We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vang Vieng
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bansuan Riverview Bungalows
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
532 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Beautiful views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

Located a 2 minute walk from the town across a bridge you fell like you are deep in the country when you wake up. I stayed in a bungalow facing the main river opposite the cliffs. Some bungalows face the smaller river and face the back of the bars.

Rooms are large and clean. Only ever had mildly warm water in the shower. There is a restaurant to sit outside in the sun and relax.

Probably the $25 is overpriced for VV but it's nice to wake up to a beautiful view.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martynsnook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    8
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
6
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Myself and my fiance stayed here for two nights in June 13. Being low season it was quiet in Vang Vieng so no noise travelled to our bungalow at night. It's distance from the main tourist high street is good about 5 mins and on the island banks of the river.

Our bungalow (9A) had a lovely balcony and view of the river and cliffs. The room was basic but ok. It had a double bed, TV, air con and fan with a private bathroom with hot water. The room doesn't come with breakfast. We paid 100,000 kip per night which is ok value for Vang Vieng, although I think there are cheaper places elsewhere but I'm sure the quality will be just as bad.

Sadly the bathroom smelled pretty awful, I think it was to do with the drain in the bathroom. But it was ok for a couple of nights. There is also no furniture other than the bed in the room so nothing to put you bits and bobs onto. Being a bungalow the ants love to visit and since all your stuff has to be on the floor the ants get into everything.

The ladies made our bed after our first night which was good but they didn't clean at all.

Overall I would say these are great bungalows if you want a fantastic view but that's all. Only stay if you're a backpacker and are not too bothered about the smelly bathroom and dirty room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Myself and a group of friends travelled around Asia and ended up here when we hit Laos. We are aged in our mid twenties and did not have any partners with us so it was a boys trip. Cant say i would recommend it for children as your are dangerously cose to the river. The location was as good as it gets - right at the end of tubing when you get out of the river and amongst it all. It is a bit of a hike to get there from the front "office" so hopefully you havent packed too heavy as the walk way is broken rock and you do have to cross a bridge. The rooms were clean and the air con worked although the shower in our room wasnt the best. We stayed in the first group of rooms as u walk in and they were definitely alot older compared to the others. Its cheap and a decent place to stay and the food whilst it wasnt outstanding it did the job every morning. For anyone who has not travelled to these types of countries before just learn to enjoy it! you read reviews from people stating how terrible everything is when they have payed $10 a night in a third world country! The views here are amazing so get out and tube down the river (stay safe) meet all the fellow travellers and embrace it. Sit up in the bungalows at night and take in the views and enjoy 40 cent beers. We made some great friends whilst there and really wished we stayed longer. The only downside was the power frequently went out from about 10am to 3pm every day but once you were used to it, it just became funny and suddenly buying a beer out of an eski on the side of the road was the thing to be doing. If you are young head to Fat Monkey at night, you wont regret it. Also hit the aussie bar and let the topless guy take care of you - legend.

TIPS: *pack light
* take alot of insect repellant
* get up and shower early before the power cuts out
*DO NOT LET THE LITTLE KIDS TAKE YOUR MONEY WHEN TUBING, THEY WILL TRY AND TELL YOU THE RIVER HAS ENDED AND TAKE YOU TO SHORE.
*Do tip them at the very end though, they are great fun and deserve it.

Enjoy.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

It took us ten minutes to walk from the bus-station to this guesthouse. This guesthouse shares the same reception with another guesthouse, so do not get confused when you reach here. The reception is small and simple, not so friendly and speak only basic English.

We were led by another lady to the bungalows. The route was interesting that we had to pass through narrow alleys, bamboo bridges, buffalo path before we can reach our superb bungalows.

Once we reached here, we were amazed by the views here at the river front. The views here are just so fantastic that you dun feel like going out and just want to relax in the balcony, so nothing but waving to those kayaks & tubers passing by.

The bungalows are equipped with basic amenities, en-suite bathroom and a balcony with views onto the river & mountains. Bathroom is clean, basic, high water pressure with instant hot water shower and decorated with colorful tiles that blend well with the wooden panels of room. Room has comfortable beds, fan, fridge, six power points in which three of them are 24 hrs so that you can charge your gadgets while you were out on tours.

Location of this guesthouse is just perfect that you can find lots of restaurants and bars nearby. Internets, pharmacy, massages, shops, groceries, tour agents & tubing center are just within short walking distances. The only set back is there is a bit of noise from the bars opposite the river, but if you are not an early sleeper than it's OK cause they close at about 11 pm.

Breakfast is included, there is a wide selections from the menu that you can choose. We selected the American breakfast and it was so good, what's more if you can have such a nice breakfast next to a superb river view. In short, this place is just one of the best place in town with good value. If you cannot book this place or if you do not stay here, just drop by to have breakfast or lunch here, you'd love it!

Room Tip: Request for bungalow that faces the river and mountain but not bungalow that faces the smaller river...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TONYfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
176 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

Very romantic and quiet place in Vang Vieng. Its a bid adventorous to get there. One bridge was in flood water, the other did not look to assuring. But the room and the view from the deck make it worth it.
The breakfest was not spectacular, but then again in the price included was a full english or american breakfest. In some places you get a coffee and bread (my experience on this trip in another hotel).
But one thing was very ugly: you get this key with a big wooden key ring, so every evening I left it at the lobby (restaurant). Second day I came back 10:30... and no more restaurant, no more lobby. Nobody warned me when I gave the key at the lobby. By coincidence somebody came allong and helped me so I did not end up sleeping under the open sky becoming mosquito food. The owners acutally life in town and that is where they kept the keys.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Remnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2012

This is a little piece of paradise, but close to everything. The bungalows are on a little piece of island, just a walkway away from town. Get a bungalow facing the mountains and river. Don't let the tuk tuk driver divert you to another resort of similar name. This one is right in town, from the bus station down a right hand street in the middle of town. Bungalow's have their own verandah, fabulous views, no fridge but everything else is good. They have fabulous food at the restuarant and their breakfast which is included in the price us HUGE. Try the honey chicken. Is was a dream.

Room Tip: Get one facing the mountains and river. The back river views are facing a pretty stagnant branch of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2010

These bungalows are away from the craziness of the village centre, but only just ! Don't expect to be in an oasis of calm, but they are certainly peaceful and very green, with great views across the river.

Beware of people trying to divert you into their own bungalows - cashing in on the success of this place. This has been such a problem that sadly they have had to change their name from the one they are under in the LP and other guides - they were originally Le Jardin Organique which is a name which has been adopted by their new neighbours. Just make sure you get as close to the river before talking to anybody about staying at the Jardin. Yes the bungalows further away from the river which call themselves Le Jardin, are plusher, and these bungalows are no frills and rustic, but if you want to be true to Laos and not get ripped off, then saty here - this place deserves to do well since it was there first and has the best spot on the river. They also charge honest prices which is a very refreshing change for Laos.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HikingTone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.8 mi away
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
#3 of 21 in Vang Vieng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 21 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bountang Hotel & Guesthouse
Bountang Hotel & Guesthouse
#50 of 96 in Vang Vieng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Champa Lao
Champa Lao
#14 of 96 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.9 mi away
Vilayvong Guesthouse
Vilayvong Guesthouse
#20 of 96 in Vang Vieng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.0 mi away
Phou Ang Kham 2 Hotel
Phou Ang Kham 2 Hotel
#33 of 96 in Vang Vieng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bansuan Riverview Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bansuan Riverview Bungalows

Property: Bansuan Riverview Bungalows
Address: Viengkeo Village, Vang Vieng 1003, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Vang Vieng
Hotel Class:3 star — Bansuan Riverview Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing