We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VANG VIENG MAYLYN guesthouse”
Review of Maylyn Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maylyn Guest House
Ranked #5 of 99 Vang Vieng B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Dear Joe,

Thank you for our more than pleasant stay at your place.
Can i recommend the chefs over there, the food was absolutely marvellous! I'm now trying at home what those girls did over there!
Hope everything's all cookin' ? ,)
Beautiful experience to be at your place, would love to see you and your wife again!
All-in-one: beautiful and extraordinary!
Hope to be back soon!
All my love

xx Ellen

Room Tip: Great get-to-gether- hangout, lovely atmosphere, just take a look around, beautiful. Beds are comfi...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (349)
There are newer reviews for Maylyn Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 349 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Really nice place, ran by friendly and helpful owners. Nice setting just by the river, the bungalows are the best rooms available here. Good food and drink, relatively low in price.

Would recommend to anyone who wants to be a bit further away from the main area of Vang Vieng... it's much more chilled and relaxed!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Liam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Planned to stay 3 nights and stayed longer with a tough decision to move on to our next stop. The honor system was used for meals and drinks and worked really well. Restaurant serves excellent Laos dishes. Great staff who were attentive and helped us book all types of tours, excursions and tickets for similar or cheaper than in town. Bungalows are very clean and well equipped with hot or cold water as you choose, also c/w large mosquito nets on the beds and fans in the rooms but it cooled off at night by the river so no need for air con. The gardens are really lovely, including a small private area across the small bridge. Very peaceful with a nice set up with private balcony bungalows with great views of the river and mountains. Across on the quiet side there was a funeral going on next door so it was louder than normal but overall a great choice. We took the free walk bridge across the river and enjoyed the walk along the river and views along the way. Good food in the restaurant and the sweetest little kittens ever! We named them as they took up residence on our balcony before we left. We took advantage of the laundry service and were pleased with the results. Wifi only works in the restaurant and has a strong signal but it was nice to have a break from that so I didn’t mind that it wasn’t in the rooms. The ever-present rooster was crowing but that is constant in Laos. Close access to Blue Lagoon, cave exploring and hiking to the top of the mountain for the viewpoint, etc. Much quieter than on the main side of the town and was excellent value for money.

Thanks Joe for your hospitality and the great stories! Would definitely stay here again – highly recommended.

Vang Vieng has a long history of being a party town but this has quieted down some in recent years. We loved it for all the outdoor adventure and beauty that it has and would suggest that they market it as such and kill off the party scene label and rap. There are still parties if you look for them and they aren’t hard to find but there is a lot to do that doesn’t involve “happy” drinks or tubing down the river. If we’re ever in Laos again we’ll probably be back.

Room Tip: Pick a room with a view - you won't be disappointed!
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TamisCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

We arrived into town at 9pm on New Year's Eve. It was a horror of yellow tourist signs and drunk people everywhere.  It was dark and we had no map but eventually we found the river and crossed it with a hope for some peace.  Maylin was really lively. The hosts even opened the kitchen so we could eat.  

80,000kip for twin (room 25). 

PROS
Great views
Relaxing atmosphere and lovely gardens
Brand new rooms (we were the first to stay there) 
Clean place 

CONS
Standard poor shower pressure
Washing was relatively expensive here 

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank TravelKave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Although the party scene in Vang Vieng has recently quietened down, Maylyn Guest House offers a peaceful haven from the town itself. My wife was feeling a bit sick so we stayed in the new rooms (80 000kip), concrete and with en suite bathrooms, not the bungalows, which are simpler and made of wood. Situated across the river and set in lush gardens with loads of butterflies, this is THE place to chill out, lie down and read a book or just do nothing. With friendly staff, simple but good food, if you want a quiet, relaxing retreat, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClemenceandGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Only spent 3 days, but it was magical. the view is simply amazing and the staff is very friendly. Although i could be a bit bias since this is my aunt's resort. Hi Joe and Aunty!! My uncle Hatsadee is basically the host he speaks very little english but loves to help and answer questions. And honestly you can't beat the price, and make sure to check out the garden you have to walk across the bridge to find serenity. I could go on and on but i won't, i hope everyone enjoyed their stay.

P.S. they have FREE Wifi, a must; and the signal strength is so great. So you can skype back home or post your pics on facebook!

Love you guys!

-Beebe :)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ladaphone T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

The best and most beautiful place i stayed in Laos ;) The Owner Joseph was extremely nice, the bungalows are amazing, the view is breathtaking and the Maylyn restaurant serves good and traditional food. I already recomended to all my friends who are planning to travel to Vang Vieng. I miss already this place... Thank you!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rita L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.1 mi away
Vieng Tara Villa
Vieng Tara Villa
#5 of 25 in Vang Vieng
196 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mountain View Riverside Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 25 in Vang Vieng
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
#8 of 25 in Vang Vieng
454 reviews
0.4 mi away
Laos Haven Hotel
Laos Haven Hotel
#2 of 99 in Vang Vieng
595 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riverside Boutique Resort
Riverside Boutique Resort
#1 of 25 in Vang Vieng
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maylyn Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maylyn Guest House

Address: Route 1320 | Hurnyay Village, Vang Vieng 1003, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Vang Vieng
Price Range: $11 - $13 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a budget guest house/mini eco resort.We are on the edge of a village our rear faces towards the Karst mountains. We are located next door to the beautiful and expensive Vieng Tara Hotel. We have a variety of rooms some are simple basic timber frame and bamboo bungalows for people who want a more authentic SE Asian experience and we do have more conventional masonry rooms for those who need them. The main appeal of our place is the location, the views and of course our Garden which at times is full of butterflies. Early wet season is best for the butterflies. I recognise that we may not be what everyone is looking for but many people love us.. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing