We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Popular View Guesthouse
Ranked #61 of 99 Vang Vieng B&B and Inns
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Loved this place”
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

This place was maybe my favorite place I've stay in all of Asia. The rooms were big, the price was good, the location was in the middle of everything and the free breakfast was great.

All the being said the best thing about the place is the view. Overlooking the river with the mountains in the background. Amazing way to wake up in the morning.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stodds73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    18
    20
    10
    11
See reviews for
2
23
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
County Durham
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights as a young couple over christmas. The hotel was in the perfect location right in the center of town, taxi, bus, flghts, internet, bars, restaurants and tubing was available right on the door step. We requesed a room with a view and wern't dissappionted, the view was stunning with a large private balcony, the room was basic but clean, had A/C and a TV, but no storage space so you were living out of your case. The breakfast was very basic just eggs, bread and tea or coffee but included in the room price. The only thing was our room never got cleaned the 4 nights we stayed there, no fresh towels or even toilet paper. Would definatley stay here again in the future, but if booking make sure you get a room with a view as the rooms without had the windows facing the corridors so you could see into or out of the rooms as you or someone walked past, so not much privacy unless you shut the curtains.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view and you wont be dissappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Stayed here in November 2012. Originally booked online (through their website) for 3 nights, but ended up staying 5 nights.

The room cost around $23 per night and included air con, a tv and a basic breakfast. The room was clean, but basic.

No problems with noise. There was no 'popular view' from our room, but maybe the more expensive rooms get the view?

Good location, handy to town and easy to rent a tube!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmat7373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

This guesthouse is definitely overpriced at USD 30 per night.

Room A20 has mould on the the ceiling of the bedroom which probably accounts for the funny smell. The shower attachment is broken so you have to hold the shower head whilst trying to wash. The room is tiny, no space to walk between the twin beds.
Even the bedding smelt a bit damp.

The walls in the hallway are grubby and the walls in the bedroom also grubby.

Not a good nights sleep.

Breakfast was okay, omelette or fried eggs and help yourself to tea or coffee.

When you go out in the evening you take your key with you as they lock up the reception/lobby.
We got back at 9.45 pm and accessed our room through a hallway alongside the main doors.

This hallway is open to the street, so anyone could come in.

The free Internet and tea and coffee is no longer available as this is only in the reception area.

The room did have a river view but I would much prefer a cleaner hotel.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mary I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vang Vieng hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

This was one of the few places we saw to book online so we were a bit skeptical, but getting there we realized this was a great choice. Only 5 meters away from a place to pick a tube but most importantly only like 2 mins away from the main going out places. But our hotel was still quiet.
Staying here i did not get a great view but who cares as i would not have been around to see it. Breakfast was nice, they did a good job with my laundry and the beds were comfy!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abi o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

This a very reasonably priced place to stay. Rooms were clean and comfortable. The guesthouse was in a great location, close to pubs, restaurants and tubing rental. The owner was very helpful and friendly, I would recommend a stay here!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

First of all, yes, the view IS popular. Try to book a room with a view. I suppose there are 9 of them. It's really breathtaking because unlike Domon Guesthouse or any others along the same street, this one doesn't have any construction of disturbing distractions outside your balcony. And it's quite away from the Rocket Bar so it's not noisy at all!!

Everything in the room was clean. Superb. The bed was comfy and the aircon worked alright. Only the TV had a slight problem because there was no interesting English channel. But hey, with all the partying nobody has time to watch TV. The bathroom had the, in my opinion, purest cool water you can ever get and you feel like taking a shower every now and then.

The reception/owner Mr. Vieng is OK, friendly but can be a bit "blur" at times.

The complimentary breakfast consists of baguette, omelette/fried egg, and coffee/tea. In my opinion it was a little too oily but that's just how they cook it. The coffee/tea is free all the time. And they provide mineral water dispenser too. Get a bottle and you'll save thousands (of kips).

You can't get internet in the bedrooms. The common area has books that you can read. The surrounding shops are good/ok as well. All you need is just a few seconds walking distance. ;) I was alone and although I didn't meet anyone, I had the most incredible Me-Time in Vang Vieng. :)

Room Tip: They will try to give you the second best rooms. If you don't like what you get you can always r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maryamosmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.2 mi away
Mountain View Riverside Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 23 in Vang Vieng
201 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pan's Place
Pan's Place
#6 of 99 in Vang Vieng
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Maylay Guesthouse
Maylay Guesthouse
#9 of 99 in Vang Vieng
77 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sout Jai Guesthouse
Sout Jai Guesthouse
#31 of 99 in Vang Vieng
7 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sisavang Guesthouse
Sisavang Guesthouse
#16 of 99 in Vang Vieng
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Popular View Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Popular View Guesthouse

Property: Popular View Guesthouse
Address: Ban Savang, Namsong Riverside, Vang Vieng 1003, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Vang Vieng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Popular View Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Popular View Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing