We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family room for 60'000 Kip, wouldn't complain”
Review of Pan's Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pan's Place
Ranked #6 of 101 Vang Vieng B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed for five nights at Pan's place and when we arrived they only had one family room available. It was only 60'000 K although it was their most expensive room so we decided to take it. We had plenty of room, TV and en-suite. The mattresses had just been changed in our room so the bed was very comfy. It is an older place so the decor might not please everyone but it's clean and safe. They've got a night guard. The owners give a lot of good information of stuff to do in Vang Vieng and they organize tours, bus tickets and such. Breakfasts are great!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hiltsu-182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (364)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

262 - 268 of 364 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2013

Hello, I've stayed at Pan's Place in Vang Vieng for about 8 days.
Let me just start off by saying this is one of the best hostel i've stayed at so far in 4 months and a half of SE Asia travels.
I rentend a bungalow with a friend for only 35 000Kips a night (2,25$ each). It's 30 000Kips if you're alone.
I know the prices for the rooms are also very cheap.
The quality, on the other end, is fairly high. The rooms were clean, as were the toilets and showers (only had the share bathrooms)
The staff is very lovely, and very friendly.
Especially Chris, the owner, who will go at great lenghts to help you.
I won't go into the specifics, but I had a problem in Vang Vieng and he helped me sorting everything out.
The common area in the back, with 3 hammocks, is especially nice, as you can just relax there and meet fellow travellers.
Oh, yeah, another good thing: it's a hostel AND a restaurant, where the food is good and the shakes are downright awesome (especially for the 5000kips tagprice).
There's also free drinking water and free wifi and computers(not free - but cheap) to use.
All in all, it was a very good place, and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthieu L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed at Pans for 3 nights. The room was unbelievably cheap and although it looked very average (the decor is quite dated) we slept comfortably and the shower was okay.

The staff were friendly and breakfasts good.

We would recommend this as a budget hostel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shep03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Owned by a lao/english couple. Great atmosphere and good, clean rooms for a really cheap price. The owner is also a good source for touristic tips about the area. No doubt a great place to stay, probably the best in Vang Vieng for this range of price.

Room Tip: Rooms with private bathroom are more spacious, for just few kips more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElioR_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Pan's Place was a great place to stay.
As a solo backpacker their prices are really good, and even better if you're 2.
I was lucky enough to meet another guy to crash there with, and the price we got, was the cheapest accomodation i've had so far on my 4 months of traveling in S.E. Asia.
Chris in the reception is a well of information, and you're well off using any info you get from him, or if you've got a question, he probably has an answer!
The staff is also very cheerful. Always with a smile on their face.
Definiatly staying there again, if I ever go to Vang Vieng again!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Pan's place is very nice for backpackers, and other people who like to stay in a cozy place, that doesnt cost them a fortune. The owner is very helpfull to inform you about anything in or around Vang Vieng or anything else. Recomended! Also try Phone's pancakes across the street (small place on the corner) contrary to the other ones in town, these ones are thick and fluffy :)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wittytrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

This guesthouse felt old, and the rooms were not very clean. There were ants all over the room and the shower/toilet had mold. The shower did not drain. Very close to the main street. I only stayed one night and moved to a bungalow across the river/bridge that felt much cleaner.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lianelau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.4 mi away
Mountain View Riverside Boutique Hotel
0 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 24 in Vang Vieng
213 reviews
0.1 mi away
Laos Haven Hotel
Laos Haven Hotel
#3 of 101 in Vang Vieng
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Maylyn Guest House
Maylyn Guest House
#5 of 101 in Vang Vieng
357 reviews
0.5 mi away
Champa Lao
Champa Lao
#12 of 101 in Vang Vieng
94 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vang Vieng Rock Backpacker Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pan's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pan's Place

Address: Main Street, Vang Vieng, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in Vang Vieng
Price Range: $10 - $39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Pan's Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing