We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views but that's about it.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mountain Riverview Guesthouse
Ranked #49 of 101 Vang Vieng B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Pros:
-Really incredible views - leaving the windows open and waking up to a view of the mountains was pretty special.
-Nice wooden interior to the hotel.
-Decent bed/room quality for the price.
-Good location at the northern end of the town, near the island.

Cons:
-Absent/unfriendly/unhelpful staff.
-The person who checked us in did not speak any English, called someone else who got on the phone to me, asked whether I booked twin or double, and A/C or fan - I told him - the lady then escorted us to a room with the opposite bed choice to what I had asked, and an A/C that didn't work.
-Wi-Fi only worked in the lobby.
-Shower was broken so that you had to hold it with one hand in order to shower.
-The broken A/C and extractor fan that opened up to the mountains made me worry that mosquitos could get into the room pretty easily.
-Bathroom had an ant infestation on the final night.

Overall, at 200,000kip, the room was not the worst value in the world since we booked for views and location and it delivered on both counts. It's just a shame that there is no proper staffing here, no one to help you with any queries or even check you into the correct room, etc. Plus the bathrooms are in need of repair and I can't see the owners caring much at all.

Despite the wonderful views, if I return to Vang Vieng I will seek an alternative guesthouse. I would not recommend Mountain Riverview and will definitely never stay there again.

Room Tip: 2nd or 3rd floor, with a mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spangove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 48 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2013

This guest house has a view of where the river splits around the island. Quiet, is only interupted by the Buddhist chants from the nearby temple and an occassional rooster crow. The guest house has lovely teak wook throught, from stair cases, floors, furniturebe, balconies with sitting areas This is a family run hotel, so sometimes the desk is only staffed by teenagers, but they will call big brother to get the help you may need. Water and coffee is provided in the lobby. Away from the main strip, but easy walking distance to food, and the morning market. The bed and pillows were a little hard like most of Asia and is that the air conditioner is a little noisy. Overall Hotel quality at backpacker prices

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor with a riverview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

The Mountain Riverview Guesthouse is definately great value for money. It is a very modern guesthouse with cable TV, hot water, and air conditioning, The rooms are big, airy, and clean, and each room has a nice balcony with chairs to relax on and either enjoy the river and mountain views or the passing parade on the street. While we were there, pricing was 80,000 no a/c, 100,000 a/c for the streetview, and 20,000 extra for the same on the river-mountain view side of the complex. The staff are very friendly here and are willing to help you with tour bookings and onward mini bus tickets. The WiFi is also very strong in all the rooms.
Even though this guesthouse is close to all of the action, the rooms are surprisingly very quiet. We stayed here for 4 nights and would recommend this place for a nice relaxing stay in Vang Vieng.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same, but if you think the river/mountain view is worth the extra 20,000, then go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robinchina2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Pros:
- Great views if you are on the river/mountain side.
- Good price. The mountain view rooms are just 20,000 kip more than the street view and worth it. The best part of the room is looking out the window or sitting on the balcony enjoying the view. 80,000 kip for fan, 110,000 kip for a/c on the river/mountain side for a double room.
- Nice sized room. Clean.
- Hot shower.
- Wifi in the building and on the 3rd floor (I didn't see a router on the 2nd floor). Staff told us there wasn't wifi on the 3rd floor, but there was. It didn't always work, but it was ok most of the time.
- Location: its a great view but a few minutes walk from the heart of the action, so you can sleep at night because it isn't loud.

Cons:
- Rooms aren't cleaned during the stay and you must ask for more toilet paper/soap.
- Wifi spotty (see above).

Other:
- Staff didn't seem friendly, but they weren't rude either.

I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay on the mountain/river view side - its the whole point of coming to Vang Vieng.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liveinchina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We spent 3 nights there. The rooms are spacious and clean, big comfortable bed. The bathroom was ok, the sink was leaking a bit. Good value (60.000kip/night).
The staff was a little shy but very nice.
The hotel is about 5 Min walking distance to the city center, so it´s quite quiet during nighttime but still in a good location.
For a little more money you could also have a room with riverview.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilahk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

It's a very clean and pleasant atmosphere. This is the only place we have ever stayed in Vang Vieng having visited there the first time in 2011 and then twice in 2012. We stayed on the river view side the first time and the street side the last two times Both sides are excellent!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gyobam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I can be short & positive about my stay at Mountain River View Guesthouse. The room was spacious and clean for a very good price and the view was fantastic. I recommend this place. Well done, keep up the good job!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with balcony on the river side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrTravelAllAround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.1 mi away
Mountain View Riverside Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 26 in Vang Vieng
217 reviews
0.6 mi away
Vilayvong Guesthouse
Vilayvong Guesthouse
#50 of 101 in Vang Vieng
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Riverside Boutique Resort
Riverside Boutique Resort
#1 of 26 in Vang Vieng
752 reviews
0.6 mi away
Vieng Tara Villa
Vieng Tara Villa
#3 of 26 in Vang Vieng
216 reviews
0.2 mi away
Keosimoon Guesthouse
Keosimoon Guesthouse
#13 of 101 in Vang Vieng
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Riverview Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Riverview Guesthouse

Address: 5 Mins Walk North Of Town Near The River, Vang Vieng 1003, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in Vang Vieng
Price Range: $35 - $38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountain Riverview Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mountain Riverview Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Riverview Guesthouse Hotel Vang Vieng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing