We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Maylyn Guest House
Nearby Hotels
Champa Lao(Vang Vieng)(Great Value!)
$32
$12
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$40
$37
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Laos Haven Hotel(Vang Vieng)
$21
$19
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$29
$23
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Vieng Tara Villa(Vang Vieng)
$53
$45
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
$41
$30
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$48
$41
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$16
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
$117
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inthira Vang Vieng(Vang Vieng)
$112
$72
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (376)
Filter reviews
376 results
Traveler rating
237
87
27
13
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
237
87
27
13
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblue lagoonthe ownerstream runningthe riverbeautiful gardenshared balconyacross the bridgehis wiferice paddiespeaceful havenmosquito netrestaurant areafew dollarslovely guesthouseate hereread a booklow price
Filter
Updating list...
189 - 194 of 376 reviews
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Stayed AGAIN at Maylyn's in Jan2013 and found the place very peaceful and relaxing. The cabins are cosy and a bit basic but I wasnt looking for a super luxury place to stay either. All linen and towels are clean, bathroom w shower works fine, bed was big and came with a mosquito net.At the terrace there were a table and chairs and were perfect for butterfly spotting and admiring the lovely garden Joe has created.There is a separate shower rooms with hot water, not all cabins apparently have hot water. Food served at the restaurant was tasty and good priced. The only minus is the staff - the young staff members could be more efficient, too often they do run around but get little done. They could pay better attention to the food orders to avoid mistakes. Maybe this happens due lack of language skills. Joe himself is a quirky and a friendly character, his dry sense of humour and looks on modern day life arent necessary everyone's cup of tea and that is all right. He has a big personality at least! Wish him and his team all the best!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reindeer200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We came to Maylyn GH after we heard it's an amazing place and we totally agree!
The place is quiet, peaceful and relaxing!
It's across the river (next to big bridge for the cars) and away from the noisy nightlife, for people who seek quietness.
Still it takes only 10 min walk to the city (across the small bamboo bridge).
The entire GH is arranged really nice in a beautiful garden with many flowers and butterflies.
We booked a hut for 2 nights in advance and we got one near the small bridge and the tiny river inside Maylyn GH.
It was absolutely amazing!!! The view is breathtaking and in the evening we heard the frog’s choir from the tiny river ;-)
Our hut was very clean, had a fan, clean towels and a mosquito net. (no need to bring one for that place). We also had a warm water shower.
The food at Maylyn was delicious. The service was also very very good.
After our sleeping bus to Luang Prabang got broken, we phoned Maylyn GH at about 12 am and asked if they might still have a room for us, and they arranged for us an Ensuite room.
The Ensuite rooms are new and also very clean, but we preferred the huts.
We asked if we can switch back to a hut if one is free and we immediately got one.
We were again next to the small bridge and stayed for another 3 days ;-)
For animal lovers like we are, we enjoyed the lovely company of 3 kittens and bigger cute cats! As well the dogs at Maylyn are cute and very friendly! All the animals are treated well!
The Maylyn GH was for us the perfect choice, because it’s a family business with lovely people and it’s located near the caves route and the crystal pool.
Across the GH is a scooter rental (only 50000kip).
All in all, our stay at Maylyn GH was for us a true Honeymoon and we would come back to this GH any time! Highly recommended!!!!!!
Thanks to Maylyn GH!

Room Tip: We loves the huts near the small bridge and tiny river inside Maylyn GH. Clean rooms, fan, hot shower, towels and mosquito net
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicky F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hobbit46, Owner at Maylyn Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

thank you for your lengthy and detailed review for our humble guest house I agree with what you say this is a good destination for nature lovers if you need luxury and convenience there may be more suitable places in Vang Vieng town ..I dont know who you are if you come back can you introduce yourself?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights in a double room with ensuite. The room was lovely and clean. Bed was a little hard but fine. The ensuite is grand except for the shower which had both a low volume of water and low pressure. Towels are provided. Lockers are not. The room was not cleaned during our stay.

The restaurant is fine. Service was slow and we had delicious meals but also just okay meals. Breakfast is not included.

The location is not so good. It's only about 10 minutes walking to the main area but at night, there is no lighting and can be difficult finding your way back.

There is no wifi.

The service of the staff was good and bad. The man who could speak English was great, helpful and friendly. But, he was hardly ever there. As a result we had to try to communicate with the ladies working in the kitchen who had poor English and were disinterested in dealing with anything other than food. If the had to do so then they were rude.

It was an okay stay but on our third night we found accomodation in the centre of the town that had a better shower, better location and wifi, and all for the same price. I guess it just depends on what you're looking for.

Sheila

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 67,508,387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hobbit46, Owner at Maylyn Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

I'm sorry you didn't mention the water pressure while you here that was easily fixed when It was brought to my attention and I'm sorry the kitchen staff don't speak much English [so how is your Lao ??] I"m happy that you found what you were looking for in town. Of course our big draw is the garden and the butterflies. We compare quite well to "Eco" resorts that Ive visited and of course we are much much cheaper.
Oscar Wilde said "a cynic is a person who knows the price of everything and the value of nothing"
what value do you put on butterflies or experiencing something different ?? and finally Im happy to tell you we do now have WIfi WIfi FREE WIFI for all

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

We had read about Maylyn on Wikitravel and decided it was something we'd try for a few days. We ended up staying 10 nights! The owners were friendly and helpful, and the kitchen served great tasting meals with a smile. My favourite time was early morning coffee in front of my bungalow, listening to the sounds of the country come to life! Rewind and relax, explore the surrounding nature. And if you crave something else, you can always leg it into town!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traveller5891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

What an amazing place. We can't say enough good things about it. Beautiful butterfly filled gardens, flowers everywhere and green, green, green! It's really a little piece of paradise and one of the best memories of our lao tour. There is plenty to do on this side of the bridge and you never have to see an "In the Tubing" shirt (what does that even mean?!) if you don't want to. (All that tubing mess was banned while we were there anyhow, so the main town was very quiet.) The staff and maylin was amazing, always smiling and looking like they were having fun and Uncle Tom, or should I say "Stebe" wink wink... was a riot to chat with. Our only regret was not getting to meet the infamous owner, Joe, who was apparently in Thailand working on getting some brand new pearly whites installed. Anyhow, it's a amazing place to stay and relax so stop reading this and go there! you won't regret it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews