We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality Food in Vang Vieng!”
Review of Inthira Vang Vieng

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inthira Vang Vieng
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Vang Vieng
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Quality Food in Vang Vieng!”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Walking Around Vang Vieng, ran into this nice little restaurant, with excellent service and Magnificent Food, the owner was a very nice attentive man, and food choices we did were fantastic, try the Pork Ribs, Vang Vieng Sausage two of the loca specialties.
Did not stay in the hotel however it looks like they have nice rooms.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GunterO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    138
    75
    21
    17
See reviews for
18
136
53
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Laos
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We initially booked 3 nights through Agoda but ended up staying for 7! The place is really nice - welcome drink on arrival and 10% off the food menu for the duration of our stay. We even got a free cocktail the first night! It has a 'sister' hotel about 10 minutes walk away that has a pool you can use - it's just a plunge pool but it's right on the river and you can easily laze away a few days topping up your tan and taking in the scenery!
Great location too - you can walk everywhere locally. We hired a motorbike one day to drive to the Blue Lagoon, but you can easily walk to the Tubing office from here.
The breakfast was great - options ranging from cereal, to eggs and bacon and they all come with a warm baguette and self service tea, coffee and juice. great start to the morning!
We were able to get our laundry done and book our onward bus to Vientiane through the helpful staff on reception.
TIP - there's an Indian restaurant called 'Nazim's' if you turn right out of the hotel and walk a few hundred yards. A hidden gem - best Indian food we've had since India!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Methven, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 13, 2013

nice rooms very clean and plenty of space. excellent breakfast every morning which is included and very freindly staff that are very helpful . a very nice place to stay as you are close to everything in town. the bar/resturant is a nice place to relax with a cold refreshment.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank daniel m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

At our arrival, the staff was very friendly. Our room was clean and comfortable. I would recommend a doorstop, because the bathroom-door bangs against the wall everytime it's opened. I would also recommend something to pull the water away in the bathroom. Exept of those little details, Inthira felt like an oasis in a place that disappointed us.
When we wantend to change our check-out date (1 day sooner) everything was fine and we got our money back. Same thing for changing the bustickets. Perfect staff!
Breakfast and dinner are served well.
Very good shower and a lovely bed.
Read the "Lao instuctions" in the infomap at the room; lots of tourist would learn a lot about how to behave in Laos...

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Suus195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belgium
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Astonishing how well the hotel is run through the firm hand of the manager : we have seen him working long days, busy with bookings and reception as well as with the (small) restaurant – while most people in the tourist industry are, the least you can say, really not doing a lot. (Food was OK without being exceptional). The room was rather small without outlook, but clean and VERY functional, really value for money.
That there was during the second night terribly booming music on a square behind the hotel, a village party – Lao people like it very loud – till 2.30 AM was awful, however the hotel was not to blame for it. On this I totally agree with the review of “Imetcalf“ on Tripadvisor who has been there around the same period, though it happened to us on a Tuesday night, while he refers to Saturday night. I guess tourists would not mind the villagers to have music and fun, but to make such a terrible noise with disturbing basses that keeps so many hotel guests awake while they all have paid for a good night of sleep, is an obvious lack of any respect for the visitor, especially in a country that needs the tourists very hard for its economy!(by the way, 3 nights later in Luang Prabang there again was a very noisy villagers party in a street, “only” till around 12 midnight...).
Very fine about this hotel is that guests are allowed to swim in the (small) pool of Hotel “Ban Sabai” situated on the banks of the Nam Song river. A very agreeable experience at sunset.
The bus trip to Luang Prabang booked by the hotel was a catastrophe : the so called VIP bus turned out to be very old and uncomfortable (though most of these buses seem to be of this kind). Unfortunately we happened to get the worst (pre booked) seats - above the toilet – with so little leg space and broken seats before that leant back all the time that my husband and I could not get our legs on our seats at the same time! (it was a 7 hrs trip!). The company Inthira hotel had booked with was called Malany (or Malony ?).
So, the conclusion is : INTHIRA Hotel and restaurant : fine for a short stay, but better avoid booking a bus trip with the company they had chosen! There also is an evident risk to be disturbed by booming music from outside ...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ebbandflood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
151 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We had a small room which was a bit musty. There were other and better rooms upstairs but the price was too high for such a room.
We stayed only 1 night because there was a kind of a luna park behind the hotel making music from 6.30 AM till midnight.
The restaurant is to be recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Reasonable hotel in the supposed quieter end of town - however, each Saturday night there appears to be a live party directly behind the hotel with booming music until the small hours. (It is currently 00.37 - we have been told that it will finish at 1am...)

The rooms are okay, with good aircon and big beds. The rooms are a long way from being sealed though - with big gaps between the french doors - mozzy nets are provided which helps.

What the hotel does really well is service - all of the staff behind reception are friendly and really helpful. Guests get a free cocktail every night and 10% off the bill if you eat in the restaurant. The food in the restaurant was above average as well.

Overall, not a bad budget option but we have definitely stayed in better for a similar price in Laos. However on a Saturday, if you value sleep I would recommend staying as far away from this end of town as possible.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarryandSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.2 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 23 in Vang Vieng
194 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vieng Tara Villa
Vieng Tara Villa
#3 of 23 in Vang Vieng
188 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
#6 of 23 in Vang Vieng
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
#5 of 23 in Vang Vieng
168 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mountain View Riverside Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Riverside Boutique Resort
Riverside Boutique Resort
#1 of 23 in Vang Vieng
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inthira Vang Vieng? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inthira Vang Vieng

Property: Inthira Vang Vieng
Address: Ban Savang, Vangvieng | Ban Sawang, Vang Vieng 85620, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Vang Vieng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Inthira Vang Vieng 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 Suites – 3 King (Floor 6th) 96sq.m. 24 Deluxe - 12 Twin / 12 Double (Floor 3-5) 36sq.m. 11 Superior – 4 Twin / 7 Double (Floor 1-2) 34sq.m. Total: 38 rooms (6 Floors) Facilities: Swimming Pool, Meeting / Function Room capacity 80 - 120 guests, Restaurant, ample car parking space, in room safety deposit boxes, 42inch Plasma TV, Wifi throughout the hotel, Room service, 24hrs security, CCTV throughout the hotel, Traditional Lao, Thai & Fusion cuisine, Bathrobe & Happy Coat, plus bedroom slippers in all rooms, Chic and Contemporary in design, Key Card Door locking system, All rooms have balcony overlooking the river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Inthira Vang Vieng reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inthira Vang Vieng Hotel Vang Vieng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing