We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Popular View Guesthouse
Ranked #61 of 100 Vang Vieng B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 6, 2012

This guesthouse is definitely overpriced at USD 30 per night.

Room A20 has mould on the the ceiling of the bedroom which probably accounts for the funny smell. The shower attachment is broken so you have to hold the shower head whilst trying to wash. The room is tiny, no space to walk between the twin beds.
Even the bedding smelt a bit damp.

The walls in the hallway are grubby and the walls in the bedroom also grubby.

Not a good nights sleep.

Breakfast was okay, omelette or fried eggs and help yourself to tea or coffee.

When you go out in the evening you take your key with you as they lock up the reception/lobby.
We got back at 9.45 pm and accessed our room through a hallway alongside the main doors.

This hallway is open to the street, so anyone could come in.

The free Internet and tea and coffee is no longer available as this is only in the reception area.

The room did have a river view but I would much prefer a cleaner hotel.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Mary I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
There are newer reviews for Popular View Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 72 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2012

This was one of the few places we saw to book online so we were a bit skeptical, but getting there we realized this was a great choice. Only 5 meters away from a place to pick a tube but most importantly only like 2 mins away from the main going out places. But our hotel was still quiet.
Staying here i did not get a great view but who cares as i would not have been around to see it. Breakfast was nice, they did a good job with my laundry and the beds were comfy!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abi o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

This a very reasonably priced place to stay. Rooms were clean and comfortable. The guesthouse was in a great location, close to pubs, restaurants and tubing rental. The owner was very helpful and friendly, I would recommend a stay here!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

First of all, yes, the view IS popular. Try to book a room with a view. I suppose there are 9 of them. It's really breathtaking because unlike Domon Guesthouse or any others along the same street, this one doesn't have any construction of disturbing distractions outside your balcony. And it's quite away from the Rocket Bar so it's not noisy at all!!

Everything in the room was clean. Superb. The bed was comfy and the aircon worked alright. Only the TV had a slight problem because there was no interesting English channel. But hey, with all the partying nobody has time to watch TV. The bathroom had the, in my opinion, purest cool water you can ever get and you feel like taking a shower every now and then.

The reception/owner Mr. Vieng is OK, friendly but can be a bit "blur" at times.

The complimentary breakfast consists of baguette, omelette/fried egg, and coffee/tea. In my opinion it was a little too oily but that's just how they cook it. The coffee/tea is free all the time. And they provide mineral water dispenser too. Get a bottle and you'll save thousands (of kips).

You can't get internet in the bedrooms. The common area has books that you can read. The surrounding shops are good/ok as well. All you need is just a few seconds walking distance. ;) I was alone and although I didn't meet anyone, I had the most incredible Me-Time in Vang Vieng. :)

Room Tip: They will try to give you the second best rooms. If you don't like what you get you can always r...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maryamosmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

If you're going to stay in Vang Vieng, stay here. The owners are a lovely and friendly couple who are happy to help you out if you have any requests. They also offer a laundry service for a small fee (based on weight of laundry) and sell a few provisional items if you need them, such as waterproof bags (use these to keep your money dry if you go tubing/kayaking), snacks and toiletries. WiFi is free however you can usually only get service if you are in the front of the building - cannot get WiFi in the rooms. We had a room situated on the bottom floor out the back, facing the river and mountains. 3 single beds, air con, tv, shower and toilet. Very basic but that's all you need. Very close to everything - right next door to the main tubing station (to rent tubes), a handful of convenience stores, a motorbike rental place and a number of Friends/Simpsons restaurants. We enjoyed our time so much that we decided to stay in town for an extra day and the owners of Popular View were happy to accommodate to this. Have recommended this place to friends and would definitely go back again.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a window facing out towards the river and mountains. Every Laotian sunset is...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

i feel bad for not writing a review for this place earlier.
i visited vang vieng twice over the december/january period, first time to party for a week, second time to work at a bar for longer. both times, my mates and i stayed at popular view guesthouse. rooms are spacious, well priced, well air-conditioned, have comfortable beds and provide convenient other services professionally like laundry.
beyond that, what really set this place apart from other guesthouses/hostels for me was the fact that when we arrived back after 3 weeks of travelling elsewhere, we were instantly remembered and treated like family by the owners, and were even given the same room which they knew we loved so much.
full recommendation!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anto_sydswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

For 4 of us we got an excellent room with river view for a very good price! Staff are very friendly and there is free breakfast before 10.

It is right in the mix of Vang Vieng so if thats what your after then this is the place.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fagleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.3 mi away
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
#7 of 25 in Vang Vieng
169 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mountain View Riverside Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Sisavang Guesthouse
Sisavang Guesthouse
#16 of 100 in Vang Vieng
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Vansana Vang Vieng Hotel
Vansana Vang Vieng Hotel
#14 of 25 in Vang Vieng
109 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nok et Mika Guesthouse
Nok et Mika Guesthouse
#27 of 53 in Vang Vieng
21 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maylay Guesthouse
Maylay Guesthouse
#9 of 100 in Vang Vieng
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Popular View Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Popular View Guesthouse

Address: Ban Savang, Namsong Riverside, Vang Vieng 1003, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Vang Vieng
Price Range: $11 - $23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Popular View Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld and Hotwire so you can book your Popular View Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing