We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best guesthouse in Vang Vieng”
Review of Maylay Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Maylay Guesthouse
Ranked #9 of 99 Vang Vieng B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Best guesthouse in Vang Vieng”
Reviewed April 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Maylay for one entire week, we were initially planning to spend only 3 days in Vang Vieng. The place is very well maintained, and the owner is just so helpful, not to mention he is such a character! The bungalows and the rooms are cozy, simple and clean. The price is super cheap, and you can enjoy calmness at night, a rare thing in this rocknroll small town.
Highly recommend this place to all my friends.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank The_belanos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    25
    16
    3
    3
See reviews for
5
32
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Ive stayed in a few guesthouses in Vang Vieng and i have found Maylay to be the best. The rooms are clean, the beds are comfortable and the air con and hot water work perfectly. The owners are extremely friendly and willing to help out with anything you need, The rooms are also pretty cheap. Approx $6 for a double room and $7 for a twin room.
Location is perfect. You are close to all the restaurants and close to the island for the bars but far enough away for a good sleep.
I Definitely reccomend this place when visiting Vang Vieng!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timaffleck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

I spent about 12 nights in Maylay guesthouse (it's very easy to lose track of time in vang vieng). The rooms are large and clean with a private bathroom of a good size. Having stayed in VV a few times, this is definitely the place i would stay at in the future. It is a family run guesthouse with the name coming from the owners two children May and Lay.

They are very accommodating, especially considering the amount of times we had to wake them up to let us into our room because i would have lost my roommate who had the key. They were very helpful whenever we had any questions about the local area and helped organise our transport down to 4000 islands.

From memory it was 60,000 kip/night for a room with two beds (ie 30,000 each) and for an extra 20,000 you could get AC (which i would definitely recommend as it gets very hot in VV).
It worked out to cost me a bit less than $5/night for a very good room(we paid the extra for teh AC)

Another benefit is it is off the main streets, so you dont have the issue of all the noise of the drunken tourists in the middle of the night.

All in all, a very nice guesthouse and would recommend to all going to vang vieng.

Room Tip: All the rooms are pretty much the same, just depends on whether you want a king size bed or twin sin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boydie111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley
1 review
Reviewed December 5, 2011

Maylay guesthouse seems nice BUT THEY ARE NOT. We stayed for a week, thought we had become friends with the staff, and on our 7th night there the sink fell out of the wall and shattered on the floor. We had done NOTHING to make it fall. The next morning the owner forced us to pay for the damage, accused us of shaking the sink off of the wall and threatened to call the police if we did not pay. We found out from friends that this has happened THREE times before and that once a guy's toes had been chopped off (he also had been forced to pay.) Apparently they attach the sinks badly on purpose so that they will fall off and then they can reap the profits. This is a terrible place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rach G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hue
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights after having stayed at a lesser hotel which was also more expensive. The rooms are great and the mattrasses sleep good. The owner is very friendly and so is the rest of the personnel though they hardly speak any english. For 5 euros this was definitely great value for money!! I would stay here again next time.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ingewijnakker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 17, 2011

We have stayed at Maylay Guest House in November 2011. Very nice owners. Internet can be used at the lobby. Central location. Clean rooms. Price per night around $6. It was very pleasant stay.

Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ada_K0509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

My friend and I visited the guesthouse in June 2011 and found the hotel to our expectation apart from some issues. To sum up: this is a fine hotel in beautiful/quiet surroundings but there are 4 things that made us eventually move to another hotel after 2 of our 4 days.

1.The hotel had no internet so it was hard to plan our further journey

2.The walking bridge was washed away so we had to use the toll bridge every time we crossed the river 2-3 times a day (same price as one smoothie per trip)

3.The guesthouse dogs where in heat and was howling the entire night so sleeping from 3-7 pm was somewhat impossible

4.But what finally made us move was the kitchen. The staff was cooking food for us while cats and dogs where running around in the kitchen and on the tables where they were preparing the food for us.

This might be because the owner of the guesthouse was on holiday but still the above made us eventually move to another guesthouse

Søren & Louise

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.3 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 23 in Vang Vieng
201 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mountain View Riverside Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Vieng Tara Villa
Vieng Tara Villa
#3 of 23 in Vang Vieng
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
#7 of 23 in Vang Vieng
449 reviews
0.4 mi away
Laos Haven Hotel
Laos Haven Hotel
#2 of 99 in Vang Vieng
595 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pan's Place
Pan's Place
#6 of 99 in Vang Vieng
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maylay Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maylay Guesthouse

Property: Maylay Guesthouse
Address: Insan Road, Savang Village, Vang Vieng 01000, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Vang Vieng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Maylay Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Maylay Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing