent, room spacious, and quiet. Also thrown in due to the missed room were a massage for the pair of us, thank you Marcus!

The hotel itself is a little away from the main area, but only a 10 minute walk away. The staff were all VERY friendly and did everything to make our stay more enjoyable. Would absolutely stay here again if travelling to Vang Vieng. Also, make sure to grab a beer and watch the sunset from the third floor balcony, stunning.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrownThongs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laoshaven, Owner at Laos Haven Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Michael: Thank you for sharing your positive experience while staying with us and we sincerely look forward to be of service to you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Da Nang, Vietnam
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

Very nice room and great food. But the best was the staff. They were super friendly, reliable and very helpful. I highly recommend this hotel.

By the way: I recommend Vang Vieng as well; even when you dont like party stuff like tubing for example. The area around the town is very beautiful and easy to reach by a rental motorbike or bicycle.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ymbtrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laoshaven, Owner at Laos Haven Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Michael: Thank you for your kind words and your endorsement and we sincerely look forward to be of service to you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

The room: Our bed was very squeaky and also a little too hard. Bedlamps would have been nice.
The hotel: Has a nice balcony you can see the sunset from, they accept credit cards and can also help you with booking trips/activities (such as the $80 balloon ride). Their internet connection was terrible during our stay so we ended up going to cafe's just to be able to check our email.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Carl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laoshaven, Owner at Laos Haven Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Michael: I apologize for the beds made in LAO and also the poor internet signal during your stay which happen to be provided by a state own company LAO TELECOM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.1 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 23 in Vang Vieng
194 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vieng Tara Villa
Vieng Tara Villa
#3 of 23 in Vang Vieng
188 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
#6 of 23 in Vang Vieng
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riverside Boutique Resort
Riverside Boutique Resort
#1 of 23 in Vang Vieng
641 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bearlin Bungalow
Bearlin Bungalow
#4 of 97 in Vang Vieng
52 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thavonsouk Resort
Thavonsouk Resort
#11 of 23 in Vang Vieng
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laos Haven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laos Haven Hotel

Property: Laos Haven Hotel
Address: 047 Viengkeo Village, Main Road, Vang Vieng 0011, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Vang Vieng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Laos Haven Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 3 story hotel with 27 well appointed rooms. Strategically located on the quiet end of the main street easily accessible to the Nam Song river and a stone throw away from the happenings in the town. The 7 Haven Restaurant on site provide Lunch & Dinner with a selection of Asian Cuisine from 11am to 2pm & 6pm to 9pm Daily. The Management & Staff are totally committed to provide a home away from home experience for all. A perfect choice for those seeking a mixed holiday experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Laos Haven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing