We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very special family owned and operated hotel.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Laos Haven Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Laos Haven Hotel
Ranked #2 of 96 Vang Vieng B&B and Inns
Anacortes, WA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very special family owned and operated hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

Large clean room, very friendly and helpful family, free wifi, good restaurant.
Our room was large and clean with free wifi in the common guest areas and on the open-air balcony outside our room. Everything in town is easily accessible from the hotel location. It is family owned and operated by a father and son who are friendly, helpful and accommodating. The son is learning Thai cooking from his aunt, and let me tell you, he can cook up some of the best Phad Thai and spring rolls I have eaten, served in a nice open-air restaurant a couple of steps from the hotel. It was the best food we ate in town. We enjoyed several interesting conversations with both the father and the son. We highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roadhogdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laoshaven, Owner at Laos Haven Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Owner/Manager Michael Laos Haven Hotel & Spa:: Thank you for a positive review of your stay and we are very happy to receive your strong endorsement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    209
    62
    20
    15
See reviews for
28
260
87
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
winnipeg
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

We planned on spending a couple nights in Vang Vieng and ended up staying 5. Owners were so welcoming, even invited me to join their family dinner. Great food in their restaurant and very professional/mannerly service. Always a hello, smile and quick chat when leaving or returning.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laoshaven, Owner at Laos Haven Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Owner/Manager Michael Laos Haven Hotel & Spa:: Thank you for a positive review of your stay and we sincerely hope to be of service to you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level Contributor
87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

At first i was struggling to see the reason for all the good reviews but the place grows on you and the owners/managers are great people. The rooms are pretty basic even though im used to the showers the wet the whole bathroom having the toilet between the shower and the drain was strange. The breakfast was very basic but fresh baguette was tasty and i always left satisfied. But it was the staff and homely secure feeling that makes the place. I hired a moto from in town and came out to use it in the arvo to find it had been raining and they had moved the moto under cover for me. They were generally very helpful and friendly especially the owners son mentioned in other reviews. Overall i think this is a good choice for vang vieng however if you are looking for mid range type accommodation it might be a bit basic.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimburns4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laoshaven, Owner at Laos Haven Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Owner/Manager Michael Laos Haven Hotel & Spa:: Thank you for a positive review of your stay and we will work towards improving our weakness
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

This hotel is a few minutes walk from the main streets in Vang Vieng. This means you do not get any noise. I had the best sleep of my travels here (been travelling for 6weeks).

The son of the owner who works there is fab. He gave us so much information about what to do in Vang Vieng. He helped organise a tuk tuk to the blue lagoon, he was also happy to book us tours and give us any advice we needed about the area. The friendly service they provide is exceptional.

The breakfast is very good - baguette, eggs, sausage and coffee/juice each morning. We actually ate our main meals here most nights as the food is very nice.

You were always greeted with a friendly smile by the owner and his family.

The rooms are fairly basic, but a good size with air con. The tv channels are good -showed all premier league matches live! The views from the hotel are lovely.

Wifi is better the nearer the router your room is. (The router is in the middle of each corridor). We did move to the room opposite the router and the wifi was great.

Definitely recommend this place. We stayed an extra night as we were enjoying it there so much.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CrabbyFruitcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laoshaven, Owner at Laos Haven Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Owner/Manager Michael: Thank you for your positive review. We are very happy to learn that you enjoy your stay with us and we sincerely hope to be of service to you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
121 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

Without booking in advance, I was lucky to get a room. Although the standard room is nothing special, I am pretty positive about Haven. It is located at the end of the main street. In previous reviews, that was considered a big plus. However, as bars along the river have been shut down, noise inside the city is not really a problem any more. Still Haven offers the best breakfast (included in the prize, I have seen in Laos and the staff is really helpful. Everything was taken care of. Cleaning of the room is done upon request. WiFi is free, room is clean.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThaiRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laoshaven, Owner at Laos Haven Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Owner/Manager Michael: Thank you for a positive review of your stay with us. I hope to be of service to you again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KualaLumpur
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Vang Vieng is a small town and the street is around 1~2km long. Laos Haven hotel is just at the center of the town. You can access all nearby restaurants and shops easily.The hotel owners are a Singaporean and a Thai, but they run their business in Vang Vieng. The room is clean and tidy and toilet is equiped with hot water. WIFI is available in the hotel, but the signal is weak in our room. A/C and TV are available in the room. There is a hanging swing at the common area. You may spend some time reading books/surfing net at the swing and enjoy the evening breeze. American breakfast is included with just USD 30/ nite for three persons. I think the hotel is worth for a stay if you are looking for cheap accomodation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank glkhann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laoshaven, Owner at Laos Haven Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Owner/Manager Michael : Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. I look forward to be of service to you and your friends again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights and we had such a great time, and a lot of that was due to the family who run the hotel. They were so hospitable from the moment we arrived and genuinely seemed like they wanted their guests to have a great stay and enjoy their hotel. Our room was really big and comfortable and overlooked the mountains. Breakfast was really tasty with among other things a lovely warm baguette. We also had dinner here and we really enjoyed that too. It's a great location, just a 5 minute walk from the main restaurants. We would definitely recommend others to stay here!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eloise82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laoshaven, Public Relations Manager at Laos Haven Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Guest Relation Manager/Marcus- Laos Haven Hotel & Spa. Thank you so much for you positive feedback. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we sincerely hope to see you and Darron again soon in future. There are more local delicacies waiting for you to try here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.2 mi away
Vieng Tara Villa
Vieng Tara Villa
#5 of 20 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 20 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
#6 of 20 in Vang Vieng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
#3 of 20 in Vang Vieng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riverside Boutique Resort
Riverside Boutique Resort
#1 of 20 in Vang Vieng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bountang Hotel & Guesthouse
Bountang Hotel & Guesthouse
#50 of 96 in Vang Vieng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laos Haven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laos Haven Hotel

Property: Laos Haven Hotel
Address: 047 Viengkeo Village, Main Road, Vang Vieng 0011, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Vang Vieng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Laos Haven Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 3 story hotel with 27 well appointed rooms. Strategically located on the quiet end of the main street easily accessible to the Nam Song river and a stone throw away from the happenings in the town. The 7 Haven Restaurant on site provide Lunch & Dinner with a selection of Asian Cuisine from 11am to 2pm & 6pm to 9pm Daily. The Management & Staff are totally committed to provide a home away from home experience for all. A perfect choice for those seeking a mixed holiday experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Laos Haven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing