We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Chicken Kiev!”

Peeping Som's Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #24 of 80 Restaurants in Vang Vieng
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The best Chicken Kiev!”
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Was brought here by my friends on my first day in town and it was their last day, and ordered the chicken kiev. It taste amazing, up to now it is the best I have had. Excellent food and beverages with wide range too. Friendly service and a great spot to hang out and have a nice dinner

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sakticleaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    19
    9
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A gem of VV”
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We ordered sweet and sour pork, pizza and steak. Unlike many other restaurants in SE Asia our food came out together! We had to wait but the food was fantastic and freshly served so it was well worth the wait. They also play great classic rock if you need a break from friends an family guy! I would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Vanessa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“The good, the bad and the ugly.”
Reviewed April 26, 2012

Although this restaurant previously has had very good reports, following our visit on the evening after the last reviewer, it would appear that the standard has deteriorated somewhat. Maybe this was the reason there were no other diners during our visit.

Whilst my partner had relatively good meal, (he chose the chicken Thai curry), he was surprised that it came with no sauce and was not quite as spicy as he had requested. He did however enjoy it.

My meal was certainly not as I expected from the description on the menu, and neither was it enjoyable or very attractively presented. I had ordered the spicy tuna pasta salad. When my meal arrived it contained no salad (apart from a few finely chopped basil leaves); there was minimal tuna but plenty of very greasy spaghetti.

Whilst the staff were very attentive, we shall however not be returning.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank the-marmite-kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We went here for dinner based on positive tripadvisor reviews and were very disappointed with the meals. The pesto spaghetti was extremely heavy, and pork schnitzel bland with uncooked potato salad on the side. one meal took 30 mins to arrive, the other took almost an hour. The handcut chips was the nicest of the lot, but it was not worth writing home about either...

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank SidneyRomeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vang Vieng, Laos
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“God place”
Reviewed April 11, 2012

I ate and drink there with friends.friendly owner and good food. all of us have enjoyed this place. visitors may enjoy this place and food

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Greenlover123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peeping Som's Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
 
Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
 
Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
 

Been to Peeping Som's Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing