We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super clean Guesthouse with super comfy beds.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand View Guest House
Ranked #52 of 96 Vang Vieng B&B and Inns
UK
Level Contributor
110 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Super clean Guesthouse with super comfy beds.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

I stayed here on the recommendation of a friend & was not disappointed.
I had a double room with a HUGE bed & hot shower bathroom on the ground floor, just off the lobby, for 100,000Kip a night. The room also had a TV with heaps of English language channels and I had a balcony with a view of the river.
The room & bathroom were both really clean. There were some marks/stains on the sheets & curtains but they were clean. The bed was the comfiest I've slept in in 4 months!!!
The family who run the guesthouse were friendly & helpful and the attached travel agency is convenient. Though their mini-mart prices are a bit steep! But that can be said about most of the shops in Vang Vieng.
There is some building work going on next door but they don't start until 8:30ish & it never disturbed me. Same for the 'island' bars. I could hear some of the music but only faintly & it didn't keep me up.
The location of Grand View is excellent, right in the heart of Vang Vieng. All in all a great place.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: If you need wifi in your room ask fora room on the ground floor just off the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jo_thomson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    26
    8
    9
    14
See reviews for
3
26
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

I stayed here 6 nights with another friend and had a comfortable stay. Room was in a good location, clean, fairly spacious with a good sized balcony and had wifi in room, AC and cable TV for 150 000 kip. We stayed on the side facing the road which was cheaper than the river view rooms but still good. We didn't have any problems with the management who were always helpful. Although our room didn't get cleaned while we were staying there it wasn't a big problem to us

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Portia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

Imagine 8am in the morning after a heavy binge drinking only to be woken up by the sounds of both construction and roosters in the adjacent lot. Yes, a rooster farm inhabits the adjacent lot next to your window. If that doesn't give you a migraine, then the sawing of rebar and men yelling loudly at each other will.

The hotel is in a great location, stumbling distance back from the island (where all the bars are located) and steps away from the tube renting company. However, there are a dozen hotels/Guesthouses that are along the same road. Customer service was non-existent and our room wasnt cleaned after the first day. Needless to say we switched to Mountain View guesthouse. An infinitely better hotel. We stayed there for the rest of our week in Vang Vieng.

Overall, nice room and hotel itself (no wifi in rooms), but the construction and rooster farm was too much. Stay away from this place or you'll regret it the next time you're hung over!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naradexal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vang Vieng hotels

Vientiane, Laos
Level Contributor
276 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

I stayed here one night and found it to be good for the money - a new hotel, clean, cable TV, and small private balcony looking out to the river. The front rooms with the view were 150,000kip, 30,000 extra for AC.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluecramp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level Contributor
498 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

I was 3 days the last week in GRANDVIEW guesthouse, have a nice view, BUT IS NOT RECOMENDABLE, the manager is oen of the worst personal i talked, I have two inconveniences ( exchange rate and cleaning room ) .... and he only laugh and talk in laos language. The view is nice with balcony ( is the more expensive room ),

My recomendation ? I SUGGEST NOT USE THIS GH. you have many places here with frendly people.

Here you not have good lobboy or place to drink something , conect at internet. I need go to the pub beside, becauase the internet is extremely slowly.

Enjoy the places is very nice, the night is with good bars and restaurants. If you can choice another GH, this is expensive and now i read another coments and many had this inconvenience...

Room Tip: I sugguest no choice this GH,if you like > WITH BALCONY floor 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAU1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
185 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

Unlike some of the other reviewers I didn't have any issues with the management. They did my laundry OK, kept my valuables in the safe and were good about warning against police scams. Night time security is a joke, so I kept the key to myself. As long as you behave sensibly I think it's a great place to be.

The room was good, lot's of space, great bed and good tv. Bathroom was good, but they won't clean it during your stay. You have your own balcony and a magnificent view if you're OK to pay the extra 20k kip for a river view.

I loved it and stayed for six nights. Great value

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roelvdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg,
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2011

We really liked Grand View but we didn't have any issues with the managers either. In fact, I don't really remember our interactions with them all that much, so I will just stick to reviewing the room itself.

Room was large, bright and clean with an air con that worked exceptionally well, tv and hot water. We also payed more for a riverside room and the view was fantastic.
The rooms were a bit on the expensive side, but we stayed in a @#$@ hole the night before (i wish i remembered the name!) so we decided to splurge for a couple nights here. Now, when I say expensive, keep in mind i mean for Laos. This is a flashpacker hotel, not a backpacker hotel.

The hotel also had complimentary coffee in the front foyer which seems like not a big deal, but it was the first time (and maybe the last?) we had seen this in SE Asia and we appreciated it. A lot.

We would def. stay here again if we came back to Vang Vieng.

Room Tip: Pay more and get a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrownieCakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.0 mi away
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
#3 of 21 in Vang Vieng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thavonsouk Resort
Thavonsouk Resort
#10 of 21 in Vang Vieng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riverside Boutique Resort
Riverside Boutique Resort
#1 of 21 in Vang Vieng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Vieng Tara Villa
Vieng Tara Villa
#4 of 21 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bountang Hotel & Guesthouse
Bountang Hotel & Guesthouse
#50 of 96 in Vang Vieng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 21 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand View Guest House

Property: Grand View Guest House
Address: Vang Vieng, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Vang Vieng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Grand View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand View Guest House Hotel Vang Vieng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing