We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great deal, stunning setting.”
Review of Maylyn Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maylyn Guest House
Ranked #5 of 101 Vang Vieng B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2011

Great bungalows - the rates are amazing for what you get: £4 a night for clean bungalow, hot shower and lovely scenery. It's just by a river and you have a view straight out to the mountains and a place for BBQs and a few hammocks. We even had a free gardening lesson by Joe, the characterful owner. Maps and advice are given out to anybody who wants them and Paul who works there helped us plan a lovely mountain bike trip, even though he was permanently disappointed we didn't end up going tubing. Bus tickets were easily available and the food was tasty. It's a very relaxed place with some comedy conversation available in the evening free of charge.

Room Tip: Hard to book in advance but they nearly always have rooms available apparently.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Exbackpacker78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (363)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 363 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2011

After spending a night on the busy side of the river and paying too much for a terrible room, me and my partner decided to cross the river to check out Maylyn. This one guest house alone changed our view of the town.
Beautifully quaint hut rooms, next to a little river (which you can swim in), for a pretty cheap price. Not only that but the food they served was some of the best we've had for its price range. Top it off with the quirky owner Joe who is never far to share a story or some good inside info on the area.

The location does mean you have to cross the toll bridge to get to it, but the fee doesn't really add up to much, considering a lot of the beautiful countryside, mountains and lagoons are on that side of the bridge anyway (bikes are also for hire on that side of the bridge, so you don't need to cross for that).

Room Tip: Any river side room is beautiful. However rooms on the right of the main house have a little more no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TreesAreWeird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

A lovely guesthouse with friendly staff. We got a bungalow with view at the mountains from our hammock. There was a barbeque evening, with the best fish i tried i asia. Thumbs up.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

My gf and I were there last August and we were really pleased by the guesthouse. Of course it's not a 5 stars hotel, but the rooms are really clean and Joe the owner was really nice to us. I read on a previous comment that he didn't like French people but actually he was really nice to me...

The guesthouse was not full and he suggested us to change to a room that they just renovated for no extra money. The shower was clean and brand new and the bed was pretty comfortable and once again, you can't find anything that good for such a small amount of money.

But then, for people who really want to be in a happening location, Maylyn guesthouse might be a bit far as it's across the bridge. On foot you have to walk approximately between 20 and 25 minutes to get to the center but if you rent a bike then it's really fast. Just be careful during the raining season cause it might be a bit annoying to cross the bridge under the rain at night...And just to warn people, whenever you cross the bridge you have to pay 4000 kips if i'm not mistaken but still on the other side of the bridge, i don't think you can find a better guesthouse for this price. But if you want to go on internet very often, then don't stay there cause there is no connection.

Oh yeah, something that i really liked is that you feel really free in this guesthouse. Nobody pressures you to buy tours or bus tickets or drinks etc. I think just one thing bothered me just a little bit was the fact that sometimes when you order food then it takes a while (sometimes 25 minutes) but anyway it's not that important if you're on holidays except if you have to rush to catch a bus or something.

And one more thing, the garden is beautiful and so is the landscape.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wasabiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Living in Kuala Lumpur working extremely hard this year, I decided to take my girlfriend to a guest house I stayed at back in 2009 for Christmas for a quiet break. We had the most relaxing time in a well kept bungalow, surrounded by beautiful scenary, a stunning mountainous backdrop and were catered for so very well. The food was fantastic and the fruit shakes are a real must!!
The owner Joe is a lovely man and has a great sense of humour that kept my girlfriend and I chuckling each day. I had the pleasure of staying on his 65th birthday and he invited us to his gathering which was very kind of him. His children are incredibly sweet and polite (hostel named after his eldest Maylyn) and his wife made sure all the guests had a pleasant stay. I would recommend this to anyone going to Vang Vieng, and although the town is becoming popular for the young travellers to tube down the river, there is still so much to offer and for this hostel and scenary alone is worth a visit if only for 3 or 4 days. Thanks so much for a wonderful stay. We'll be back again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam-in-KL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Whilst travelling around SE Asia, we didn't hold out much hope that Vang Vieng would rate highly for us. How wrong we were. Yes, it is full of dozey stoned don't know any better loud youths in the main part, but across the bridge is a little gem. Maylyn Guest House owner Joe and his family provided a welcome haven. Yes, the cabins may appear basic to some, but to us they were perfect. Everything we needed was there; fabulous view, fireflies at night, access to wonderful cycle rides, walks and climbs and even a shower and good meal at the end of the day. It proved to be one of the highlights in our SE Asia tour. so thank you Joe and family and staff for making us so welcome.

Room Tip: Cannot book ahead, so take a chance and just go for it. Cabins are pot luck. first come first served...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

Beautifully located next to the river away from the mayhem of the 18-21yr old tubers!!

Joe was a very welcoming host with a great sense of humour! giving us lots of tips for exploring the local area .

Clean large well kept room. Beautiful garden.

Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emzie_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.4 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 24 in Vang Vieng
216 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mountain View Riverside Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Vieng Tara Villa
Vieng Tara Villa
#3 of 24 in Vang Vieng
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
#7 of 24 in Vang Vieng
475 reviews
0.4 mi away
Laos Haven Hotel
Laos Haven Hotel
#4 of 101 in Vang Vieng
615 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riverside Boutique Resort
Riverside Boutique Resort
#1 of 24 in Vang Vieng
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maylyn Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maylyn Guest House

Address: Route 1320 | Hurnyay Village, Vang Vieng 1003, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in Vang Vieng
Price Range: $11 - $15 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a budget guest house/mini eco resort.We are on the edge of a village our rear faces towards the Karst mountains. We are located next door to the beautiful and expensive Vieng Tara Hotel. We have a variety of rooms some are simple basic timber frame and bamboo bungalows for people who want a more authentic SE Asian experience and we do have more conventional masonry rooms for those who need them. The main appeal of our place is the location, the views and of course our Garden which at times is full of butterflies. Early wet season is best for the butterflies. I recognise that we may not be what everyone is looking for but many people love us.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Maylyn Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing