We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We preferred the new room”
Review of Maylyn Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vang Vieng
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maylyn Guest House
Ranked #5 of 97 Vang Vieng B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
215 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“We preferred the new room”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We were told they don't take bookings in advance so we just showed up the day we needed the room - ended up staying for 10 days because it's such a relaxing place, with a lush garden and beautiful view from the room. The place is about a 15-minute walk into "town" but closer to the caves as they're on this (west) side of the river. There are lights around the premise at night, but it doesn't hurt to have a flashlight, especially if you want to walk to town along the riverside.

Wifi is only available in the restaurant area but it's not the fastest, like the rest of Laos. You can refill drinking water for 1000 kip. There are very nice multi-speed Giant mountain bikes for rent at 30,000 kip. Laundry is 10,000 kip per kilo.

Fan bungalows range from 60,000-100,000 kip (ones with shared bathroom are cheaper) and the newer concrete rooms costs 100,000+ kip. We stayed at a rustic standalone bungalow the first night but decided it was too hot for us (in March) and moved to the bigger, newer, and cooler fan room with a shared balcony and fewer bugs. The water pressure of the shower was quite weak but it was nice and hot. Of course there are cheaper places or nicer places in Vang Vieng, but we stayed here for so long because we thought it was great value!

Room Tip: newer rooms are cooler than the bungalows
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redeyeblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    79
    22
    11
    11
See reviews for
15
180
71
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

We spent four nights here and really enjoyed it. It's a nice, quiet place away from the centre. They have some really nice dogs that follow you when you go out.

Next door there is a great place
to eat.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jlawton21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Dear Joe,

Thank you for our more than pleasant stay at your place.
Can i recommend the chefs over there, the food was absolutely marvellous! I'm now trying at home what those girls did over there!
Hope everything's all cookin' ? ,)
Beautiful experience to be at your place, would love to see you and your wife again!
All-in-one: beautiful and extraordinary!
Hope to be back soon!
All my love

xx Ellen

Room Tip: Great get-to-gether- hangout, lovely atmosphere, just take a look around, beautiful. Beds are comfi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Really nice place, ran by friendly and helpful owners. Nice setting just by the river, the bungalows are the best rooms available here. Good food and drink, relatively low in price.

Would recommend to anyone who wants to be a bit further away from the main area of Vang Vieng... it's much more chilled and relaxed!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Liam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Planned to stay 3 nights and stayed longer with a tough decision to move on to our next stop. The honor system was used for meals and drinks and worked really well. Restaurant serves excellent Laos dishes. Great staff who were attentive and helped us book all types of tours, excursions and tickets for similar or cheaper than in town. Bungalows are very clean and well equipped with hot or cold water as you choose, also c/w large mosquito nets on the beds and fans in the rooms but it cooled off at night by the river so no need for air con. The gardens are really lovely, including a small private area across the small bridge. Very peaceful with a nice set up with private balcony bungalows with great views of the river and mountains. Across on the quiet side there was a funeral going on next door so it was louder than normal but overall a great choice. We took the free walk bridge across the river and enjoyed the walk along the river and views along the way. Good food in the restaurant and the sweetest little kittens ever! We named them as they took up residence on our balcony before we left. We took advantage of the laundry service and were pleased with the results. Wifi only works in the restaurant and has a strong signal but it was nice to have a break from that so I didn’t mind that it wasn’t in the rooms. The ever-present rooster was crowing but that is constant in Laos. Close access to Blue Lagoon, cave exploring and hiking to the top of the mountain for the viewpoint, etc. Much quieter than on the main side of the town and was excellent value for money.

Thanks Joe for your hospitality and the great stories! Would definitely stay here again – highly recommended.

Vang Vieng has a long history of being a party town but this has quieted down some in recent years. We loved it for all the outdoor adventure and beauty that it has and would suggest that they market it as such and kill off the party scene label and rap. There are still parties if you look for them and they aren’t hard to find but there is a lot to do that doesn’t involve “happy” drinks or tubing down the river. If we’re ever in Laos again we’ll probably be back.

Room Tip: Pick a room with a view - you won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TamisCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

We arrived into town at 9pm on New Year's Eve. It was a horror of yellow tourist signs and drunk people everywhere.  It was dark and we had no map but eventually we found the river and crossed it with a hope for some peace.  Maylin was really lively. The hosts even opened the kitchen so we could eat.  

80,000kip for twin (room 25). 

PROS
Great views
Relaxing atmosphere and lovely gardens
Brand new rooms (we were the first to stay there) 
Clean place 

CONS
Standard poor shower pressure
Washing was relatively expensive here 

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelKave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Although the party scene in Vang Vieng has recently quietened down, Maylyn Guest House offers a peaceful haven from the town itself. My wife was feeling a bit sick so we stayed in the new rooms (80 000kip), concrete and with en suite bathrooms, not the bungalows, which are simpler and made of wood. Situated across the river and set in lush gardens with loads of butterflies, this is THE place to chill out, lie down and read a book or just do nothing. With friendly staff, simple but good food, if you want a quiet, relaxing retreat, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClemenceandGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.1 mi away
Vieng Tara Villa
Vieng Tara Villa
#3 of 22 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 22 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
#6 of 22 in Vang Vieng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Laos Haven Hotel
Laos Haven Hotel
#2 of 97 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riverside Boutique Resort
Riverside Boutique Resort
#1 of 22 in Vang Vieng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bountang Hotel & Guesthouse
Bountang Hotel & Guesthouse
#49 of 97 in Vang Vieng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maylyn Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maylyn Guest House

Property: Maylyn Guest House
Address: route 1320 | hurnyay village, Vang Vieng 1003, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Vang Vieng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a budget guest house/mini eco resort.We are on the edge of a village our rear faces towards the Karst mountains. We are located next door to the beautiful and expensive Vieng Tara Hotel. We have a variety of rooms some are simple basic timber frame and bamboo bungalows for people who want a more authentic SE Asian experience and we do have more conventional masonry rooms for those who need them. The main appeal of our place is the location, the views and of course our Garden which at times is full of butterflies. Early wet season is best for the butterflies. I recognise that we may not be what everyone is looking for but many people love us.. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing