We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Phoomchai Guesthouse
Ranked #7 of 96 Vang Vieng B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bamberg, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2014

we changed after one night in another hotel to phoomchai because for half of the price we found everything we needed. spacious proper bungalows, little nice terrace and especially a warm, helpfully owner. no luxury accommodation but great value for the money.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Christoph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    37
    14
    5
    0
See reviews for
3
54
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Krnov, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
93 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014

We have stayed in Vang Vieng just for one day, as we have been too disturbed by the destruction of quiet and charming Lao culture in this town, happy pizza offers and drunk people creeping along the roads. Therefore we likely cannot justify our accomodation seriously. Anyway, smiling friendly owner warmly welcomed us and brought us to more than basic smelly bungalows with broken washbasin and not functional wi-fi. But the room itself was clean, as well as linen and the towels. The charm of Phoomchai guesthouse is in the quiet location, close to the restaurants in the „city centre“, possibility to meet the other travellers in open lobby and having a chat with always helpful and entertaining staff. If you are on very tight budget, this friendly place could be exactly what you look for.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Miroslav_Kozelsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vientiane, Laos
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

Do not stay here.

Or if you do; do not use their "safety box" because the staff will steal your money from your safety bag. They didn't even care to fix things.

Otherwise, the room was tolerable for two nights, if a few spiders or gang of ants don't bother you.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Milla897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at Phoomchai for 4 nights and couldnt have asked for a better place in Vang Vieng. It is a little bit off the rowdy tourist area (10 Minutes walk, no problem), so it is really quiet and calm at night. Rooms are nice and clean and at 60.000(fan only, 100for AC), a great value. Really liked the two guys working there. They got me a motorbike without the hassle you have to go thru in Vang Vieng, took care of everything I asked and even got up to watch the World Cup at 5:00am with me. Really friendly and energetic guys with great english. Also, the WiFi worked fine in my room despite what earlier reviews indicate. Would definitely recommed it, especially after seeing rooms for the same price in the middle of the party area which BY FAR worse.

Thanks guys, hope you will keep cheering for Germany!!

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
6 Thank THammerBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the phoomchai guesthouse for two nights and we enjoyed it. The staff was very friendly and helpfull. We had a a/c room for 100.000 kip and it was simple, but clean and big. It is located five minutes walk from the centre, so that was fine.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Aimy I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

A great place and value just on the edge of the backpacker hustle and bustle. These little bungalows are spacious, clean, and have a front patio with a table and chairs. The price was super reasonable and the owner was great. He arranged to have motorcycle dropped off for us (no passport required) and made sure that our stay was perfect. Wi-fi is not available in rooms, but it’s available in the restaurant/reception area. No breakfast, but they do have water, tea, coffee, and fruit for free all day long. We enjoyed our stay here and would definitely go back. More on our backpacking trip in SE Asia at www.thetaleoftwotings.com

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TravelingTings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

Phoom Chai has a lot of potential - quiet location off the main road but close enough to walk to all the shops, restaurants, etc. The gardens are absolutely lovely, and it's a fairly quiet location. The bungalows are spacious, especially the bathroom with plenty of hot water.

However, there is hardly any furniture - a bed, a very small desk w/ a chair, and a table. Would help to have a wardrobe or something to hang up and store clothes. Also, nightstands would be very helpful so you don't have to put glasses and things on the floor and risk stepping on them. Second issue was the air con, which cost us an extra $5/night. It didn't work, and it was over 100 degrees, so we opened our windows. The owner commented on our windows being opened and asked if the air con was working. When we said no, he just laughed dismissively. He made no attempt to fix it or offer to give us the $5/night back that we paid for it (typical customer service for this part of the world but still annoying). Third issue, as others have said, is the WIFI, which was spotty at best in our room, though we were close to reception. This has been a problem for us everywhere in Laos so it's not just Phoom Chai, but I hope it will start to improve. Connectivity is very important to travelers, as we need to book hotels, flights, do research, and some of us need to work while on the road.

Overall, Phoom Chai is a decent choice and looked nicer than some of the other places in town, which looked downright dank. With some improvements, could be great!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WanderrlustAdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.1 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 21 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vieng Tara Villa
Vieng Tara Villa
#4 of 21 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.1 mi away
Laos Haven Hotel
Laos Haven Hotel
#2 of 96 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pan's Place
Pan's Place
#6 of 96 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maylay Guesthouse
Maylay Guesthouse
#9 of 96 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riverside Boutique Resort
Riverside Boutique Resort
#1 of 21 in Vang Vieng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoomchai Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoomchai Guesthouse

Property: Phoomchai Guesthouse
Address: Viengkeo Village, Vang Vieng 1003, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Vang Vieng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Phoomchai Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing