We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE place to be!!!!”
Review of Pan's Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pan's Place
Ranked #6 of 99 Vang Vieng B&B and Inns
Blankenberge, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“THE place to be!!!!”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I've stayed in pan's place in december and it was à verry good experience, Chris the owner knows so much about vang vieng, where to hire bikes, hiking tours, ... Actualy i think he can answer all of your questions even on your further travel route throug Laos... And breakfast is SUPER I liked the porridge and fruitshakes a lot! Thank you for your great help!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElsJeReistGraag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    117
    57
    19
    8
See reviews for
4
94
82
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

One of the cheapest rooms in Vang Vieng (40.000 for a double room with shared bathroom) the guy in reception was very helpful with advice about the town, they had free drinking water and use of computers.
But we had the first room upstairs (I think 201) and it was very smelly, like being next to the sewers, so I wouldn't recommend this room.
Also the way to the hot shower from that room is quite far and the shared shower had holes.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Johanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chris p, Owner at Pan's Place, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review our G/H, and adnising us of the smell. We discovered that the previouse guest had been sick on the floor and some residue remained in the minor gaps in the floor boards. It is a bit of a walk to the hot shower provided for the cheap rooms. However if this an issue for people we recomend you choose one of the rooms with thier own hot shower for an aditional charge of US$1.20 per room, per night
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Stayed here for two nights around Christmas '13. Definitely recommended.
Chris, the owner, was very friendly and ready to assist. For exampe, I had to check in very late (2 AM) and he made sure that the night guard will be there to hand me the key to my room.
The room was quiet, clean (though not perfectly) and comfortable. I was surprised to learn how quiet it was at night.
The location is very good: 3 min walk from the pubs & restaurants area, which means that you can enjoy a quiet night but still be very close to the center.
And finally, the prices are very competitive (8 dollars for a single ensuite...).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yosef k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Had a room with ensuite for 40.000 kip. Good size room, clean, aswell as the bathroom. They have a small restaurant with good food. Computers to use and wifi. It is located not far from the bars/shops/ restaurants. Owners are friendly and an give you info or just a chat. It was a pleasant stay here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vietnam
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

very basic rooms bed and fan and bathroom, no wifi in the room but net cafe for free to guests,
most social place to stay everyone there for a good time and to meet people!
helpful laid back staff very friendly workers
breakfast was delicious
very hot tv room

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank suuzyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

I passed through Vang Vieng and needed a place to stay for 2 nights...
Pan's place was recommended to me by a fellow traveler, and I'm glad I followed through with the recommendation. Chris the owner was very friendly, knowledgeable of the area and was helpful with all of my needs. He even helped me out with visa information, and helped me plan a day trip that was off the beaten track.

They are located about 2 blocks down from the hustle and bustle of the night life. (5 min walk) The place was quiet, clean & simple, with laundry service, and a restaurant (Good Smoothies.) If you're into partying late into the evening, this is NOT the place for you, but if you're looking for a clean & affordable place to stay with a friendly staff, I highly recommend staying here.

Free wifi in the main building / restaurant area (the wifi unfortunately doesn't reach to the rooms in the back) Also they have free computers to use for their guests.

Room Tip: Wi-Fi doesn't reach the rooms in the back, but they are more private. Free wifi access in the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DudeAbides13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic value for this kind of price. Easily on par with more expensive places around Laos. Helpful staff organising tours, bus tickets etc.

Rooms are simple, but clean and all that you could really need.

Would certainly stay here again. Thanks Chris and co!

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Dher5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.0 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 23 in Vang Vieng
201 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mountain View Riverside Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Vieng Tara Villa
Vieng Tara Villa
#3 of 23 in Vang Vieng
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Laos Haven Hotel
Laos Haven Hotel
#2 of 99 in Vang Vieng
595 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maylay Guesthouse
Maylay Guesthouse
#9 of 99 in Vang Vieng
77 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riverside Boutique Resort
Riverside Boutique Resort
#1 of 23 in Vang Vieng
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pan's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pan's Place

Property: Pan's Place
Address: Main Street, Vang Vieng, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Vang Vieng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Pan's Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing