We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great atmosphere chilled out to the max 100% friendly”

Arena Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #40 of 79 Restaurants in Vang Vieng
Cuisines: Bar, Pizza, Asian, Pub
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Ko Pha Ngan, Thailand
1 review
“great atmosphere chilled out to the max 100% friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2012

spent around 12 days in Laos Vang Vieng eating and chilling out at this restaurant several times purely due to the fact Wayne is such a funny and friendly person i can highly recommend arena as a must visit for food drinks and the chilled atmosphere it provides and the welcome Wayne provides
Thank you so much
Michael good

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mikeegood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    20
    11
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Excellent food, Awesome cocktails”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

Arena is located in the middle of town and close most places nearby. The service, food (great value for money), drinks (try the Mai Tai cocktail) are all excellent. The owner is incredibly friendly and very helpful. We ate here all 3 nights of our stay and would totally recommend it. The owner is from Singapore and definitely knows how to create a great vibe and awesome atmosphere. Try it out!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ronan1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Phuket, Thailand
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wayne's Arena. A Place of comfort, style, fun, and happiness.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

Wayne and Amkha, the husband/wife combo who run this lovely restaurant on the main strip of Vang Vieng, have given all travelers a reason to stop in Vang Vieng. I can safely say after traveling through S.E Asia, that this has been a favorite stop for me.

The establishment itself is clean, classy, modern, and comfortable. It can boast these attributes with ease while maintaining a happy environment. The food and price are balanced and truly worth a few return visits.

Both owners have graced my table with their cheer, recommendations, and advice on the local sights. The friendly atmosphere cannot be compared.

Anyone within the area would be making a big mistake missing this place any meal of the day!


Thanks for the awesome and happy time.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Garrett C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
“Good food, good vibes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

The serene beauty of the mountains at sunset contrasts perfectly with the harmonious and relaxed atmosphere of the this rooftop bar. The ambient music flows easily with the gentle breeze that moves through the bar, rustling the leaves of the surrounding banana palms as it makes it way away from this place of utter peace and tranquility. Highly recommend.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrigal, Australia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Nice bar in crazy Vang Vieng”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2011

Persuaded into this bar by a gorgeous smiling girl so were prepared to be ripped off. How wrong we were. We were ushered upstairs to the deserted balcony where we were greeted by the smiling owner. We ordered food and beer lao. The food was delicious and the beer lao was cold. It was very inexpensive and the owner allowed us to play our own music through the sound system. You can watch the mayhem that is Vang Vieng from the balcony.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank elsie18a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arena Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
 
Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
 

Been to Arena Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing