We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely balconies with good views of Karst scenery”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Vilayvong Guesthouse
Ranked #27 of 98 Vang Vieng B&B and Inns
Larnaka City, Cyprus
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lovely balconies with good views of Karst scenery”
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Very friendly reception staff who did all they could to help. Rooms were spacious and clean, and had lovely big balconies overlooking the magnificent Karst scenery with just a glimpse of the river. The hotel was south of the town, so a fairly quiet location, but within easy walking distance of the town.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor, west facing room for good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pitwoodsusan10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    48
    43
    14
    2
See reviews for
6
61
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, UK
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in January 2012. We stayed in the main house with a riverside view. Unfortunately, the view is totally obstructed by trees and bungalows so it's impossible to see the river. The room was ok but not as expected from the photographs on Agoda. The building work taking place was an eyesore but this couldn't be avoided and didn't actually affect our stay.

The hotel is well located within short distance of the 'madness' further in town but far enough away to be quiet enough for a good nights sleep.

Our room was opposite the reception and was quite noisy in the mornings. The accommodation resembled more of a backpackers but with hotel prices. I suppose this is in keeping with Vang .

Overall comfortable accommodation if not slightly overpriced

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheUK81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

I enjoyed my stay here but it was a little expensive. The cable tv included in the price does not have any English channels which isn't a huge problem given the amount of outdoor activities on offer. The aircon was good, rooms were clean and all rooms appear to have a balcony. The hotel is being extended but there was minimal noise from the building site. Quiet location.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonifacio, France
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Apres ma mauvaise experience duThavisouk hotel and resort , j'ai essaye la Vilayvong ghesthouse ' chat echaude craint l'eau froide ' , pour 6oo baths ou 150.000 kips , les prestations sont parfaites .

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philippe b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

After our excellent stay in Khamvongsa in Vientiane, we felt somewhat let down by Vilayvong, which charges the same price as Khamvongsa. Ongoing construction work flanked three sides of the hotel! Once the drilling and banging got underway, it became really noisy and I doubt anyone could sleep late. Luckily, we'd earlier on requested for a quiet room with a view upstairs, and were given a room that somewhat fits the description (we could still hear the drilling, etc. but it was not as loud). Although construction on our side of the building had been temporarily stopped, the upcoming structure obscured some of the mountain views that we wanted. We were also a little put out that the staff had tried to push us to the downstairs room close to all the construction work and it was only when we protested that they brought us to the upstairs room. The room was quite clean and we could sleep at night when all was quiet again, but breakfast was a disappointing affair, just baguette, butter and jam with 3-in-1 instant coffee. We visited the chalets across the bridge and they cost half of what Vilayvong charged and it's truly quiet and peaceful there.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sayang11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vang Vieng hotels

NA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2011

Visited: November 2010

We were walk-in guests and stayed one night. We stayed in a room on the upper floor with a balcony. The room was clean and spacious with good air conditioning and nice wood floors. Instead of a closet, there was a rack which can be handy for airing out clothes and drying towels. The bathroom was basic--it's the type that doesn't have a shower curtain and indoor flip flops can come in handy if you don't want to go barefoot on the wet bathroom tile floors. The bed sheets were basic quality, but clean. The view of the river and mountains through the windows or from the balcony was gorgeous, especially waking up to it in the morning. Wifi was not accessible from our room, but it was available downstairs. The main part of town was about a 5-minute walk. Overall, it was a good accommodation option for our stay in Vang Vieng and I would recommend a room on the upper floor with a balcony.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank concorde20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ubud
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2011

we stayed four nights and found our room to be spacious,clean and comfortable enough.There is currrently building work on three sides and it does start early before 8 so pack some ear plugs.Location good not too far from town centre . No breakfast but plenty of places to eat so no worries.Decent enough rate on agoda maybe compare with hotel rate.We were happy to stay here and dont think you would go too wrong staying here.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jan497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.2 mi away
Vieng Tara Villa
Vieng Tara Villa
#3 of 23 in Vang Vieng
190 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mountain View Riverside Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
#5 of 23 in Vang Vieng
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 23 in Vang Vieng
195 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jammee Guest House
Jammee Guest House
#17 of 98 in Vang Vieng
230 reviews
0.0 mi away
Phou Ang Kham 2 Hotel
Phou Ang Kham 2 Hotel
#35 of 98 in Vang Vieng
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vilayvong Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vilayvong Guesthouse

Property: Vilayvong Guesthouse
Address: Ban Vieng Keo, Vang Vieng 1003, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Vang Vieng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vilayvong Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Vilayvong Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing