We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable spot”
Review of Laos Haven Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Laos Haven Hotel
Ranked #4 of 101 Vang Vieng B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Laos Haven is a comfortable, clean place to stay while in Vang Vieng. The room was good sized and even had a tv. The bathroom was fine although smelled a bit after showers.
Location is near everything since the town is small but it's off on a quiet street so you won't be bothered by night activities.
Staff was very nice and extremely helpful in planning out things to do.
If you're backpacking and care less about accommodation, you can definitely find a cheaper guesthouse nearby. If you want to feel more comfortable than this is a better choice.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
Thank C K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laoshaven, Owner at Laos Haven Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Michael: Thank you for your positive review and we sincerely hope to be of service to you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (620)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

427 - 433 of 620 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2013

We were looking for a quiet guesthouse away from the party area of town. Laos Haven was perfect. Located on one of the main thoroughfares, it is easy to find yet still quiet at night. The swing seats were great for watching the evening storms.

The shower was great! A rarity for Laos.

The owners and staff were really friendly and interested in our trip. They made us feel very welcome.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laoshaven, Owner at Laos Haven Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Michael: Thank you for your positive review and we sincerely hope to be of service to you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

The owner and his son were great, gave us plenty of information about the city, always very polite and happy to speak to us. Breakfast was great, rooms were perfect. Would stay here again and defiantly recommended for people looking looking at accommodation in vang vien.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryanyoung89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laoshaven, Owner at Laos Haven Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Michael: Thank you for your positive review and we sincerely look forward to be of service to you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed at Laos Haven after finding it online. The room was basic and furnishings looked a little dated but it was spotlessly clean with a new TV.
Breakfast was advised on check in that it was included in the room but we were told on the second day that that was a mistake and we had to pay for it which was dissapointing as its not the cheapest place to stay in that area so we had expected it to be included.
What made laos haven so special was the incredibly attentive team there, nothing is too much trouble and they were all so helpful and friendly that we felt like part if the family.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tobiasadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laoshaven, Owner at Laos Haven Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Michael: I apologize for the misunderstanding actually I was actually talking to your friend regarding breakfast because their package at USD 23,00 include 2 breakfasts. You had the same type room as your friend and you only paid USD 15,00 and breakfast.is optional at USD 3.00. Please try to understand we can never be the cheapest for what we offering and you did get value for what you pay. Anyway you also got 2 free breakfasts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

The hospitality we received was excellent and the hotel is very centrally located to all the nightlife but far enough away to have a peaceful nights sleep. However we have discovered since leaving the hotel that foreign currency has been stolen from our bags. The only time we left money in the room was when we went tubing, this was also the only day we asked for our room to be cleaned. This is the only place we have stayed where this has happened so would be unable to rate it any higher than average due to this reason.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdamWard88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laoshaven, Owner at Laos Haven Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Michael: Our hotel provides a SAFE in every room to ensure all our guest monies & valuables are safely locked away during their stay with us. Our record shows you were staying with us for 3 nights and would have plenty of time to settle in and sufficient time to learn to use the SAFE in your room. But what is your rationale to leave monies in your bag as mentioned when there is a SAFE in your room to keep your valuable and now you claimed monies were stolen during your absent while you were out tubing. Pardon my ignorance; even if monies were stolen from your bag wouldn't you have notice your monies were gone upon returning to your room after tubing? Furthermore, if you had monies placed in your bag as you were packing to leave, you must have knew your monies had been taking but you never mentioned to us about any loses before your departure on the 10th October 2013 but instead you conveniently chose to make a public statement on Trip Advisor on the very day. I am aware how secret shoppers operate so be prepare to accept consequences that will follow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed 2 nights at the Laos Haven Hotel during a visit to Vang Vieng. We chose this hotel based on previous trip advisor reviews and whilst the hotel was nice I believe that there is still room for improvement.

Firstly, the bed was so uncomfortable which I believe was a combination of a bad mattress and some planks missing under the bed (there was ply wood under the mattress) which also meant the mattress sagged a little in places. We have been travelling in Asia for over a month now and realise that Asian beds are hard but this was by far the hardest we have experienced.

In our bathroom there appeared to be a shelf missing under the mirror which meant there was nowhere to put your stuff but that's only a minor!

The Hotel has a good location, located on the main road a short walk to the many bars and restaurants of VV but far enough away that it is nice and peaceful.

The breakfast was the usual for budget accommodation, tea/coffee, bread and jam and your choice of eggs which is sufficient.

The owner Michael is a very funny and friendly guy and very helpful.

Finally, I'm not sure why this hotel is called a Spa as we saw no evidence of a spa here or nearby.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkE82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laoshaven, Owner at Laos Haven Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Michael: Firstly, I have checked the bed you slept on in room 307 and all the planks are intact and nothing was missing as suggested. FYI, wooden beds made in LAO are structurally different from those made in England and also mattresses MADE IN LAO are firm and crude definitely less luxurious and supple comparing with developed countries. As a tourist from a developed country on holiday in LAO should learn to exercise more empathy and be less critical about everything outside your comfort zone. Secondly, I do apologize for the missing shelf in your bathroom due to accidental breakage by a guest before you. For the record, if I was ONLY given a chance to do my job, I would have moved you to another room and organized additional comforters over your mattress to relief your discomfort. Finally, we always had a spa operation in house but you never bother to ask but instead choose make a public statement based on your personal assumption. Again FYI, Spa is not only a POOL. Spa is a wellness experience through the use of water as a medium (liquid or steam) combining with one or more non-evasive therapies in order to achieve a total wellness for the BODY, MIND & SPIRIT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

The first thing to say is that the hospitality extended by my Michael and his wife is 5 star! Always cheerful, willing to share local knowledge and stories, and nothing but helpful. Breakfast is brilliant and filling (making a stay here superb value), laundry service is fast and well taken care of, location is quiet being down river but still only a few minutes walk from the main area of restaurants and bars and the tours very reasonably priced. You always feel like your getting a genuine deal.

The rooms are small, cosy and very well looked after and the beds very comfortable. There is a security safe in the room we stayed in on the top floor and I presume every room.

Our stay, especially the amazing stories Michael shared with us, with stay with us long after we finish our trip around south east asia.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jodin_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laoshaven, Owner at Laos Haven Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Michael: Thank you for your kind words and I am glad to have made your acquaintance and I sincerely look forward to having you back again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.1 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 26 in Vang Vieng
217 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mountain View Riverside Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
#7 of 26 in Vang Vieng
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Maylyn Guest House
Maylyn Guest House
#5 of 101 in Vang Vieng
370 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vang Vieng Rock Backpacker Hostel
0.4 mi away
Maylay Guesthouse
Maylay Guesthouse
#7 of 101 in Vang Vieng
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laos Haven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laos Haven Hotel

Address: 047 Viengkeo Village, Main Road, Vang Vieng 0011, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in Vang Vieng
Price Range: $23 - $34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Laos Haven Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 3 story hotel with 27 well appointed rooms. Strategically located on the quiet end of the main street easily accessible to the Nam Song river and a stone throw away from the happenings in the town. The 7 Haven Restaurant on site provide Lunch & Dinner with a selection of Asian Cuisine from 11am to 2pm & 6pm to 9pm Daily. The Management & Staff are totally committed to provide a home away from home experience for all. A perfect choice for those seeking a mixed holiday experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Laos Haven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing