We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Worth A Look”

Peeping Som's Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #24 of 80 Restaurants in Vang Vieng
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Tweed Valley, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Well Worth A Look”
Reviewed October 12, 2011

Having dined at Peeping Som with some friends, we were very impressed with the overall dining experience. Natalie (an Aussie) and Som (her Lao partner) are excellent and very attentive hosts without intruding. Andrew (the Chef) is doing some very creative things in the kitchen and doing them very well.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ArnandTwitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    19
    9
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Rockhampton
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food! Great bar! Fun place to hang out for all ages and tastes!”
Reviewed October 6, 2011

Peeping Som's Bar and Restaurant has a great ambience and wonderful food. We (8 middle aged friends and two young males ) enjoyed many great meals there when we stayed in Vang Vieng. We enjoyed the Trivia Night especially. If you are looking for quality and a relaxed welcoming atmosphere this is the place for you!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Bar in Vang Vieng”
Reviewed September 28, 2011

I have just returned from a trip to Lao - Vientiane, Vang Vieng and Luang Prabang. The best part of the trip was Peeping Som's Bar and Restaurant in Vang Vieng. It is such a nice change from the hundreds of other 'clone' bars in this tubing town. The food was great, the Beerlao was cold, the owners were charming and the ambiance made us want to go back each day. Which we did. If you want more than buckets of cheap gut rot and endless reruns of Family Guy, Peeping Som's is the place to go.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Judy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“yum yum yum.....sue i miss your cooking!”
Reviewed September 16, 2011

This is the best food in town with Garys Irish bar The rising coming a close second.
It is a relatively new restaurant and not yet visited so often but it is a gem...most restaurants will give you decent food but this is real restaurant quality food.
you may have to wait a little bit for the food if it is busy as the chefs Andrew and Sue are the only ones there,but everything is fresh as hell and mostly homemade.
the two dishes i would highly reccommend are the chicken kiev,mash and cabbage.....and then the pork schnitzel.
the Kiev is a REAL chicken fillet...which can be hard to find,with a beautiful butter and garlic sauce inside....and the mash has the best potatoe in town in it which once again can be hard to find.
the schnitzel has a beautiful lemon twist to it that leaves you wanting more.
The hostess with the mostest Natalie whos partner Som is the namesake of the bar, is a fantastic host.
while i was there she organised a few pub quizzes which added a bit of variety to the daily drinking routine in Vang Vieng that capture you.
So overall i would say that hidden piece of cullinary heaven is highly overlooked....and i hope that business picks up there during high seasonbecause if not then your missing out on the best eats in Vang Vieng.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank lewis q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vientiane, Laos
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise!”
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Undoubtedly the place to be in Vang Vieng for some delicious Western dishes (although they do have Asian options). The location could be better as it does not face the river, but the place itself is extremely clean and pleasantly decorated, somewhat of a rarity in a true backpacker's haven like Vang Vieng. Some light music contributed to the overall relaxed atmosphere. The British run place also provided the best mixture of service with a level of attentiveness that allowed for privacy as well as intimacy. The relaxed atmosphere really belied the professionalism and presentation in which the food was presented. Don't be put-off by the primitive outlook from the outside or the slightly higher prices if you have any second thoughts, because this place will beat even your highest expectations. I highly recommend the excellent Chicken Kiev with mashed potatoes and red cabbage, while the spicy chicken wrap is another delicious option.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank Kenease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peeping Som's Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
 
Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
 

Been to Peeping Som's Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing