We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing deluxe about the 'deluxe' room or the hotel...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vansana Vang Vieng Hotel
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Vang Vieng
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nothing deluxe about the 'deluxe' room or the hotel...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

I booked directly with the hotel and they even confirmed the booking a couple of days prior, however when I arrived they had the incorrect number of days and people stay, even though they had confirmed the correct information.
The room was dirty with used shampoo bottles etc still in the bathroom, and the room looked nothing like the deluxe pictures on the website. We were on the first floor left corner and had construction noise from next door which started early and finished late. The air con was so loud we couldn't leave it on at night, and it leaked water onto the floor. The view from the room was awesome, but we had a big tree in front of the balcony so couldn't enjoy it.
The only plus would have been the pool if it had been sunny to enjoy it. The pool appeared to be clean and well maintained. Breakfast was okay - not a big selection though. Staff were hit and miss with some being helpful and attentive, while others did not even acknowledge when you were standing at the reception desk. A gentleman helped us with our bags up and down the stairs, which was much appreciated.
Would definitely stay something else next time.

Room Tip: Avoid staying on the left side where the construction is and the stairs are steep going to the leve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    36
    35
    13
    7
See reviews for
13
44
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Northborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
500 reviews
167 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

We enjoyed our stay in town, but this town caters to back packers and college age kids who love to party, ie drugs and booze. So, if that bothers you, stay clear of this town.

The Hotel is located along the river in a very central location in town, with wonderful views of the river and cliffs behind. The room was fairly clean, with some dust bunnies on the ceiling. The bed was very hard!!
The hotel provides a good breakfast. WiFi is free.

We took a boat trip on the river which cost around $10 for an hour ride which we throughly enjoyed.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BostonSkier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
669 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

This town is infested with thrillseeking 20-somethings interested in tubing down the (dirty) river. So, daytime in town is relatively tranquil and peaceful. At night, all the youngsters party about 200m to the left of the hotel. Room 215 has probably the best views. It's a corner room overlooking the pool with gorgeous sunsets over the river. Only thing I don't understand is the fact that I see cobwebs, but I still see mosquitoes. OBTW, the WiFi is not reliable. Breakfast spread is pretty OK, but look before you eat... that was not a speck of black pepper on your food.

We observed a Canadian woman harassing hotel guests while they were having their breakfast. She's most likely coming off a chemically induced high and not a hotel guest. You don't see security personnel anywhere.

Room Tip: Get room 215 for best views. Second floor most secure (staff and check in desk).
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KKua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
176 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

The location wax amazing the pool was the only saving grace

The room was tired the bathroom could do with a good clean the shower was good if you sat down as the adjustment was broken

They make a big deal about your security and give you a very small safe

The pool closed at 8 or was supposed to two rather drunk and loud Chinese residents went swimming at midnight and weren't removed

Breakfast was was poor and limited choice and the eggs were rubbery

The air in was noisy and I mean really noisy which coupled with the hardest bed in the world meant a poor nights sleep

Unless you have to go elsewhere

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edwmagee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vang Vieng hotels

Netherlands
Level Contributor
123 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

Large hotel, with pool, and terrace at the river. Rooms were ok, breakfast not very much choice.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rayodelsol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

Not a bad place at all. The AC didnt work too well and the hotel wifi wasn't working for the whole 3 days I was there. Breakfast not bad. A bit shabby but in quite an endearing way. Altogether I probably would stay here again.

Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank mfresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

I first stayed in the Vansana Hotel in June and then again in December on a Flashpacking Tubing Trip. The staff are excellent, the views are amazing, the hotel is quiet, the WIFI works well and pool is perfect... Not much more I can say about this hotel.. Its centrally located and provides Flashpackers with a excellent hotel at a very reasonable price right on the might Nam Son River..

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chasesunrise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.3 mi away
Vieng Tara Villa
Vieng Tara Villa
#4 of 21 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
#3 of 21 in Vang Vieng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 21 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
#6 of 21 in Vang Vieng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Vang Vieng Riverside
Villa Vang Vieng Riverside
#15 of 21 in Vang Vieng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.4 mi away
Thavisouk Riverside Hotel
Thavisouk Riverside Hotel
#16 of 21 in Vang Vieng
3.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vansana Vang Vieng Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vansana Vang Vieng Hotel

Property: Vansana Vang Vieng Hotel
Address: Vansana Vang Vieng District | Ban sysavang, Vang Vieng 1003, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Vang Vieng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vansana Vang Vieng Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vansana Vang Vieng Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vansana Vangvieng Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing