We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Air conditioned comfort”

Arena Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #40 of 79 Restaurants in Vang Vieng
Cuisines: Bar, Pizza, Asian, Pub
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Air conditioned comfort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

Lovely clean restaurant in air conditioned comfort. I ordered the vege Thai green curry which had amazing flavours but unfortunately I couldn't eat it as it was super spicy (more like a red curry). My partners meal was great!!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank GizmoMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    20
    11
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
77 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“One of the better restaurants”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

We visited Arena twice during our 11 day stay in VV. We tried a lot of places which offered mainly the same mediocre food.

Instead of the rustic dining experience that most VV restaurants tend to offer, Arena has a nice air conditioned room as well as an upstairs open air bar.

For our first meal I had the seafood salad. It was attractively presented, large and very flavoursome with prawns, squid and fish. My partner chose the red thai curry which he said was nice enough and also had a side order of french fries. The fries were more like very chunky chips but were excellent.

On our second visit we both had salad and those lovely chips again.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank the-marmite-kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vangvieng
1 review
“Good! best in Town.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

Good location and good value.
Singapolean ownar keeping Good resttaurant& Bar.
Open-08:00AM-23:00PM.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AkihisaSugiyama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
2 reviews
“The great Wayne”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

Arena is one of the coolest restaurants to chill it has great food, shakes and also an amazing happy menu.
The owner Wayne is also a very cool guy and he takes very good care of everyone.
If you are in VangVieng you've got to have a couple of meals over at Arena.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eduardo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vang Vieng, Laos
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“good place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

I've bee there with my friends. It's a nice place compare to other pace near by.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Greenlover123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arena Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
 
Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
 
Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
 

Been to Arena Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing