We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel Away from the Noisy Crowds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vilayvong Guesthouse
Ranked #28 of 99 Vang Vieng B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed here for two nights as part of a G Adventure trip through S.E Asia.
So to cut to the chase, it's a really nice place albeit a bit basic. But I don't mind basic if it is clean, safe and well located. The bathroms were a bit grim but in fairness, the room was very clean and had loads of character - it was a two story wooden chalet, plenty of room and really quiet.
It represents very good value with a decent breakfast included each morning. The staff were very helpful - when you could find them! The reception was nearly always deserted! It tookm us most of the first day to realise there are two receptions! One at street level (always manned) and one down at the car park level where the rooms are.
The main strip in Vang Vieng is about a ten minute walk but there are plenty of shops and eating options along the way. To be honest, Vang Vieng is an absolute hovel, you are better off being a little outside like this pace where it is quieter! You only go to Vang Vieng vfor the tubing and the excursions out in to the magnificent countryside. The Tower Karst scenery is quite incredible. But the town itself is horrible, full of impossibly drunk people wandering around lost in their swimming gear after getting back from tubing drunk as a skunk.
So, if you find yourself planning a trip to VV, then this place comes well recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bozeman-Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
There are newer reviews for Vilayvong Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 128 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2012

Vang Vieng offers a lot of different things to do, both in terms of the party options, and the more scenic ones such as hiking through the caves, or having a beer at blue lagoon. The great think about this place, is that it acts as a god place to stay, and does not get involved too much in either, making it a great all-rounder.

The bungalows are fantastic and self contained (fridge, bathrooms, cable t.v, ect) and this means that if you just want to escape or rest up from the rest of the town its a nice place to be. Everything is clean and well serviced, and the rooms have everything you need like mosquito nets, and hot showers.

The staff were really friendly and helpful and the entire place had the feeling like it was being looked after.

Will be back to this one.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller11123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

I found here by mistake, I took a tuktuk from the bus station to the hospital as this is the quiet part of town and just walked until I found somewhere that appealed!
I paid 100,000kip per night for a room sole occupancy of a room that would take 3 people. The room was a good size, very clean and the bed was very comfy! I really loved the view from the balcony and wish that I had had a longer stay to take advantage of this.
The town is about 10mins walk away with shops and a few restaurants in the immediate area. It was very quiet at night but as with everywhere in Laos the morning starts quite early.

I would certainly stay here again, I paid the same price in Luang Prabang for 1 night and the room here was so much nicer. Don't be put off by the towns reputation, it is easy to avoid the idiots!!

Room Tip: Ask to be away from reception
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julia687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stayed for a week and had a lovely large room on the second floor - lovely balcony with table and chairs overlooking the river. They are expanding and there is a bit of construction going on but it is not that bad. Our room was made up every day - the people were friendly - nice and quiet. It was so hard to leave because the scenery is so spectacular. Rent a mountain bike and ride the 33 kilometer loop on the island.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the river - second floor - stunning view of the mountains and river
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giselle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Whe visited Vilayvong in February 2012, and had a bungalow across the main building. The first bungalow we got had some wierd stains in the matress, so we got another bungalow. The bungalow itself was ok, clean and a good aircon.

Across our bungalow they where building an expansion of the main builidng, there was a lot of building activity and noise.

The guesthouse is close to the river (a couple of minutes walk) and about 10 minutes walk from the centre.

Breakfast was ok, but nothing special.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yens_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Located close to the river and from a walking distance to the city center, this guesthouse offers rooms (in the main building) and bungalows. It's surrounded by construction sites, which can be a bit noisy. The bungalows are very very basic, very much in the backpacker spirit of the city, and they do not have a view to the mountains. Ours had a view to... a construction site. If you want a nice view, book a room on the 3rd floor. The breakfast is disappointing: a toast and instant coffee. We skipped it and went to a local café instead.

Room Tip: Skip the bungalow. Ask for a room on the 3rd floor for a nice view.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FirstVillage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

This place was perfect! Far enough away from the 'party' island to not hear anything, but walking distance from everywhere. We loved this place and would definitely stay again. AC, WiFi, mosquito nets, balcony with view of the river and TV (not that we used it). Also there was somebody there 24 hours day at the counter, so we felt totally secure

Worth noting - i accidentally smashed the porcelain lid on the toilet.. the next morning the owner was totally fine and charged me an easy $20 - no hassles.. PERFECT

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Garth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.2 mi away
Vieng Tara Villa
Vieng Tara Villa
#5 of 25 in Vang Vieng
196 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mountain View Riverside Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
#8 of 25 in Vang Vieng
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Laos Haven Hotel
Laos Haven Hotel
#2 of 99 in Vang Vieng
595 reviews
0.6 mi away
Champalao The Villa
Champalao The Villa
#23 of 99 in Vang Vieng
65 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jammee Guest House
Jammee Guest House
#19 of 99 in Vang Vieng
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vilayvong Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vilayvong Guesthouse

Address: Ban Vieng Keo, Vang Vieng 1003, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Vang Vieng
Price Range: $22 - $38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vilayvong Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Vilayvong Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing