We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most attractive guesthouse in Vang Vieng - great service and the only place (of three I stayed in) where I wanted to spend t”
Review of Champa Lao

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Champa Lao
Ranked #12 of 97 Vang Vieng B&B and Inns
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The most attractive guesthouse in Vang Vieng - great service and the only place (of three I stayed in) where I wanted to spend t”
Reviewed March 14, 2012

I stayed in three places in Vang Viang - one cheaper, one more expensive, and this was easily the nicest. The garden out front, the relaxed reception with day beds, and the incredible view from the breakfast area were the highlights - with the room itself being quite nicely decorated and clean. Service was very friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flashard75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    31
    9
    10
    4
See reviews for
9
32
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
bicton
Level Contributor
46 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2012

Very quiet and peaceful after the rabble down the street!Very clean rooms but price has increased from past reviews but still great value at 120,000 kip with breakfast. Free tea and coffee all day. Set in a lovely garden,the owner is very friendly and helpful. Also great if you love dogs,there are about 5 and puppies!Once you block out the drunken and drugged gap year teenagers,this is a beautiful place. Do the kayak trip.One word of warning! Catch the VIP bus to Luang Prabang,i have heard horror stories about the mini vans.

Room Tip: maybe stay away from the rooster at the end room,but hey ,it is an Asian alarm clock!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacksonAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed February 3, 2012

Loved this place! Our room was pink which was perfect for us and it was by far the prettiest place we stayed in in SE Asia. Unfortunately, however, my friend broke her wrist whilst tubing and we had to go to the local hospital immediately. There we found that all the doctors and nurses had no English and we were struggling to communicate. So one of our friends went back to the Champa Lao guesthouse and informed the guesthouse owner. He came down to the hospital and translated everything for us (his English was fantastic). We had to leave for Vientiane hospital afterwards and he arranged a taxi car for us and advised us on where to stay in Vientiane. He was so helpful and such a nice man! I'd recommend anyone to stay here, best hospitality in SE Asia!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aisling_byrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
95 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

We were advised to stay here by someone we met in Siphandon. He said it was the best place he had stayed in SE Asia so far and very cheap.
When we arrived in Vang Vieng, we were dumped outside town by the bus by a non-descript hotel. The owner arranged for us to ride into town and look at her guesthouse there. It was pretty good but not as good as Champa Lao. Despite the fact that it was monsooning it down, the place looked amazing.
The common area is all plants, sofas, tv and puppies! Three 30 day old puppies and their mum provided endless entertainment for everyone staying there.
The double room with fan and ensuite was pink but new looking. Clean bathroom and bed sheets. very secure with bars on windows and padlock on door so felt able to leave valuables in our room.
The owner and his family are the friendliest I have met to date travelling round cambodia, laos and vietnam. He insisted we settle in after being caught in the rain and sort out registration later.
Breakfast was included for 60,000 kip which is the cheapest price we have paid to date. The breakfast was a choice of baguette with jam, chicken rice soup or omelette and baguette. Hot drinks are free.
Breakfast is served in the sister guesthouse where the dorms are which is a couple of buildings down the street.
The location of the guesthouse is off the main road, which means you are spared the drunken gap year hoardes late at night that are common in Vang Vieng. Trust me, you do not want to be on the main road.
The best and cheapest place we stayed in all of Laos.
Stay here.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DocMarkL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.6 mi away
Vieng Tara Villa
Vieng Tara Villa
#3 of 22 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
#6 of 22 in Vang Vieng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 22 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bountang Hotel & Guesthouse
Bountang Hotel & Guesthouse
#49 of 97 in Vang Vieng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.0 mi away
Champalao The Villa
Champalao The Villa
#24 of 97 in Vang Vieng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.5 mi away
Laos Haven Hotel
Laos Haven Hotel
#2 of 97 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Champa Lao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Champa Lao

Property: Champa Lao
Address: By Song River, Vang Vieng, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Vang Vieng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Champa Lao 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Champa Lao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing