We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.com$36
Travelocity$36
Orbitz.com$36
Tripadvisor$36
Hurb
StayForLong
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveler rating
3
26
21
8
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
3
26
21
8
13
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 71 reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights over Christmas 2012, I booked through booking.com in a rush as we were worried about availability over the Christmas period. I then read through the reviews on here and was left very confused as there are VERY different views.
The problem seems to be there are 3 hotels/guest-houses in the area with similar/the same name: there is this hotel, a guesthouse called Thavisouk Guesthouse (but I saw a couple of different spellings for this one on signs) and then a third that was called Thavisock which is quite far out of the main town!
I am reviewing the bungalows that are behind the main hotel building (in Thavisouk HOTEL), these were good little bungalows and had a brilliant view of the Nam Song river and the surrounding mountains. Great location - a couple of minutes walk from town and a stones throw from the bridge which takes you over to where the blue lagoon and caves are.
Breakfast was included and was a basic toast, eggs, sausage you get in most places - you did need to be quite prompt to get there before they put all the food away.
Wifi was available in the main building, hot water and tv in our bungalow and friendly staff on reception who booked cheap bus tickets for us.
Read these reviews carefully before making any decisions on this one - they need to sort out the name confusion!

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Previously i booked a bungallow by agoda, but unfortunately there's a bad smell from the restaurant (they throw some food on the land and never clean it), i complained to the staf. They tried to clean it, but it didn't help too much. Not all of the staffs can speak english, just one of two of them.
After cameback from blue lagoon, i decided to upgrade my room. So, i move to the hotel. The room is much better even the different of price is just usd 4 - usd 5.
Actually, this place has the best location. You can see the view of Nam Song Bridge and watching daily life of local people while eating some food in the restaurant. Bus and minivan from Viantiane will drop you here. They will have the new building soon and i think it will be more comfort to stay here next time

Room tip: if you are in budget and want to be closer to the Nam Song river, choose the bungallow beside the restaurant, it is just a few step from the river. Both Bungallow and hotel are belongs to the same owner. Early in the morning when you wake up and all the day you can see a good scenic from your room. But, if you need somewthing more comfort, then you better choose the hotel. Room near the pool is the best. From your hotel room, you can see a good view of bungallow and others
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lucyliestiyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I decided to tay at this hotel however I got a bungalow (not the main hotel which looks a lot nicer).

The bungalow was terrible, it was dirty and not in the slightest bit comfortable, It could do with a proper clean. The mattress even felt damp, the bathroom was disgusting, the power to the fridge didn't work and the staff were not very helpful.

Definitely wouldn't stay there again and just could not recommend this place compared to other hotels in SE Asia.

I'm sure the main hotel is a lot nicer, it couldn't be worse so my advice is if you are thinking of Thavisouk then avoid the bungalows !!!

Room tip: Avoid the bungalows!!
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ymmijg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed May 30, 2012 via mobile

We booked this hotel as it was abit out of the main town to be away from the standard craziness of Vang Vieng. The room was spacious and clean with a nice bathroom. The shower only went half way up the wall so you ha to crouch in the bath if you want a shower. We had a balcony out the back over looking the pool. The view is incredible!! If you plan on staying there the defenatly request a room at the back. We were told the were tea and coffee facilities on the room. The cups were discusting! The kettle was a different socket for the wall and there was no milk tea or coffee in sight! The main reason we stayed here was because of the wifi. This was broken and they seemed angry when we asked about it. One morning we decided to try the breakfast which was served untill 10 we went at 9;40 knowing we were cutting it abit but thought we ask. When we walked I and said if we can have breakfast they stared at us blankly then said no. Then a manger saw us an showed us to a table in the corner. Which was filthy! A girl came to ask what we wanted to drink we asked for 2 teas. We got coffee in the filthy mugs. We asked for a menu but were told no again! They brought is a plate of salad burnt fried eggs and uncooked bacon. We tried to get at least some ketchup. But no one was bothering with us so we got up and left. Not being rude as we Wales out we tried to say thank you buy they didn't even look at us! We were shocked to be treated in this way and to be honest would never stay here again. There building new rooms here. Good luck to them!

Date of stay: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davewithomson
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

I stayed here in August last year and it was a great hotel. The room was very comfortable and clean.

It is within walking distance of the town area and many other attractions.
One must understand that we are travelling to Laos, a land where not many have been before, so for whatever's worth, I really think that the place is great. Love it. :)

The only complaint I had was that I was there only for a week. :(, I wish I could have stayed longer. Other than that it was a great place and I will definitely stay there on my next visit to Vang Vieng.

Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelPassion_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews