We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TOP!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Vang Vieng Riverside
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Vang Vieng
Reviewed September 23, 2013

The property, the people, the amenities, the service, etc. are 1st class all the way. The hotel was stunningly beautiful and in impeccable condition. The room was lovely and the location is great. The interior so very nice....the amenities were all available. Loved the outside lounging area, great service and lovely ambience! No hotel can beat the consistent service they provide. It's top notch!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

58 - 64 of 142 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in a riverside room with breathtaking views of the mountains and river.
The room was decent and clean with a large bathroom. The view from the room/balcony is fantastic. The only improvements the room needs is a bar fridge and more hanging space. No wardrobe in the room. There was no noise to complain about in the evenings. The breakfast was good. The swimming pool Is a rarity in Vang Vieng and was a great finish to the day before dinner. It is a little out of the centre, 10 minute walk, but there is little traffic and the cost of hiring a bike for a day is minimal. The centre appeared quiet and not much going on.
The underwater cave,Chang cave and the ride to the waterfall and the waterfall itself were highlights.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cdmm58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

this was a very welcoming resort after the bus ride from Vientiane , close to the river . The chalets in the ground were very good as were the other facilities ; pool and bar / restaurant .. there's a little wooden bridge that the locals use and is well worth paying the nominal fee to cross and to Paradise Island and chat with the German /Thai guy who runs a small bar

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walter2000uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

The rooms are simple but beautiful set right up at the riverside with beautiful views of the mountains, we were able to relax on our balcony and take beautiful photos. The staff were friendly and very laid back which didn't bother us. Breakfast was average but in town we found some great places. The prices are premium but half of the hotel across the road. There is a bit of a walk to get into town, the bar next door was lots of fun though and he is very helpful, booking our trips and taking us around.

Stayed: May 2013
1  Thank Lee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

So Vang Vieng is not the party town it once was - still plenty to do here though. We booked this place to be a bit out of town as we were afraid of noise, but this is not a concern anymore as the town basically closes at 11 and isnt't that rocking anyway!

We stayed 3 nights and soon got bored of the 15 min walk to town, it is even tricky to get a tuk tuk from near the hotel, so you have to walk to town to get anywhere. On route you will pass many other hotels at very cheap prices, some of which apparently are very nice.

This was our most expensive hotel in Laos and was supposed to be a relxing treat after days of travel - how wrong we were! There is a noisy place across the river from hotel where Asian's party. The curtains are useless at light eliminiation and lawnmower starts up around 8am thus denying any chance of a lie in, maybe this is the plan as they stop serving breakfast at 9.30!!! We're supposed to be on holiday! Staff only speak limited English, which when compared to locals in town is pretty poor (given this is supposed to be a superior property). They were pleasant enough though.

On a positive note the setting i and garden s lovely and pool open late is great. Breakfast at restaurant is a pleasant start to the day (despite the earliness of it), however they do not maximise this location and restauarnt was always closed, so we couldnt even get a drink (no fridge in rooms either). We bought beers from the one pub nearby, which shut at about 10:30, so took beers doen to riverside and enjoyed our hotels views. Silly situation.

Bathroom was very good for the hotel class.

So being by the river you may imagine a mozzy issue, so what do they do - they leave big old gaps around the door, and a floor with gaps in it. We had a bug spray and plugged the gaps with towels, mats and pieces of paper, which did the job.

Cleaning staff did a decent job but did not clean sheets every day they just remade bed and rotated sheet around. One day they didn't lock the door to our room afterwards. Thankfully nothing was stolen. Outside people can pay to use pool, which means it can get busy.

Bus tickets from hotel are expensive compared to agencies in town.

Not at all a relaxing place to stay which is a shame given how good it should be. Only hotel on this trip which I would not recommend - but Vang Vieng was great! (Go to Blue Lagoon, cave trips, and of course tubing!)

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TimmyWs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and it is an absolutely beautiful hotel. The first night we tried to get a room they were booked out so be sure to book advance.

The staff were friendly and helpful.
Rooms were comfortable and nicely decorated with a bit of character. No mini bar but good shower; air con and wifi worked well.

The restaurant looks great but is hardly ever open. I went there for breakfast every morning. Twice there was a buffet, once there wasn't and you ordered and paid for breakfast. No big deal but it was a bit confusing! Such a shame they were not open for drinks or dinner when we were there because it would have been an awesome setting.

The location is ok, it is a 10min walk to the main restaurant area which is kind of annoying seeing as the hotel restaurant is never open, but there's a bar literally next door which is great and sells dinner too.

The pool was a great luxury, especially on those super hot days.

All in all, this was a very really nice hotel and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a garden view bungalow which was well in need of an upgrade inside & the bathroom very tired.
Shower leaked & towels looked like they were thread bare.
No fridge to keep refreshments cool,no kettle or coffee/tea facilities. No hair dryer very basic.
They had what looked like a great restaurant but never opened & we had a nightmare trying to arrange a spa treatment due to bad communication amongst the staff. We had experienced a lot more for less throughout our travels.
Very disappointed .

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronniepru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.6 mi away
Mountain View Riverside Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Vieng Tara Villa
Vieng Tara Villa
#3 of 24 in Vang Vieng
211 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
#7 of 24 in Vang Vieng
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 24 in Vang Vieng
216 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
#9 of 24 in Vang Vieng
182 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inthira Vang Vieng
Inthira Vang Vieng
#5 of 24 in Vang Vieng
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Vang Vieng Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Vang Vieng Riverside

Address: Ban Viengkeo | On The Riverside, Vang Vieng 1003, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Vang Vieng
Price Range: $72 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Vang Vieng Riverside 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a luxurious hotel, built in traditional Lao design, located directly at the shore of the Nam Song River in Vang Vieng. Our rooms and restaurant enjoy a spectacular view at the breathtaking mountains which make the region so popular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Villa Vang Vieng Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing