We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick, easy, cheap, and clean”
Review of Malany Villa

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vang Vieng
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Malany Villa
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Quick, easy, cheap, and clean”
Reviewed October 22, 2011

For weary travelers that forgo the formality of booking ahead, I would say that Malany villa fits the bill. With two locations more or less at the bus stop you don't have to worry about being that sucker walking all around town with 25kgs of backpack aimless searching for a decent room.
We stayed for two nights, the staff helped us with a 2 month Thai visa and we booked a kayaking tour through them that was awesome.
The room was clean and the price was right.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HDF416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    21
    17
    3
    8
See reviews for
Families
0
22
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Riyadh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2011

- No WIFI (even if they put a paper "FREE WIFI")
- DIRTY !!!.... rooms are not clean... and you need to ask to make the bed, to clean the room, to get new towels !!!! The second night, we complained about that, and the manager told us that it's too late to clean, that he can't do anything... We talked during 10 minutes to have at least new towels !!!
- Staff VERY RUDE, VERY IMPOLITE, VERY AGRESSIVE...!!!! While i was asking the manager to fix the Air Con, he even didn't look at me and answer me !!!

Another detail : why they unlock the AC ????, you need to ask the manager to unlock it in order to activate it !!! Same for TV : it was in a cage !! (TV about 5 dollars with EXTRAORDINARY 2 colors : blue and white !!!)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Micki83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vang Vieng hotels

Pula, Croatia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2011

We got off at the bus station, unsure of where to stay in Vang Vieng decided on the Malany Villa because it looked appealing. It was a good price for a double room 60,000 kip without aircon, 80,000 kip with aircon. The rooms were spacious, it is on a road just off the main tourist strip but is not noisy at night. Towels, toilet paper, a TV with about 5 english cable channels and wifi were included. We enjoyed our stay here.
In a town with a heap of accommodation to choose from, this was low key, layed back and good value.
Note: there is an air-conditioner in some rooms - but if you don't pay for it (extra 20,000 kip) it is switched off.

Room Tip: Ask if they can do a better price than advertised!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chuikali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 22, 2011

THE hotel is very quiet, which we prefered. Spacious rooms and that's About everything positive I can say. Shaky beds, dirty and not maintainted bathrooms. Leaking plumbing, moldy and old dirty towels. We checked out after one night stay. After travelling and being in à lot of hotels, this was THE filthiest.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.0 mi away
Riverside Boutique Resort
Riverside Boutique Resort
#1 of 23 in Vang Vieng
641 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vieng Tara Villa
Vieng Tara Villa
#3 of 23 in Vang Vieng
188 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mountain View Riverside Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 23 in Vang Vieng
194 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
#6 of 23 in Vang Vieng
441 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thavonsouk Resort
Thavonsouk Resort
#11 of 23 in Vang Vieng
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malany Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malany Villa

Property: Malany Villa
Address: Th Luang Prabang, Vang Vieng 1003, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Vang Vieng
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing