We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel, away from Vang Vieng nightlife”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Vang Vieng
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Khamphone Guest House
Ranked #20 of 25 Hotels in Vang Vieng
Reviewed February 10, 2014

This hotel is a bit away from the centre of Vang Vieng, which is why we picked it, since we didn't want to be stuck between drunk backpackers all night long. The rooms were simple but clean.
The hotel seems to be going downhill a bit though, since they don't offer breakfast anymore and the pool is closed. The four of us seemed to be the only guests. We didn't really mind, we liked that it was all peace & quiet, and in the evenings we had the big balcony for ourselves to relax with a Beerlao.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JazzJumper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
There are newer reviews for Khamphone Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 62 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2013

The hotel is in a good location so that you can walk to wherever you want, not that VV is that big.
You have to take your shoes off so it was very clean. The shower is the normal Loas wet room style which lets face it, soaks everything else in the bathroom.
We liked the fact that you could sit on the balcony and look out over town and the karsts (hills) in the background.
It's a little bit more expensive than the back packer lodges but it depends on what you want.
Breakfast was also the standard fare of bread and eggs but at least you got free refills of coffee, tea and drinking water which saved a few Kip.
Always a bonus when the AC works.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Easy to get around town, not bustle of say Hanoi, so though not central or on river side it is easy to walk to these areas of the town. It was quiet and reasonably basic such as showers, beds and space but all we really needed for a relaxing stay if you are planing to stay in rooms. Can have breakfast at reasonable price or plenty of other options - bakeries and Aussie bar not that far away and provided free coffee. Free WiFi a bonus. Staff welcoming and would help where could. There are probably more scenic and central places to stay but this does provide all you need.

Room Tip: Steps to upper floor are steep go for ground floor is mobility problems. None seem to have a good vi...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bluem5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

As it is a bit far from the center (which is good and night life is a bit fussily) we couldn't find it easily. But the house and room were clean, equipped with fan and TV. As there are regular electricity breaks, the electricity is not working during the day all the time, just for a few hours.
The toilet and shower (all together) were again disappointment for us but we were getting used for that. When you use the wash-basin, the pipes lead off the water to the opposite side of the room where it come out from the pipe and is coming back in the middle of the room as there is the drain (waste pipe) in the middle.
Unfortunately it the mooring some people from the neighborhood started to rebuild their house so this together with kids riding their motorbikes till late night didn't really improve the quality of sleep at this place.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benda007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Never slept in a worse bed, so uncomfortable, sink leaked and the walls were very dirty wifi didn't work in the room shower was cold when advertised as hot tried to charge 60000 kip a night but haggled down to 50000 kip stayed in a place after for 40000 and it was much better

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebeccabernice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

On advice of fellow travelers we stayed at Khampone Guest House for four nights and really enjoyed our stay. Just far away from the main entertainment area of Vang Vieng, this guest house is very quiet and secure and only a 5 minute walk away from eateries, shopping and entertainment. The owner/occupier was very helpful and was able to organize things for us when requested. Our room was quite large and had a balcony area. Exceptional value for money. Highly recommended,

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prholst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

We stayed at the new Khamphone Hotel for a couple of days and we really liked it. The rooms were very new and cleaned every day if you like. The rooms and the bathroom are very spacious. The breakfast is great. The Omelet Sandwich with extra cheese is so good and really very cheap. But for the breakfast sometimes you have to be a little bit patient because they do not always have all the things available. But at the end you will get great and cheap sandwiches.
The staff is nice and they also offer bus tickets to Luang Prabang or somewhere else. We booked the minibus at the hotel and everything went great.
Make sure you get the rooms at the right side of the hotel because this part seems really new but therefore you also have to pay between 100 and 200.000 Kip.
Another advantage is that the hotel is not directly located in the very center of the city so it is very calm and quiet and you do not have all the loud bars and very drunken people all around
For sure a great choice to stay in Vang Vieng.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InWe26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.0 mi away
Mountain View Riverside Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 25 in Vang Vieng
204 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vieng Tara Villa
Vieng Tara Villa
#4 of 25 in Vang Vieng
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
#8 of 25 in Vang Vieng
454 reviews
0.0 mi away
Khampaseuth Hotel
Khampaseuth Hotel
#15 of 25 in Vang Vieng
12 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ban Sabai Riverside Bungalow
Ban Sabai Riverside Bungalow
#11 of 25 in Vang Vieng
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khamphone Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khamphone Guest House

Address: River East Side, Vang Vieng, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 25 Hotels in Vang Vieng
Number of rooms: 298

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing