We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a brilliant place”
Review of Touda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Touda
Ranked #1 of 10 Azilal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 8, 2013

This is a wonderful place We stayed here for a week as part our fourth month-long trip in Morocco,and this was undoubtedly the highlight of an excellent trip.We had hired a Dacia Duster and so were able to get about everywhere fairly easily and there is a wealth of places to visit from Touda,not just the Ait Bougmez valley but also Ait Bouilli and further afield.We were actually slightly apprehensive about spending a week here but in fact could have stayed for a month,and hope to do so one day.Ahmed,Fatima and their team,including Ahmed's family ,could not have been more hospitable,helpful and accommodating.Said sent us good directions,including suggestions for activities,and was very helpful when we had a problem with the car.The food was good,plentiful and varied.We had bought our own wine in Marrakech and the staff were happy to serve it.Our room was clean and comfortable,as were the public areas.There were always other walkers of different nationalities and a convivial atmosphere round the fire in the evening while Ahmed ,Ibrahim and Fatima entertained with Berber music.The scenery was breathtaking,the walking excellent for all different levels of fitness,and every day was an adventure.Everyone in the villages was friendly ,pleased to meet us ,and keen to chat.It really was a great experience and we were very sad to leave this astonishing part of the world..Thank you to everyone at Touda for all your kindness and helpfulness..

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 622peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 178 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2013

I travelled alone by public transport to Touda in the middle of April. It was a lovely location, super quiet, great views over the valley, clean, good food and hosts. Communication leading up to my stay was very efficient. My one wish would be to have some comfortable outdoor seating to enjoy the fresh air, sun, and views. The walk up to the lake was well worth it.

Some transport notes for independent travellers: You can get a minibus from Azilal all the way to the the village, but be sure to confirm it goes to Zalwyat Oulmzi, not just Tabant. I arrived at the bus station in Azilal at 8am (get a seat on the right (passenger) side of the minibus for good photos) and we left just after 9am.

Leaving Touda, I decided to stay a bit longer in another village in the valley (the one with the dinosaur footprints), so hiked back along the road and then up a piste and down a trail into the valley behind Tabant (4hrs).

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trina I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Touda is certainly not on the main tourist routes of Morocco, but if you want some true Moroccan mountain hospitality and amazing views, this is the place to visit. A beautiful valley!

Ahmed and his team could not have been more welcoming and accommodating. The facilities were clean and well maintained. Warm showers and beds were most welcome with the icy weather. We did a trek on the one day up to a lake up in the mountains which was wonderful, truly stunning views of the valley! We took a mule for the children which worked well as they could get on and off when they were tired. I would certainly recommend the area for longer treks as well.

The meals they provided were delicious! We loved sitting around the fireplace at night and waking up to a snow white valley the next morning! There was a good selection of games and books for the kids, mostly in French.

Check when booking what the weather and road conditions are like. As I said it is a little of the beaten track but well worth the effort of getting there!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WendyT67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We would like to thank the team of Touda for their terrific hospitality and warm welcome, the stay in Ait Bougmez was definitely one of the highlights of our Morocco trip. We were immediately made to feel at home. The surroundings are stunning and well worth the trip into the valley. Our rental car, a small Kia struggled a bit due to recent snow but with dry conditions the journey should not be a problem even in the smallest rental car. We can only wholeheartedly recommend to stay at Touda.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bettina71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: y aller avant qu'une route asphaltée ne facilite l'accès...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Annie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marghadi S, Propriétaire at Touda, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Azilal
11.3 mi away
Gite Imarin
Gite Imarin
#2 of 10 in Azilal
42 reviews
9.1 mi away
La Kasbah du M'Goun - Ait Bouguemez
0 mi away
Maison d'hotes Ait Mouli
Maison d'hotes Ait Mouli
#4 of 10 in Azilal
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Gite La Montagne au Pluriel
0 mi away
No photo provided
Kasbah Ait Bouguemez
#9 of 10 in Azilal
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Touda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Touda

Address: Zawyat Oulmzi | Ait Bougmez, Azilal 22450, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Tadla-Azilal Region > Azilal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Azilal
Price Range: $71 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ecolodge Touda dedicated to the promotion and protection of the Berber CultureTouda guest house in Ait Bougmez Valley Moroccan Hight Atlas, An innovative travel concept within Berber culture. Your trip will be very comfortable ant totally respect full of the cultural differences: you will be able to organise your stay as you which:* you can choose freely, in total freedom, thanks to detailed maps and flyers at your disposal. They will unable to discover easily th region according to you physical level and at your rhythm.* as a group or (as a) family, with a professional guide who will be the Berber ambassador throughout you meeting and contacts with the local population.* Various thematic trips : architectural customs, to observe and to understand the Berber way of life, to discover the most beautiful landscapes in the valley of hight atlas and in the mountains, meeting the Ait Atta nomads near Izourar Lac.* a library offering different books to consult at leisure to discover Berber culture, their habits and customs, fauna and flora. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Touda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Touda Morocco/Azilal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing