We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A splendid view” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Vang Vieng Riverside

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Vang Vieng Riverside
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Vang Vieng
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A splendid view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

Quiet and green location outside the busy centre, but within easy walking distance. The bungalow-style room was clean and featured big windows. Make sure you get a room with garden view - or even river view. Sleep quality was excellent, the pool was clean and cool and the view with the mountains in the background beautiful. The breakfast was below average, though. Expensive but all in all good value - 60$ for a doubleroom per night.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5months2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    40
    36
    20
    12
See reviews for
20
59
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Pleboulle, France
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

We had issues with our stay there! The proerty is very nice, location is fabulous, just in front of the river and mountains. The pool is very nice, it is so great to have a swim with the such fabuluous views! BUT: on the reception staff is very rude and unpolite. We just enter and the girls without sayng even helo, ask us to pay for the room, without even knowing which room we booked, they mass up our hotel booking, we booked rooms with the river view and they gave us rooms close to the parking and reception, which was not nice of them, when my husband tryed to talk to them, they sad if we want we take if no we can go:)):):Nice:)):):We didnt had option, because we drove from Vientiane with the mom in law which is 78 years old.Rooms are very dirty and outdated, needed renovation and deep clean. Next surprise was waiting us in the restaurant, very-very-very poor service, staff dont speak english at all, they dont understand what you want, we were waiting at list 20 minutes till somebody will come and take our order and after another 50 minutes for our food( we were 3, so all dishes arrived in different time, so we were waiting one by one), no napkins, folks, knifes with it, so we were waiting again till they bring it. staff dont really care of customers, they behave very noisy, laughing between them, eating in front of the guests( so if you need something you need to disturb them from eating). Breakfast very poor: nesface in the pack, sausages, eggs, stemed rice with vegetables, fruits, bread, butter. Restaurant is a nightmare, but the food we had for dinner was very tasty!!! This place can be much better, as a paradise place, but the management should make some efforts in training staff to some hospitality basics. With the best regards and hope, i wish i progress and succses to this place.

Room Tip: For the best experience of Vang-Vieng, book the rooms with the river view, but make sure that you`ll...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VSQVSQ22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
Level Contributor
277 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

Lovely wooden bungalows, a nice cool pool that was perfect for cooling off after a hot day. A great view out over the river and a cracking view for the sunset. On the edge of town so great if you want to escape all the backpacker crowd. Downsides - tv was not working, no safe in room, room is dark, all round feel it is overpriced. But a lovely stay in a beautiful setting.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Haribo09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Split
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

Although Vang Vieng is not really worth visiting except for its spectaculour countryside, we would have lovedt stay one or two extra nights at theVang Vieng Riversde hotel. The compound is a dream with its location right on the river, next to the old wooden bridge and with its view into the mountains. The spacious compound is lush and park-like with lots of plants, huge trees which are lightened during the evening and create a romantic atmosphere. The rooms are rather small in comparison with the huge bathroom. Breakfast right on the river is an unforgettable exerience and the buffet very generous. The staff is friendly but its level of English rather poor.

Room Tip: The closer to the river, the better. The parking lot tends to be a bit loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SabineBaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

This was a great place and had an amazing free breakfast buffet. We had an amazing villa room looking out to the river and right next to the pool. The only negative point was that they didnt make up your room each day like all our other accomadation did, so we had to go to the reception to ask for more toilet paper and water, and had the same towels for 3days. Otherwise perfect location and breakfast.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vang Vieng, Laos
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Our riverfront bungalow was very nice with a large terrace and a great view of the mountains, and at a reasonable price including breakfast. The food and coffee were only O.K at best., although the restaurant staff are friendly and attentive. Our afternoon poolside cocktails very good!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
304 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

Arrived here by chance, looked around the property and all seemed well. Nice bungalows on pleasant riverside, pool and riverside restaurant. A little pricey but ok, I'll give it a try.

The rooms were ok, a little small and dark but nice location. Problem was that the internet didn't work in the rooms (too far from hub at the restaurant) and rooms didn't have a fridge or tea /coffee. So I went to the restaurant only to find their prices to be astronomical by Laos standards.

So at this stage I was thinking it was no big deal - a little over-priced but acceptable.

But but night time, it was impossible to sleep due to a neighbouring outdoor live music venue playing very loud until past the small hours. It was horrendous and went on most nights. The only way to deal with it is to go out and get blind drunk and come home in a catatonic drunken stupor, which I didn't fancy either. It was really intolerable.

Then on the final day, I was out all day and the staff changed rooms for me (moved my bags over to a different bungalow). In the morning I noticed that my private papers had been rifled through and some Thai Baht stolen from my back up supply of foreign currency.

I arranged an early check out to get back for a flight from Vientianne. I arrnaged with reception to have a breakfast box - just fruit and water. But it came 20 mins later and was fried rice with egg (I don't eat egg), so I left without brekfast.

So my final leaving feelings were now, needless to say, a much bigger deal of negativity to the place.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zambezikid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vang Vieng hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.3 mi away
Vieng Tara Villa
Vieng Tara Villa
#4 of 20 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
#6 of 20 in Vang Vieng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
#3 of 20 in Vang Vieng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 20 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inthira Vang Vieng
Inthira Vang Vieng
#5 of 20 in Vang Vieng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riverside Boutique Resort
Riverside Boutique Resort
#1 of 20 in Vang Vieng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Vang Vieng Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Vang Vieng Riverside

Property: Villa Vang Vieng Riverside
Address: Ban Viengkeo | on the riverside, Vang Vieng 1003, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Vang Vieng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Vang Vieng Riverside 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a luxurious hotel, built in traditional Lao design, located directly at the shore of the Nam Song River in Vang Vieng. Our rooms and restaurant enjoy a spectacular view at the breathtaking mountains which make the region so popular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia and Despegar.com so you can book your Villa Vang Vieng Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing