We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Safe and chilled place in Vangvieng madness” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Phoomchai Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Phoomchai Guesthouse
Ranked #7 of 96 Vang Vieng B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Safe and chilled place in Vangvieng madness”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

We paid 75,000 kip a night for a huge twin beach style hut with huge bathroom and aircon! Location wise it is a 5 min walk tops to the main street where you get tubes and 3 mins from Malany and Irish Pub so ideal for us. I felt safe there which after hearing a lot of horror stories about break ins and stuff getting stolen from rooms was important!
Mike the owners son is lovely speaks great English and really helpful with any questios he even translated my friends new tattoo from English to Laos for her bless!
Always free tea, coffee, water and bananas in reception. Also free wifi and Mike lets customers use his laptop!
Great place to stay

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TallulahPickles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    36
    14
    5
    0
See reviews for
3
52
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

Loay is a great host, prices are cheap, around $11 for a room with an en suite, including tea, coffee, water and and all the bananas you can eat isn't bad wherever you are in the world. No restaurant, but there are plenty in Vang Vieng. Loay let my wife take over the kitchen (wood fires) to make a meal, we threw a party for everyone staying there for my milestone birthday. They should give Loay a pay rise as he made the place for us....the owner himself didnt speak english... As documented, a few minutes walk to the action, but for us that was a bonus so we werent sleep deprived..

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Arthur G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
66 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

Nice room clean and quiet not too far from city only 10 minutes walk .Staff very nice espcially Pookie Haha I miss you so much.Provide free wifi.That is enougjt for me. and price not too expensive I been there for 2 times. I will stay there agian for sure if I go to Vangvieng.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Phatsawat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wijk bij Duurstede, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2010

We stayed in in one of the stone bungalows; a 3-bed room with A/C, perfect for two adults and two children. I think around 110.000 KIP per night. Sober, but clean. Each bungalow has a small verandah which is nice to sit. There is an open area where the reception is, with chairs and tables. Drinks can be bought from the guesthouse. Around the corner is a restaurant for breakfast and other meals. The guesthouse is a bit further away from the "maddening crowd" (+/- 5 min walk), which makes it pleasant to stay if you don't want to be part of the young, rowdy crowd.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mimosa95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2010

Checked in 21/08/10, as the reviews seemed great. First room was fine, until we tried sleeping and we wore woken by loud banging outside coupled with security flashing torches into the room. Staff were helpful as we felt unsafe and asked to move. Second room was infested with ants, bed bugs coupled with a broken shower and woodworm in the roof (leaving dust on your bed)
Left our bags and checked in to somewhere else, yet management still wanted half the room price the next morning.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vivas88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2010

Went owing to the reviews on here. We had a double aircon room for 70,000 kip per night with private bathroom and constant hot water. The room was brand new and large, with fly mesh on the windows as well. They are spotlessly clean and quiet at night. The owner even gave us free fresh fruit from his garden. They also have free tea/coffee in the morning.

It's about a 5 minute walk to the main bars but there are others and restaurants very close by.

Would go back for sure.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank appro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2010

A pretty place to stay, just outside of busy town area so nice and quiet. Helpful staff, free coffee, tea and fruit for breakfast. Spacious, clean secure rooms. Good room rates.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PinkvanEssen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.1 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 20 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vieng Tara Villa
Vieng Tara Villa
#4 of 20 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.1 mi away
Laos Haven Hotel
Laos Haven Hotel
#2 of 96 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Pan's Place
Pan's Place
#6 of 96 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riverside Boutique Resort
Riverside Boutique Resort
#1 of 20 in Vang Vieng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maylay Guesthouse
Maylay Guesthouse
#9 of 96 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoomchai Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoomchai Guesthouse

Property: Phoomchai Guesthouse
Address: Viengkeo Village, Vang Vieng 1003, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Vang Vieng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Phoomchai Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing