We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean and quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Phoomchai Guesthouse
Ranked #7 of 98 Vang Vieng B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“clean and quiet”
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Nice room clean and quiet not too far from city only 10 minutes walk .Staff very nice espcially Pookie Haha I miss you so much.Provide free wifi.That is enougjt for me. and price not too expensive I been there for 2 times. I will stay there agian for sure if I go to Vangvieng.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Phatsawat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    37
    14
    5
    0
See reviews for
3
55
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wijk bij Duurstede, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2010

We stayed in in one of the stone bungalows; a 3-bed room with A/C, perfect for two adults and two children. I think around 110.000 KIP per night. Sober, but clean. Each bungalow has a small verandah which is nice to sit. There is an open area where the reception is, with chairs and tables. Drinks can be bought from the guesthouse. Around the corner is a restaurant for breakfast and other meals. The guesthouse is a bit further away from the "maddening crowd" (+/- 5 min walk), which makes it pleasant to stay if you don't want to be part of the young, rowdy crowd.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mimosa95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2010

Checked in 21/08/10, as the reviews seemed great. First room was fine, until we tried sleeping and we wore woken by loud banging outside coupled with security flashing torches into the room. Staff were helpful as we felt unsafe and asked to move. Second room was infested with ants, bed bugs coupled with a broken shower and woodworm in the roof (leaving dust on your bed)
Left our bags and checked in to somewhere else, yet management still wanted half the room price the next morning.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vivas88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2010

Went owing to the reviews on here. We had a double aircon room for 70,000 kip per night with private bathroom and constant hot water. The room was brand new and large, with fly mesh on the windows as well. They are spotlessly clean and quiet at night. The owner even gave us free fresh fruit from his garden. They also have free tea/coffee in the morning.

It's about a 5 minute walk to the main bars but there are others and restaurants very close by.

Would go back for sure.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank appro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2010

A pretty place to stay, just outside of busy town area so nice and quiet. Helpful staff, free coffee, tea and fruit for breakfast. Spacious, clean secure rooms. Good room rates.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PinkvanEssen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavan, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2010

We were looking for one of the other guest houses when the owner of this place chased us on his motorbike and persauded us into coming to look at a room. As we were very hot and tired and carrying heavy bags, in a moment of weakness we let him bundle our rucksacks on his motorbike and followed him.

Anyway it turned out to be our lucky day. He gave us a choice between one of his concrete chalet rooms or a wee bungalow for around 6 euros between us. We stayed in the chalet room and it was new clean and comfortable. You had to pay a bit more for AC but there was no need for it the night we stayed.

The owner helped us to organise our onward bus tickets and was very nice and friendly.

Also, this little place is out of the way of the main town (about 5-10mins walk) which in Vang Vieng is a good thing as it's a party town for backpackers and can get noisy.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Josken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2010

We turned up here (without reservations) based solely on the reviews on Tripadvisor. We were not disappointed.

The rooms are very clean and spacious (seem very new). The staff, in particular the owner, helped with any requests we had and are very friendly.

The guest house is a little way from central Vang Vieng but easily walkable (10 mins or so). This has the advantage of making it a quieter location which is no bad thing in this town.

An ace place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.1 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 23 in Vang Vieng
195 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mountain View Riverside Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
#5 of 23 in Vang Vieng
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pan's Place
Pan's Place
#6 of 98 in Vang Vieng
348 reviews
0.1 mi away
Laos Haven Hotel
Laos Haven Hotel
#2 of 98 in Vang Vieng
590 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thavonsouk Resort
Thavonsouk Resort
#11 of 23 in Vang Vieng
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoomchai Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoomchai Guesthouse

Property: Phoomchai Guesthouse
Address: Viengkeo Village, Vang Vieng 1003, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Vang Vieng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing