We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad service.”
Review of Kangaroo Sunset Bar - CLOSED

Kangaroo Sunset Bar
Price range: $3 - $6
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Australian, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Bad service.”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I sat down and nobody bothered to take my order or ask if I wanted a drink in the half an hour I was there. So I left.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paperdavid1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussei, Owner at Kangaroo Sunset Bar, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
i apologise that you felt the service was poor but the 8th was woman's day here in Laos and we were closing to join our families for the celebration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    44
    24
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Burgers and great play list, no "DUFF DUFF DUFF!"”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Best burgers in town, Kao the owner really puts you at ease and make sure his "Girls" are attentive and orders come out on time! Good music, never too loud or repetitive, like many in Vang Vieng. Have eaten here 5 or more times x

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Over-rated, but worth a visit”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Same as so many other similar restaurants but a great outlook from the far end of the dining area. Dangerous cocktails. Good value.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank thaicondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kunming, China
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Getting decent western food in Laos is not the easiest thing. The menu is quite small compared to other places, which I think in most cases are a good thing as they try to make the few things properly. Had food there a couple of times and were never disappointed, although it was never awesome either. The staff is nice and they have a free pool table which is nice when waiting for the food. Compared to most places in Vang Vieng, this is a a good choice.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JokkusBokkus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I have just come back from eating my dinner here. The menu is simple but covers most things that you may desire including western and local food. After eating lots of average western and local food I wanted to try the cheese burger as it had good reviews from other people on tripadvisor. I was not disappointed, the burger was juicy and full of flavour, even the chips had a lovely seasoning and they were crunchy on the outside but fluffy on the inside. I would recommend this place to everyone and the view is spectacular at sunset! Staff were also helpful and friendly.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SJB161982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kangaroo Sunset Bar also viewed

Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
 
Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing