We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Phoomchai Guesthouse
Nearby Hotels
$211
$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vieng Tara Villa(Vang Vieng)
$83
$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
$50
$36
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inthira Vang Vieng(Vang Vieng)
$102
$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vangvieng Homestay(Vang Vieng)
$25
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$41
$30
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$33
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$48
$40
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$25
$20
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
$32
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (106)
Filter reviews
106 results
Traveler rating
50
37
14
5
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
50
37
14
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe ownerfree coffee and bananashot showermin walkquiet locationclose to townnice gardenmain areapleasant staystayed here for nightsguesthousevangviengbungalowbusticketslaosnoise
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 106 reviews
Reviewed May 30, 2014

A great place and value just on the edge of the backpacker hustle and bustle. These little bungalows are spacious, clean, and have a front patio with a table and chairs. The price was super reasonable and the owner was great. He arranged to have motorcycle dropped off for us (no passport required) and made sure that our stay was perfect. Wi-fi is not available in rooms, but it’s available in the restaurant/reception area. No breakfast, but they do have water, tea, coffee, and fruit for free all day long. We enjoyed our stay here and would definitely go back. More on our backpacking trip in SE Asia at www.thetaleoftwotings.com

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TravelingTings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Phoom Chai has a lot of potential - quiet location off the main road but close enough to walk to all the shops, restaurants, etc. The gardens are absolutely lovely, and it's a fairly quiet location. The bungalows are spacious, especially the bathroom with plenty of hot water.

However, there is hardly any furniture - a bed, a very small desk w/ a chair, and a table. Would help to have a wardrobe or something to hang up and store clothes. Also, nightstands would be very helpful so you don't have to put glasses and things on the floor and risk stepping on them. Second issue was the air con, which cost us an extra $5/night. It didn't work, and it was over 100 degrees, so we opened our windows. The owner commented on our windows being opened and asked if the air con was working. When we said no, he just laughed dismissively. He made no attempt to fix it or offer to give us the $5/night back that we paid for it (typical customer service for this part of the world but still annoying). Third issue, as others have said, is the WIFI, which was spotty at best in our room, though we were close to reception. This has been a problem for us everywhere in Laos so it's not just Phoom Chai, but I hope it will start to improve. Connectivity is very important to travelers, as we need to book hotels, flights, do research, and some of us need to work while on the road.

Overall, Phoom Chai is a decent choice and looked nicer than some of the other places in town, which looked downright dank. With some improvements, could be great!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WanderrlustAdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

Spent a few nights here while travelling Laos. The guy who runs the place is really friendly and at $20 a night the rooms are quite reasonable. Big rooms with Aircon and a fan. Bathroom is also big and windows are fitted with mosquito shields. It's a 10 minute walk into the 'lively' part of town and there are a few cheap local Lao, Thai and Indian food places just outside. Would stay here again.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Gareth44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

The rooms here are bungalow-style and are lovely, clean and comfortable. The hot shower is good. You get a balcony which is nice to sit on as the surrounding garden is beautiful. The wifi worked well in our room, we had a room close to the reception area so this might be why. The man who runs this place is very friendly and helpful. You can organise tours and transport here too, although prices seem to be more expensive than other tour agencies. Location is 5-10 mins walk from main part of VV so it's nice and quiet. Really enjoyed our stay here, can't think of any negatives.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dave_Basia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Phoomchai guesthouse is lovely, peaceful little bungalows around a garden. It is a little walk from the 'main strip' which is good, trust me. The owner was very helpful with arranging our bus. If we ever HAD to return to Vang Vieng, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank KatyandAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews