We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing owners and nice rooms - the place to stay in Vang Vieng”
Review of Laos Haven Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Laos Haven Hotel
Ranked #2 of 97 Vang Vieng B&B and Inns
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Amazing owners and nice rooms - the place to stay in Vang Vieng”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

The owners Michael, his wife and son were amazing and make this place superior. Though it was sometimes a bit hard to understand Michael (his English is amazing, he just likes to mumble :), it only adds to his great character.

He gave us many honest tips and a lot of interesting information about Vang Vieng. I especially liked that he put the satisfaction of his guests before his interest of making money. Something you don't encounter very often in South East Asia.

The rooms were very nice: clean and comfortable beds, a water filtration system (they don't call tap water in Laos "water without fish" for no reason) and strong but quiet air conditioning. This was also finally the first hotel in Laos, where I could see my face in the mirror (I'm 1.90m).

If I come back to Vang Vieng, I would definitely stay here anytime again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeonTLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laoshaven, Guest Relations Manager at Laos Haven Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Guest Relation Manager/Marcus- Laos Haven Hotel & Spa Thank you for your kind & positive review and I look forward to be of service to you & your family again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    211
    65
    20
    15
See reviews for
28
267
90
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Got recommended by a friend to visit this place in Laos and chanced upon this hotel . Price range is very affordable. Great service staff, nice food cooked by their head chef. What's worth the trip there, is the great scenery surrounding this hotel! Words can't describe how it feels like to be there. Will go back when my next holiday comes!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Augustine Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laoshaven, Guest Relations Manager at Laos Haven Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Guest Relation Manager/Marcus- Laos Haven Hotel & Spa Thank you for your positive review and I look forward to be of service to you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Loved this hotel. The owner was a bloke called michael, he was really helpful, spoke good english and gave us some good advise. Really clean, good air con, nice breakfast (which he would always serve us late if we weren't up in time). Overall good value for money with really nice freindly staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laoshaven, Owner at Laos Haven Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Owner/Manager Michael Laos Haven Hotel & Spa: Thank you for your positive reviews and please take care and I do look forward to be of service to you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

In all of our travels in Asia we would have to say our stay with Michael and Sue was one of the most memorable. To start with we had mechanical problems with our motorcycle in the mountains out of Vang Vieng and when we finally arrived at the hotel our host Michael organised everything for the bike while we showered and went out to dinner. The next morning he had transport back to the bike organised and by mid morning we were all sorted. You can't get better than that.
Sue is a Thai lady and better Thai food you won't find anywhere in Asia including Thailand. Michael is multi lingual and is happy to advise the best activities around the area and any pitfalls you might encounter.
Put simply we had a great time in Vang Vieng largely due to our hosts. Nothing is too much trouble for them. You won't do better.
Trevor and Karen, Port Macquarie, AUSTRALIA

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laoshaven, Owner at Laos Haven Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Owner/Manager Michael Laos Haven Hotel & Spa: Thank you for your very positive reviews and it was my pleasure to serve you and I do look forward to your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

The owners Michael and Sue are raising the bar of hotel standards in Vang Vieng. The hotel is quiet enough to rest but close enough to the tubing clubbing action. It is one of the rare hotels (if not only) with a water filtration system and CCTV for security. Michaels a lovely gent with a hearty laugh, and gives really good advice about the area and also local situations. I travelled alone and he made it a point that I felt at home, by engaging me in long conversations and introducing me to other travelers. Meant to just pass by and stay for a day, but ended there for 3 days. I miss the place already!

Room Tip: The rooms on 3rd level are nice and basic. Good views of the karst mountains at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank etchyfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laoshaven, Owner at Laos Haven Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Owner/Manager Michael Laos Haven Hotel & Spa: Thank you for your positive reviews and I do sincerely hope to be of service to you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Quiet, clean budget hostel accommodation within a 5 minute walk to town. Fantastic service from Michael the owner, who went out of his way to make us feel comfortable & give us information on the local sights & things to do. Organized flights & bus tickets through Michaels wife at a great rate too! Only negative was the slow wifi :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GizmoMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laoshaven, Owner at Laos Haven Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Owner/Manager Michael Laos Haven Hotel & Spa Thank you for your kind & positive review and I sincerely hope to be of service to you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

This hotel is about 3-4 blocks away from the center of Vang Vieng which is a bit out of the action, but in a tiny town like this it doesn't really matter. The room was big and comfortable. Good AC and good wifi all at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian88888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laoshaven, Owner at Laos Haven Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Owner/Manager Michael Laos Haven Hotel & Spa. Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. I hope to be of service to you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.1 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 23 in Vang Vieng
194 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vieng Tara Villa
Vieng Tara Villa
#3 of 23 in Vang Vieng
188 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
#6 of 23 in Vang Vieng
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mountain View Riverside Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Riverside Boutique Resort
Riverside Boutique Resort
#1 of 23 in Vang Vieng
641 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bearlin Bungalow
Bearlin Bungalow
#4 of 97 in Vang Vieng
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laos Haven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laos Haven Hotel

Property: Laos Haven Hotel
Address: 047 Viengkeo Village, Main Road, Vang Vieng 0011, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Vang Vieng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Laos Haven Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 3 story hotel with 27 well appointed rooms. Strategically located on the quiet end of the main street easily accessible to the Nam Song river and a stone throw away from the happenings in the town. The 7 Haven Restaurant on site provide Lunch & Dinner with a selection of Asian Cuisine from 11am to 2pm & 6pm to 9pm Daily. The Management & Staff are totally committed to provide a home away from home experience for all. A perfect choice for those seeking a mixed holiday experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HostelWorld, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Laos Haven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing