We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very comfortable rooms.”
Review of Jammee Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Jammee Guest House
Ranked #19 of 100 Vang Vieng B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 19, 2014

I was alittle surprised when I saw the walk from where the bus dropped us off was certainly not five minutes from town but about 15 to 20 and that was a brisk walk. The peacefulness of the area where the guesthouse was is beautiful with the mountain s in the background and the really nice terrace where breakfast is served. I am not sure where the re viewers had breakfast but I saw it as minimal. Eggs and baguette, no fruit and if you wanted something else you were denied. There were a couple of choices but no fruit or juice. The rooms for me were very inviting. One of the best in my travels. Nice quality linens. Bed very comfortabe and what appeared to be new mattress.
The owner who I assume was jammee was very nice. Problem was he was there late at night. His wife was cold and seemed very disinterested.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs have tv with hbo in english
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 123susan456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (232)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 232 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2014

Jammee turned out to be a huge disappointment. When we arrived, the Australian man was not there for several days and the wife does not speak English, Son, the owner was not available, so we were shown to the room, but were not able to get any information about Vang Vieng, no hotel orientation etc.

Month and a half prior the arrival we booked a specific room no 7, then reconfirmed it couple days before the arrival. When we arrived, the owner was away and his wife showed us a different room, when we corrected her we were put on a phone with a husband who told us that the no 7 is occupied by a man whose wife was taken to a hospital and it will be available for us the following day.
We stayed in a room on a ground floor, which we do not recommend, you get lots of noise from the hallway, the wall with a hallway is actually huge window covered by a thin curtain, so even if you would like to sleep, you get lots of unwanted light.

We went to explore the surroundings the following day and upon our arrival found out that we still do not have the confirmed room. This time the owner started to create a smoke screen first saying that he has someone who booked this room for 6 nights, then told me I would have to pay $25/night to have it, instead of confirmed 100 000 kip.

We decided to stay in a different room on the 1st floor with a balcony as we did not have time to look for another place to stay. It turned out that the owner lied to us about the guests wife being in hospital, the same couple stayed in the room no 7 for the whole time and my guess is that the owner did not want to tell them that the room has been reserved for us.

One evening we asked if we can have a breakfast at 7:30 as we had a tour to meet at 8am, when we arrived to the breakfast area, there was no one there and when Son arrived he ignored us, so thanks to that wee were very late for our 8 am tour.

There are few pluses of this GH, it has a nice quiet location and the views from the balconies are nice. But after our experience I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boleslav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

The rooms were big and clean but looked ugly. Anyway we could sleep well. The hotel is a little outside but Vang Vieng is not that big so it was no issue.

The breakfast was really good and the nice terasse is a good place to drink a beer.

What I didn't like was the staff. We asked for recomendation where to spend christmas, in Thakek or 5000 islands, but they gave us the advise to better go to Pakse. After arrvial we left this ugly town for 5000 islands. Also the bus transfer from Vang Vieng via Vientiane to Pakse was a horror, but probably not their fault.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gates2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We had a lovely time here at Jammee. Very clean, nice rooms with a great breakfast. Super helpful owner, free tea, coffee and water throughout the day. It's about 10 minutes from the centre, but this just means that you're able to have a good night's sleep. Lovely.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah_J467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

We paid around £12 a night for a double room with tv. Some rooms do not have a tv so ask if you want one, there are English channels. The guesthouse is so good for the money you pay, it is clean, has a comfy bed and is a short distance to bars and restaurants (5min walk). The hotel is not luxury, it is basic but it is very clean!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaffacake0708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

This guest house is a little but out from the main town but worth the short walk, it has free wifi, good clean rooms and an extremely helpful owner. The two main advantages of which are his excellent freshly cooked breakfast and his helpful nature if you want to arrange transport or sightseeing. He sorted out two minibuses catering for nineteen of us cheaper than the public bus would have cost us. He has Tea and Coffee available all day free of charge. If you are looking for something a bit quieter away from the noise of the town the Jammee Guest House is a good option.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sebco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We stayed in Jammee guest house for two days in October and I can say it is absolutely wonderful.

Pros:
- The room quality: clean, nice and great speed of wi-fi
- Breakfast is included and it is very delicious, especially the fruit pie, I am still missing the taste
- Affordable price for budgeted traveler.
- Lovely balcony
- Free coffee and tea
- The owner is very nice

Cons
- a bit far away of the city center but actually Vang Vieng is very small so you can hire a bicycle and reach the center in 5 mins/ or about 15 min by foot

Overall, we enjoyed our stay so much and highly recommend

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tenmen1130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.8 mi away
Mountain View Riverside Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Vieng Tara Villa
Vieng Tara Villa
#4 of 25 in Vang Vieng
199 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 25 in Vang Vieng
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ban Sabai Riverside Bungalow
Ban Sabai Riverside Bungalow
#10 of 25 in Vang Vieng
292 reviews
0.4 mi away
Laos Haven Hotel
Laos Haven Hotel
#2 of 100 in Vang Vieng
596 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vilayvong Guesthouse
Vilayvong Guesthouse
#28 of 100 in Vang Vieng
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jammee Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jammee Guest House

Address: Vang Vieng, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Vang Vieng
Price Range: $14 - $23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Jammee Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Jammee Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing