We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A haven of peace and beauty”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vang Vieng Eco Lodge
Ranked #42 of 96 Vang Vieng B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A haven of peace and beauty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2010

Although not a true "Eco Lodge" this was a lovely little place on the Mekong that offered silence, serenity and beautiful butterflies! It is out of town so be prepared to pay for tuk-tuk's but well worth the extra transport to escape the takiness of Vang Vieng. The riverside restuarant made lovely food and it was quite amazing to sit and eat and watch the locals come down to the river to wash and do laundry. It made the experience far more authentic.
The breakfast was very good and the rooms spacious. The only downside was no air conditioning and no hot water, however a very effective ceiling fan and incredibly warm days meant neither of these were a major issue. The staff were friendly and helpful and becuase it was off-peak we paid very little for a room each (luxury!).

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessiShep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    14
    5
    5
    2
See reviews for
2
21
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Aussie in London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2010

I stayed here two nights and I would definitely stay here again. It is not an eco lodge in the traditional sense. The rooms were basic but clean and comfortable. The bathroom is separated from the bedroom by a thin partition only so not much privacy but that didn't bother us. It is about a 15 minute tuk tuk ride out of town but it was nice to get away from the town which is quite ugly. The eco lodge was quiet and relaxed, this place is right on the river and there was only one other couple and a family staying there when we were there. The villagers all come down to fish, clean, swim in the river so we got a taste of how the locals live. We hired a motorbike from the owner of the eco-lodge for a reasonable price so we could check out the tubing and have dinner in town, use internet etc. The food they serve in the restaurant was also cheap and tasty and the breakfasts, included in the price were also nice.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussiewheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
313 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2010

This place is a gem. Its not easy to get to, but worth the trip. If you have a car or motorbike, then you will be in heaven! The bungalows are so nice, really well designed, I felt like I was staying in the swiss alps instead of in Laos! They were built so well, great deck overlooking the river below and amazing mountains in front of you, truely incredible! The bungalows were nicely designed with huge vaulted celings, and a nice bathroom, even with hot water! It was so peaceful out there, it was paradise! The location is a little isolated, but that is what I was looking for, so it was perfect! I took a cab , back in forth to town , but it was around 35, 000 kip each way, so that can add up if you dont have your own transportation. It was past a local village, which was a nice change from the party scene in Vang Vieng. The restaurant was good, the staff sweet, and the manager helpful and spoke great english. They even had a couple river tubes for us to float around the river in front. I just loved hanging out on my deck and admiring the amazing scenery. The beds were sooo comfortable, and one of the quietest nights sleep I had on my trip. There were a few visiting large Geckos and lizards , they wont hurt you, its their home too! :) Great Romantic spot just outside of town, less than 15 minutes! And I paid $20 for the best bungalow, included breakfast :)

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elizacass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Echo Lodge for the first part of our honeymoon. We absolutely loved it! Here is a place where you can soak up the breath-taking scenery and enjoy seeing the local people do life in a way that is so foreign to us tourists. You go to bed and wake up to the sound of rushing water and are greeted every morning with the stunning peaks of Laos. It may be 7km out of town but it is well worth it if you like to escape the noise of Western living which seems to be taking over Vang Vieng (after all isn't that why we go to visit other countries?). You can hire a motorbike off the owner for US$8 and that will get you back and forth safely when you do want to get out in the town. The staff go out of their way to help. Our bike ran out of fuel one night and one of the staff on their night off drove past us and ended up coming back to help after he dropped off his girlfriend. He pumped fuel from his bike to fill ours so we could get home.

The owner is lovely and her two children adorable. They were always willing to help at whatever capacity. This is the place to go if you want to experience the best of both worlds. We both highly recommend you stay here!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calvinrtaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2009

If you're interested in drinking whiskey that costs less than bottled water and watching endless re-runs of Family Guy and Friends, then perhaps you should stay in Vang Vieng town.

But if you'd like to stay in peaceful surroundings by the river, then Vieng Samai Ego Lodge is for you! A peaceful hidden gem, where a swim in the river is only a few paces from the restaurant (which, of course, serves wonderful Lao food).

The owner (and her 4 year old niece) were delightful... as were the basic, but beautiful bungalows - furnished in traditional Lao style. We stayed in a river view bungalow and it was absolutely fantastic.

Also, as the Eco Lodge is at the end of Ban Vieng Samai (Vieng Samai village), there's plenty of opportunity for interaction with the locals.

The downside is, the 7km trip to Vang Vieng can be costly as a falang... but if, like me, you value beautiful surroundings at a very reasonable price (around $20USD per bungalow per night as of late 2009), then don't hesitate to stay here - you won't be disappointed! This was one of the best places, in my opinion, that I have ever stayed at!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.0 mi away
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
#6 of 21 in Vang Vieng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vieng Tara Villa
Vieng Tara Villa
#4 of 21 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bountang Hotel & Guesthouse
Bountang Hotel & Guesthouse
#50 of 96 in Vang Vieng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Champalao The Villa
Champalao The Villa
#28 of 96 in Vang Vieng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.0 mi away
Laos Haven Hotel
Laos Haven Hotel
#2 of 96 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vilayvong Guesthouse
Vilayvong Guesthouse
#20 of 96 in Vang Vieng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vang Vieng Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vang Vieng Eco Lodge

Property: Vang Vieng Eco Lodge
Address: Ban Vieng Samai | 7km north of Vang Vieng., Vang Vieng 0100, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Vang Vieng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vang Vieng Eco Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vang Vieng Eco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing