We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Malany Villa

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vang Vieng
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Malany Villa
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Decent stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

We were recommended this place by a guy at the bus stop when we arrived in Vang Vieng, the pictures looked really nice and it was pretty cheap so we decided to go for it. We bartered the chap on reception down a bit from his price as we were quoted less at the bus stop, so we were only paying something like £3 each a night for a triple room, but we all had our own bed instead one double and a single which was perfect. The rooms aren't quite like the pictures, but it had three beds and working aircon and a big bathroom and wifi in the room. It's in a really good location, 5 minutes away from the tubing station and right across the road from the bars so all in all it was fine.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    21
    17
    3
    8
See reviews for
Families
0
22
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Good cheap guesthouse. Location is ideal cant ask for more. Room was good for price, Had double and single bed with AC for 80,000 kip. Shower was near the best we have had in asia. Few people seem to have bad showers but ours was both very hot if wanted and lots of pressure? Mabye try get a room on bottom floor as pressure might be worse up higher. Place dont offer much more they do have a menu but nowhere i saw to eat and all food places just outside gate amyway.

Room Tip: Maybe bottom floor for better shower pressure
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Malany Villa is a cool hostel. It's not the cheapest in town, from memory of talking to other back packers it was relatively expensive. But it was far nicer than a lot of other places in town. The staff are really nice, and they have essentials for sale (eg. water, chips and chocolate etc). There's no restaurant in the hostel, but there's so many in Vang Vieng (which is such a small town) this is not a problem at all. It is really close to all the shops, restaurants and bars etc., but in such a location that noise from people in town is not heard from your room. The rooms are really tidy and the bathrooms are adequate. Air conditioning works. Would recommend for more comfortable stay. Many cheaper hostels have shared rooms.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

It's cheap, it's clean, the air con works, its in a great spot, the service is good. We had a group stay here and we had a blast, we were out for most of the days but came back to a clean cool room, so what more could you ask for.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melaka, Malaysia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Given the price(10usd per room for 2 pax), I couldn't ask for any better.

The air con is cold, the room is equipped with ventilation fans which make the ventilation good,
The hot water is working, everything is fine except that wifi signal is not that consistent, but i am ok with that. It is a perfect place for you to rest and go for fun on the other place:)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hongwii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Room OK, service OK. The room I was in was VERY noisy so I moved after one night. Vang Vieng is a noisy place though so it's par for the course.

Laundry service was fine. Room had TV and fan for 60,000 kip. Moved to a nicer room for 50,000 so it's definitely not the cheapest and best place around here so best to have a walk around because everything's in a very small area.

Room Tip: I guess ask for a 'quiet' one. I'm not sure which way facing this would be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

There are several Malany Villas and I hope the other ones are better. this one is on the main street next to the kayal rental. For 6 euro you get a double + extra and a fan. Also included was the absence of hot water and decent room lighting. Towels were rags and the toilet was leaking. bedsheets clean. Also included was a pack of loud drunken Aussies coming back in the middle of the night deciding to continue partying on the terrace. But this is Vang Vieng. Its all part of it.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xglenx31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vang Vieng hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.0 mi away
Laos Haven Hotel
Laos Haven Hotel
#2 of 96 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bountang Hotel & Guesthouse
Bountang Hotel & Guesthouse
#50 of 96 in Vang Vieng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riverside Boutique Resort
Riverside Boutique Resort
#1 of 20 in Vang Vieng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Vieng Tara Villa
Vieng Tara Villa
#5 of 20 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 20 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
#3 of 20 in Vang Vieng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malany Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malany Villa

Property: Malany Villa
Address: Th Luang Prabang, Vang Vieng 1003, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Vang Vieng
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing