We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the worst hotel I stayed in Laos”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vansana Vang Vieng Hotel
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Vang Vieng
Reviewed March 31, 2012

The location wax amazing the pool was the only saving grace

The room was tired the bathroom could do with a good clean the shower was good if you sat down as the adjustment was broken

They make a big deal about your security and give you a very small safe

The pool closed at 8 or was supposed to two rather drunk and loud Chinese residents went swimming at midnight and weren't removed

Breakfast was was poor and limited choice and the eggs were rubbery

The air in was noisy and I mean really noisy which coupled with the hardest bed in the world meant a poor nights sleep

Unless you have to go elsewhere

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edwmagee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 112 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2012

Large hotel, with pool, and terrace at the river. Rooms were ok, breakfast not very much choice.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rayodelsol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Not a bad place at all. The AC didnt work too well and the hotel wifi wasn't working for the whole 3 days I was there. Breakfast not bad. A bit shabby but in quite an endearing way. Altogether I probably would stay here again.

Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
1  Thank mfresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

I first stayed in the Vansana Hotel in June and then again in December on a Flashpacking Tubing Trip. The staff are excellent, the views are amazing, the hotel is quiet, the WIFI works well and pool is perfect... Not much more I can say about this hotel.. Its centrally located and provides Flashpackers with a excellent hotel at a very reasonable price right on the might Nam Son River..

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chasesunrise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

NOISE! Echoing corridors and stairs, loud fellow-guests round the pool late at night, construction work on one side, blaring music on the other .... and what's more the shower had the cobwebs and dust of ages on, the light fittings were melting, the blind was split, there was an upside-down cockroach on the restaurant floor, the lounger area was still displaying the previous night's beer bottles and fag ends the following afternoon. The two blobs are for a staff who were helpful and friendly, and for the astonishing views across the river from the top floor rooms. The sister hotel in Phonsavan, (Plain of Jars) by the way, was a five-blobber - so it can be done!

Room Tip: If you stay here, 201, 202 and 203 face the river and have great views (but are next to the building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crookhamcommon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Pros
Nice, comfortable room with a surprisingly comfy bed. The mattress seems thin and very firm but it was actually very good.
The lady at reception was charming. Her English wasn't brilliant but she tried her best and she was very nice.
View to the mountains across the river was great, offering a great opportunity to see the exodus of bats from the caves at dusk.
Nice location away from the rest of the town but only a few minutes walk away.
The grounds and pool are nice.

Cons
Absurdly load air con unit, it sounded like a Spitfire taking off.
Couldn't get the wi-fi to work at any point yet it was fine everywhere else in town. Other reviews have mentioned this and I'm sure it is a problem with the hotel. My laptop could see the router but the router wasn't allowing the connection onwards. That said, they do have PCs for guests to use.
The breakfast was pretty dire. I don't know how much they put out at the start of service but by 09:00 there is very little available and it was cold.
The back doors to the rooms don't seem very secure. They only have a bolt keeping them closed, a good mortise lock is needed.

Conclusion: Address the issues with wi-fi connectivity, be more generous with the breakfast selection and sort out the air-con units and this would be a very good place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Broadron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2011

We stayed two nights at Vansana and found it comfortable with an amazing view. On arrival, we were warmly welcomed and shown to our room. The staff were very friendly and helpful during our entire stay. We had the executive suite which was very spacious. There was plenty of drinking water supplied and a small fridge with a mini bar. Heaps of cupboards and extra blankets and pillows.
The bed had a very thin mattress and seemed very hard, so we expected it to be uncomfortable. But we slept really well. The air cond was very efficient and TV had a few channels to view. Bathroom was a good size with large shower and thick towels. Great hot water and pressure. Maybe could have done with a more thorough scrub, but clean enough.
We had breakfast there one morning and it was OK. However, we ate elsewhere on the second day as there wasn’t much for vegetarians who also don’t eat eggs (i.e. me).
The location was very quiet and a minute walk to the more lively area of town. But that view from the balcony is un-beatable! It was so nice to watch the sun go down, and just river life each day. Only flaw was the balcony’s canopy was missing so there was no shade or shelter when it rained. Other rooms had them so I think ours had fallen off or something...
We wished we stayed longer in Vang Vieng and would definitely stay at Vansana again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KGB_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.3 mi away
Mountain View Riverside Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
#8 of 25 in Vang Vieng
466 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vieng Tara Villa
Vieng Tara Villa
#5 of 25 in Vang Vieng
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Villa Vang Vieng Riverside
Villa Vang Vieng Riverside
#17 of 25 in Vang Vieng
142 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 25 in Vang Vieng
212 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
#9 of 25 in Vang Vieng
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vansana Vang Vieng Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vansana Vang Vieng Hotel

Address: Vansana Vang Vieng District | Ban sysavang, Vang Vieng 1003, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Vang Vieng
Price Range: $49 - $62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vansana Vang Vieng Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Vansana Vang Vieng Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vansana Vangvieng Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing