We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vang Vieng Eco Lodge
Ranked #43 of 100 Vang Vieng B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Stayed here one night recently. Some 7 Km away from the hustle and bustle of Vang Vieng this is an oasis of calm. Great little cottages, 25 $ a night (high season), great view, right on the river, the place is fantastic. Don’t expect high standard but decent enough to make you feel very comfortable. You can also start your kayaking tour right from the place. Fully recommended.

Room Tip: All have mountain/river view, all are great. You can also sleep in a tent for 10$ pp/pn if you want...
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barnskybeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
There are newer reviews for Vang Vieng Eco Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 37 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2011

This place is a fair way away from Vang Vieng town (around 7km), and that could cause a problem for those without transport, though the staff can arrange it for you also. The huts are fairly basic, but hot water, mossie net and a fan are there.
What really sets this place apart is the view and the peace with the river gurgling away in front of the balcony, we loved it.
at 25usd is is quite expensive for what you get, but if peace and quiet in a stunning location are your thing then this is a great option.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rikitikitavi-kampot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

I stayed here twice going to and from Luang Prabang. It is basic accommodation in a scenic location. Can hardly be called "eco-lodge". Given options of accomm in and around Vang Vieng it is a decent enough choice for a 1 night stay.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Taystravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2010

First of al this is a very good location if you want a great view and a quiet stay.
The eco lodge is 7 km out of town and so you can avoid the party’s to 5 am. The staff is very helpful, but only one speaks English and that is enough. Be patient and everything is easy to go.
The staff can arrange a tuk tuk to city centre for about 40.000 kip (one way). Back the prices are a bit higher, maybe 50.000 kip.

We had a bungalow and it was not very new anymore, but with muscitonet and balcony. You can get breakfast, lunch and diner at the eco lodge and drinks can be served at your bungalow (food we didn’t try).

The construction is still going on and that is the reason why our stay ended not that good. On our last night there was no water in the bungalow. After a day of tubing you want a nice shower, but ok there was no water and it will be fixed the next morning (the day we are leaving). Next morning there was no water in the bungalow and it couldn’t be fixed before we left.

it could be a 4 star review if the water was working, because of the view and the quiet stay. The bungalows are a bit high priced. Ask for the bungalow with the best view.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bosbreur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2010

We loved our stay here. The location is gorgeous and the balconies overlooking the river were great. The restaurant does great food, check out the red curry.
The rooms are VERY basic - we only had one working light bulb and that was after pointing out that none were working.
It was probably a bit overpriced for what it was, but after the tacky madness of Vang Vieng it was a welcome relief.
I'd only recommend staying here if you want to do nothing for a couple of days. Make sure you have a good book!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex_Sonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2010

We arrived in Vang Vieng after dark by bus. Tuk Tuk driver did not want to take us there. Another wanted 80,000 for the trip. We nogotiated down to 60,0000. We were met by a cheerful woman at the lodge who showed us to our bungalow. We had a nice dinner at the lodge. The next morning there was no one around to help lwith travel arrangements. the waitress called someone from her family to take us to town. There were no motorbikes to be rented as we expected. We just did not realize how remote this site was.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WhyDel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2010

We pre-booked our bungalow before arriving Vang Vieng. This is not recommended as there are several good offers at arrival. Eco lodge is too far from the centre to walk, so you need to take a tuk-tuk, cost about 40.000 one way. Good rooms with air condition in the city have a price around 80-120.000. Its not very economical to book a bungalow here. But the positive sides, a great view of the river and you feel like you are blending in with the local village. They are renovating the place a bit at the moment, maybe both kitchen and restaurant area will look better in the future?

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KSS19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.0 mi away
Ban Sabai Riverside Bungalow
Ban Sabai Riverside Bungalow
#11 of 25 in Vang Vieng
292 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vieng Tara Villa
Vieng Tara Villa
#4 of 25 in Vang Vieng
197 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mountain View Riverside Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Champalao The Villa
Champalao The Villa
#23 of 100 in Vang Vieng
65 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vilayvong Guesthouse
Vilayvong Guesthouse
#28 of 100 in Vang Vieng
128 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vang Vieng Organic Farm
Vang Vieng Organic Farm
#28 of 53 in Vang Vieng
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vang Vieng Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vang Vieng Eco Lodge

Address: Ban Vieng Samai | 7km north of Vang Vieng., Vang Vieng 0100, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Vang Vieng
Price Range: $18 - $54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Vang Vieng Eco Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Vang Vieng Eco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing