We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pan's Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pan's Place
Ranked #6 of 96 Vang Vieng B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

Really enjoyed our stay at Pan's Place. Really welcoming and friendly. For the money the rooms are great value. The shower is great too - stays hot and is powerful :) The food is also great (and MSG free). Would recommend this place to my friends.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    112
    57
    19
    8
See reviews for
4
90
81
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Halmstad, Sweden
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

This is a perfect option for you who is looking for a backpacker friendly stay!

The staff is really nice and helpful.

The food that the serve in the small restaurant is really good and great value.


And it's a great place if you just wanna relax after a hard night out!

Really recommend this place to my fellow backpackers!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Viktor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pomorie, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

what a cute little authentic place . extremely clean and is worth every cent we payed to stay here. staff was very friendly we loved it here :) although the breakfast was mediocre .. but still we had a lovely time here . and the owner too was very helpful

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joanna h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

When we first arrived we were given the option of looking at the room; which we did and found it to be good considering the price. It was a basic bungalow with two beds and mosquito nets.
However this dry season has been one of the coldest laos had ever seen so at night we were freezing cold; not at all the accommodation's fault, but perhaps in winter recommend a room inside the building.
However we did find the beds quite springy and old.
The next day we went to the owner and asked if we could change rooms; he happily said sure, and offered us the choice of two different rooms at the same price.
The next three nights were fantastic.
The rooms are basic, but that's what I expected. The wifi is pretty good for Laos, but gets turned off at night.
The staff are lovely, everything was clean and they offer free drinking water.
The bus transfers were also a good price compared to some of the others we saw around town.
The bathrooms are clean and basic; there is only one hot shower, so if you want a hot shower make sure you get the one with the hot water heater.

Also the walls are quite thin and we could hear everything the couple in the next room were saying... But they were very loud people, so not necessarily a fault of the hostel.

Good place for the price, we ended up staying another night. Good location, would recommend.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JessVZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chris p, Owner at Pan's Place, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Hi Jessi
Thankls for taking the time to review our G/H. We have spare blankets for those who ask, and the old springy matresses now have a dence foam pad on them. As for the one hot shower, it is in a commen area by the bungalows and is for all thoes in the six cheap rooms. For every one else all ninteen rooms have there own hot shower.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

Couldn't have asked for anything more!

We really enjoyed our stay at Pan's Place. Chris and his Daughter were very helpful with conveying information and helping us plan our day at Vang Vieng. They helped arrange our visit to the blue lagoon and also our kayaking trip. Gave us good and honest advice about activities around Vang Vieng! The restaurant is really nice and has value for money food. Oh and if you're free, sitting down with Chris and talking about Laos and the world economy, culture and philosophy is insightful too! :)

Room Tip: Try getting the En-Suite room if you can. It's just one US dollar different from single rooms, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank syira_mahmud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hometown, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

A typical backpacker's style hostel with a charismatic owner who gives you every advice and answer you need. Breakfast is cheap and very tasty. The hostel itself is not directly in the city, which is very good as you have a quiet night. However, the bed could have been more soft.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elsa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

I stayed in Vang Vieng for a few weeks and tried 4 different guesthouses before happening upon Pan's Place. This is hands down the best place to stay in Vang Vieng.

The price is better than all of the other places I tried. (About $5-$6 USD/day for a double room, if memory serves, less for shared bathroom). Though the internet is terrible throughout Laos, and especially in Vang Vieng, this place has the best you're going to find in town. If you stay on the first floor & close to the front you can have wifi in your room. If not, the in-house cafe is charming and even private enough to Skype home.

The food in the cafe is surprisingly good and cheaper than anywhere else in town. I recommend the omelette or the cottage pie. The salads are simple but good, too. This is also the place to buy bottled water and other beverages at the best rate.

This place is quiet, too, which can be hard to find in town. The owner closes shop at 11pm (though you can still come home through the back when you like) and the building is situated as to block out the loud party noises that plague almost every other place. The location is right in the middle of things, so you can walk anywhere without a tuk tuk.

Lastly, the staff & owner are just genuinely good people. They're warm and helpful and don't nickel & dime you for every little thing. Oh, and the rooms are comfy (not the typical rock hard beds) and clean. They have hot water in the bathrooms/showers and decent water pressure.

I wouldn't stay any place else when in Vang Vieng and I can't wait to go back. I feel lucky to have found this place and it's where I would send my friends if they were going to Vang Vieng.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor & close to the front have Wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldonashoestring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chris p, Owner at Pan's Place, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for the glowing review,I hope we can live up to other's expectation. One slight observation is that I hope anyone reading this does not think I wrote it, .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.0 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 21 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.1 mi away
Laos Haven Hotel
Laos Haven Hotel
#2 of 96 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bountang Hotel & Guesthouse
Bountang Hotel & Guesthouse
#50 of 96 in Vang Vieng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Jammee Guest House
Jammee Guest House
#17 of 96 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maylay Guesthouse
Maylay Guesthouse
#9 of 96 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chilllao Youth Hostel Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pan's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pan's Place

Property: Pan's Place
Address: Main Street, Vang Vieng, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Vang Vieng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Pan's Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing