We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean stay in dirty Vang Vieng” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inthira Vang Vieng

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Inthira Vang Vieng
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Vang Vieng
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Clean stay in dirty Vang Vieng”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

At our arrival, the staff was very friendly. Our room was clean and comfortable. I would recommend a doorstop, because the bathroom-door bangs against the wall everytime it's opened. I would also recommend something to pull the water away in the bathroom. Exept of those little details, Inthira felt like an oasis in a place that disappointed us.
When we wantend to change our check-out date (1 day sooner) everything was fine and we got our money back. Same thing for changing the bustickets. Perfect staff!
Breakfast and dinner are served well.
Very good shower and a lovely bed.
Read the "Lao instuctions" in the infomap at the room; lots of tourist would learn a lot about how to behave in Laos...

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Suus195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    138
    75
    21
    17
See reviews for
18
136
53
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
belgium
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Astonishing how well the hotel is run through the firm hand of the manager : we have seen him working long days, busy with bookings and reception as well as with the (small) restaurant – while most people in the tourist industry are, the least you can say, really not doing a lot. (Food was OK without being exceptional). The room was rather small without outlook, but clean and VERY functional, really value for money.
That there was during the second night terribly booming music on a square behind the hotel, a village party – Lao people like it very loud – till 2.30 AM was awful, however the hotel was not to blame for it. On this I totally agree with the review of “Imetcalf“ on Tripadvisor who has been there around the same period, though it happened to us on a Tuesday night, while he refers to Saturday night. I guess tourists would not mind the villagers to have music and fun, but to make such a terrible noise with disturbing basses that keeps so many hotel guests awake while they all have paid for a good night of sleep, is an obvious lack of any respect for the visitor, especially in a country that needs the tourists very hard for its economy!(by the way, 3 nights later in Luang Prabang there again was a very noisy villagers party in a street, “only” till around 12 midnight...).
Very fine about this hotel is that guests are allowed to swim in the (small) pool of Hotel “Ban Sabai” situated on the banks of the Nam Song river. A very agreeable experience at sunset.
The bus trip to Luang Prabang booked by the hotel was a catastrophe : the so called VIP bus turned out to be very old and uncomfortable (though most of these buses seem to be of this kind). Unfortunately we happened to get the worst (pre booked) seats - above the toilet – with so little leg space and broken seats before that leant back all the time that my husband and I could not get our legs on our seats at the same time! (it was a 7 hrs trip!). The company Inthira hotel had booked with was called Malany (or Malony ?).
So, the conclusion is : INTHIRA Hotel and restaurant : fine for a short stay, but better avoid booking a bus trip with the company they had chosen! There also is an evident risk to be disturbed by booming music from outside ...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ebbandflood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
152 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

We had a small room which was a bit musty. There were other and better rooms upstairs but the price was too high for such a room.
We stayed only 1 night because there was a kind of a luna park behind the hotel making music from 6.30 AM till midnight.
The restaurant is to be recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Reasonable hotel in the supposed quieter end of town - however, each Saturday night there appears to be a live party directly behind the hotel with booming music until the small hours. (It is currently 00.37 - we have been told that it will finish at 1am...)

The rooms are okay, with good aircon and big beds. The rooms are a long way from being sealed though - with big gaps between the french doors - mozzy nets are provided which helps.

What the hotel does really well is service - all of the staff behind reception are friendly and really helpful. Guests get a free cocktail every night and 10% off the bill if you eat in the restaurant. The food in the restaurant was above average as well.

Overall, not a bad budget option but we have definitely stayed in better for a similar price in Laos. However on a Saturday, if you value sleep I would recommend staying as far away from this end of town as possible.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarryandSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
256 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

As soon as I arrived at the Inthira I felt very welcome ...all the staff were great! The rooms were fairly basic, but were kept very clean, something I really appreciate. It's not right down at the riverside, but it's a quick walk down there and definitely shouldn't stop you from staying here. The breakfast provided was very good, and always served with a smile. I stayed most of my time in Vang Vieng here, but wanted to try one of the places down by the river ...I wished I had stayed here longer! I would definitely stay here again! BTW ...if you're into rock climbing, Vang Vieng offers great climbing of every level, and extremely reasonable prices!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Without a doubt, this was the best place I stayed in in laos. Although I didn't really enjoy vang vieng that much, the hotel was excellent. Very organized, professional and incredibly friendly. Was always greeted with a big smile or a free cocktail :-))!
Loved it.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sway_thunders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vang Vieng, Laos
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed 3 nights in February.

Observed some ants, as almost everywhere in Asia, but it will not become a problem until you bring foods to your room. If you do it....watch out :)
Wifi in the room is better then average.
The only problem I had there is the staff in restaurant. Their English is very poor, and they may forget to bring sugar for tea. Just a small detail, but our life consists of such small details.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.0 mi away
Vieng Tara Villa
Vieng Tara Villa
#4 of 20 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 20 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
#3 of 20 in Vang Vieng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
#6 of 20 in Vang Vieng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.9 mi away
Khampaseuth Hotel
Khampaseuth Hotel
#12 of 20 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Vang Vieng Riverside
Villa Vang Vieng Riverside
#14 of 20 in Vang Vieng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inthira Vang Vieng? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inthira Vang Vieng

Property: Inthira Vang Vieng
Address: | Ban Sawang, Vang Vieng 85620, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Vang Vieng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Inthira Vang Vieng 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel has the most contemporary and stylish bar in Vang Vieng, which plays great music and serves original cocktails and refreshments. At Inthira Vang Vieng, we pride ourselves on Cleanliness and Service. We welcome you to come and experience what we have to offer. There are 3 types of Rooms at Inthira, all with the luxuries of Cable Television, Private Bathroom, Hot Water and Air conditioning. Each room comes with a complimentary breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inthira Vang Vieng Hotel Vang Vieng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing