We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bug infested and AWFUL customer service - Do not stay here”
Review of Malany Villa

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vang Vieng
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Malany Villa
Reviewed March 16, 2012

This is my second time in vang vieng and traveling south east asia, and this is the by fay the worst experience I have ever had. When we  first arrived, the room was clean and the woman was very nice. On our second  night in this hostel, we discovered that our bags/clothes were COMPLETELY covered in tiny little ants. They got into everything - our zip lock bags, toiletries, shoes, everything! It was late at night so they switched us to another room and took our clothes to do laundry for the ones we could not get the ants out of. The next day we tried to reason with the manager. Not only did they refuse to give us any discount on the room, they insisted we pay for the laundry.  We tried to reach some sort of an agreement, but they would not  budge. They threatened to call the police, follow us, and refused to return our laundry.  We walked out, and lost our laundry. Worst experience so far - no reason to stay here!!! 

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smilel0ve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 52 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights. Hotel was close to everything, although Vang Vieng is only small! It was on the street of bars and restaurants, but no noise at night which was good. No wifi above level two, even though it doesn't state this! Room was fairly sized, we just had a fan which kept the room cool enough. Would stay here again, but only for a few days.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stefxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

For weary travelers that forgo the formality of booking ahead, I would say that Malany villa fits the bill. With two locations more or less at the bus stop you don't have to worry about being that sucker walking all around town with 25kgs of backpack aimless searching for a decent room.
We stayed for two nights, the staff helped us with a 2 month Thai visa and we booked a kayaking tour through them that was awesome.
The room was clean and the price was right.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HDF416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2011

- No WIFI (even if they put a paper "FREE WIFI")
- DIRTY !!!.... rooms are not clean... and you need to ask to make the bed, to clean the room, to get new towels !!!! The second night, we complained about that, and the manager told us that it's too late to clean, that he can't do anything... We talked during 10 minutes to have at least new towels !!!
- Staff VERY RUDE, VERY IMPOLITE, VERY AGRESSIVE...!!!! While i was asking the manager to fix the Air Con, he even didn't look at me and answer me !!!

Another detail : why they unlock the AC ????, you need to ask the manager to unlock it in order to activate it !!! Same for TV : it was in a cage !! (TV about 5 dollars with EXTRAORDINARY 2 colors : blue and white !!!)

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Micki83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2011

We got off at the bus station, unsure of where to stay in Vang Vieng decided on the Malany Villa because it looked appealing. It was a good price for a double room 60,000 kip without aircon, 80,000 kip with aircon. The rooms were spacious, it is on a road just off the main tourist strip but is not noisy at night. Towels, toilet paper, a TV with about 5 english cable channels and wifi were included. We enjoyed our stay here.
In a town with a heap of accommodation to choose from, this was low key, layed back and good value.
Note: there is an air-conditioner in some rooms - but if you don't pay for it (extra 20,000 kip) it is switched off.

Room Tip: Ask if they can do a better price than advertised!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chuikali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2011

THE hotel is very quiet, which we prefered. Spacious rooms and that's About everything positive I can say. Shaky beds, dirty and not maintainted bathrooms. Leaking plumbing, moldy and old dirty towels. We checked out after one night stay. After travelling and being in à lot of hotels, this was THE filthiest.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2016, traveled with friends
Thank AnjaAnni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0 mi away
Mountain View Riverside Boutique Hotel
0 mi away
Riverside Boutique Resort
Riverside Boutique Resort
#1 of 26 in Vang Vieng
756 reviews
0 mi away
Vieng Tara Villa
Vieng Tara Villa
#3 of 26 in Vang Vieng
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 26 in Vang Vieng
217 reviews
0 mi away
Keosimoon Guesthouse
Keosimoon Guesthouse
#13 of 101 in Vang Vieng
22 reviews
0 mi away
Thavonsouk Resort
Thavonsouk Resort
#13 of 26 in Vang Vieng
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malany Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malany Villa

Address: Th Luang Prabang, Vang Vieng 1003, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Vang Vieng
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing