We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, quiet & budget” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jammee Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Jammee Guest House
Ranked #17 of 96 Vang Vieng B&B and Inns
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
83 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Friendly, quiet & budget”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

We have extended one more night after 2 nights stayed with Jammee Guest House. This is really a budget hotel but service is very good. The owner is very friendly & helpful. He helped us to change bus tix & recommended where we should go...
We stayed in big room with 2 double beds & 1 single bed. This kind of room is very suitable for our group of 5. Breakfast is simple but not bad. We love this guest house.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThienNguyen1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    91
    32
    8
    18
See reviews for
16
108
20
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kunming, China
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

We only stayed here for 2 nights, the 3 night we had to leave to get the night bus to Vientiane

It is at the edge of the city, so its close enough to walk into the center and far enough to have a good nights sleep. We stayed in the oldest part of the guesthouse and the rooms were in great condition. My favorite was the fresh, clean bed sheets and towels that smelled good :) The breakfast was actually one of the better breakfasts i`ve had in a long time, simple, but good.
The dude running it was nice and always very helpful. He told us something interesting: He used to travel when he worked for the government so he actually knows how it is to stay somewhere and to be treated with little or no interest. I believe this is shown in the way he treats his customers, which in our case was very good. One more thing is that this G H is a good deal when compared with what one pays for compared to the most places in town. The self service fridge is also quite convenient at night :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JokkusBokkus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanoi
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

The guesthouse is friendly and relaxed. The bedrooms are clean and the beds big, comfortable with good linen. Breakfast is included and is good. There's free tea and coffee - help yourself and there's a fridge with beer and water where you help yourself and write what you take in the book. It's in the south of the town away from the noise and there are several good riverside restaurants 10 minutes walk from the guesthouse. Vang Vieng Resort is a 5 minute walk from the guesthouse and good to go to in the cool of the morning. It is tranquil, lush with good river views and Chang cave.

Room Tip: Get a room upstairs with a private balcony and views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vietnamlocalHanoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed at Jammee 3 nights and it was perfect. Secluded enough to be quiet, but close enough to easily walk into town.
Breakfast was generous and yummy and served in a comfy lounge area overlooking a farm.
A 5 minute walk down the dirt road took you to a nearby cave, with a fresh spring to swim in.
Room was spacious and very clean. Bathroom was large and the shower didn't spray all over the toilet! Bonus!
Owner was extremely friendly and helpful. He even called and asked to put us on a later bus to Vientiane when my husband wasn't feeling well enough to travel.
We booked late, so we didn't have a room with a balcony, but they looked really nice!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtravelingcanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Jammee does not have a direct email for bookings. We had booked our four night stay via email which then goes through to a company in Vientiane called Teamworkz. It took them 2 days to reply that they had received our email, then another day to reply confirming our booking, but only after we had sent another email asking if our booking had been confirmed.
We were confused with Jammee's website too....they have 3! We booked via email. $15 per night including breakfast.
We arrived in the afternoon, where the manager was very happy and cheerful to greet us. We were given a bungalow downstairs with air con and small balcony overlooking the views, even though we had booked a fan room. It had a mosquito net, free WiFi, and free tea and coffee throughout the day.
We asked if we could have a balcony room upstairs. We moved upstairs the next day to a family room with balcony and amazing views of the Karst hills, There was a king size bed and a single bed, air con, a fan, a long table for storage, a smaller bathroom than the bungalow but with brilliant views of the limestone karst hills it didn't matter. The shower is nice and hot. Beds and pillows are really comfortable with white sheets and a quilt. Soft fluffy towels too.
We had a choice of breakfast - eggs, pancake, fruit or meusli which you sit at the small tables on the raised wooden platforms with big cushions or at the table and bench all overlooking the wonderful views.
Jammee is down a short dusty track at the quiet end of town but only a 15 min walk away. It's close to Kanagaroo Sunset Bar for good food. The 2 guys who run the place seem a little dis-organised at times but are friendly and helpful enough. The desk does not seem to be manned all the time. We booked a VIP bus ticket with the manager for onward travel to Luang Prabang 110,000 kip each with free pick up at the hotel to take us to the bus station....our seats were also booked which was good.
The cleaners don't come in daily, which we didn't mind. There are toilet rolls hanging in a carrier bag on the door knob downstairs, you just help yourself.
A couple of nights we could hear loud music from close by which was a bit annoying as Jammee is situated in a perfect place away from all the noisy bars, but this may have been due to it being the Chinese New Year.
We enjoyed our stay and felt secure and safe.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
65 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

This in my opinion was an excellent choice at the budget end of the accommodation in Vang Vieng.

The place was clean, tidy and the aircon, and shower worked well.
The included breakfast taken on a pleasant terrace area at the rear of the hotel was tasty and varied.

Free tea and coffee was a nice bonus.

The staff are helpful and friendly and can help book onward travel and excursions at competitive prices.

It is located a little out of the centre but a short walk gets you to all the main restaurants and that extra distance helps keep a peaceful ambience at night.

All in all thoroughly recommended if you are looking for good value rather than luxury.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LUCKYJIMEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

As we Brits say "it does exactly what it says on the tin".

As all the other TA's have said - it's cheap, clean and friendly. Far enough away from the drunken bums in Vang Vieng, yet close enough to walk to some great eateries (two of which are AMD and Cafe de Paris).

Breakfast is included - not bad but not fantastic (omelettes too oily for me) - and tea and coffee are free and available all day.

Enjoy!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Woodbutcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.4 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 20 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vieng Tara Villa
Vieng Tara Villa
#4 of 20 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.4 mi away
Laos Haven Hotel
Laos Haven Hotel
#2 of 96 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Pan's Place
Pan's Place
#6 of 96 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bountang Hotel & Guesthouse
Bountang Hotel & Guesthouse
#50 of 96 in Vang Vieng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.7 mi away
Maylay Guesthouse
Maylay Guesthouse
#9 of 96 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jammee Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jammee Guest House

Property: Jammee Guest House
Address: Vang Vieng, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Vang Vieng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Jammee Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Jammee Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing