We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WE WILL BE BACK”
Review of Tamassa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tamassa Resort
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Bel Ombre
Reviewed December 30, 2010

Spent 8 days at Tamassa from 11 to 19 December 2010. Cant tell you how much we enjoyed it. The staff are great, helpful and always willing to go out of their way. Meloni, Sylvester (You're a star), Satish (Great Guy), Vincent, Rashid and many more made our stay great. On the 16th December, we celebrated our 30th wedding aniversary and were sent a special invitation by Playa restaurant for dinner, with menus with our names and a special cake made and all the staff singing congratulations. The matre'd at Playa (did not get his name) is on the ball all the time. Got back to our apartment and there was a fruit bowl and a bottle of champagne. Great touch. We met some amazing people as well and though we could not do much in the way of water sports, (as my husband had a back op) we were entertained all the time. we will definitely be back in a couple of years with the whole family. On the all inclusive package, only downside is they need to have more semi sweet and rose wines, and a larger variety of cocktails.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank everyll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geraledineMauritius, Public Relations Manager at Tamassa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your taking the time to post your reviews on Trip Advisor. It is much appreciated. We are delighted to hear that you were pleased with the hotel facilities and enjoyed your dinner at Playa Restaurant. We will certainly pass your comments onto our staff especially Melonie, Sylveste, Rashid and others.
Thank you so much for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the near future.

Kind Regards
All the team of Tamassa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,469)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,051 - 3,057 of 5,469 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2010

I stayed there over the Christmas weekend with my son and family. The hotel itself is very nice with it's 4 swimming pools.
My son just loves it. We booked with early check-in and late check-out, but were made to wait for the official hours for our room.
The room itself was clean, but the air-conditioning leaked the whole night. We had to put 2 towels down on the floor to hide the sound of dripping water.
Food was not terrible considering the time we went there (Christmas). The meat wasn't cooked well and although i asked well done meat to the waiter, i kept getting medium done meat. There isn't really a child friendly menu. That sucked, 'cos all my son ate was bread and pasta. There was a vegetarian corner for a special delegation (i imagine) and their food looked yummy!!!
I almost forget the girl at the reception of the SPA was very rude ! I hope it was only because they made her work for Christmas!
It's my second stay at the hotel, and I have to say I was really disappointed. It doesn't come near a 4 * to me. Sorry!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mader31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2010

Staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. We got a villa on the first floor. We wanted a sea facing villa, but being a peak season, it wasnt available. Rooms are clean, neat,tidy and colorful.

During our stay, the chef ensured that we got specially cooked Indian vegetarian meals. If you are a vegetarian, this can be a very big plus point. They have their own adventure sports like snorkelling, scuba diving etc that you can explore during your free time.

The only negative point is the resort's distance from the airport. It takes a long while to reach - approximately an hour and a half or so.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tina2606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hibou0709, General Manager at Tamassa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2011

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at Tamassa and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

We would like to point out that the normal distance in time, from the airport to Tamassa is roughly 50 minutes, maximum one hour.

Best regards

from the Tamassa Team,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2010

We were not scheduled to stay in Tamassa, but due to last minute change of plan we stayed here. But i must admit it was a welcome surprise. It is a beautiful resort, well laid out with fantastic views and very interesting design, effectively using swimming pools as interconnecting spaces between rooms. The staff was also very curtoeus and promt. The view from the reception is exceptionally beautiful and you are totally smitten by the place even before you check into the hotel. I would certainly recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harkiran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2010

We spent 14 nights from 8th November at Tamassa and cannot rate it highly enough .From our initial welcome on arrival ,everything was perfect. The room was lovely ,the whole resort is spotless and the food excellent with plenty of variety .We did prefer the Playa restaurant - simply because we like the 'occasion' of going out for a meal .The beach is nowhere near as bad as some people have made out .Yes, there is quite a bit of coral, but between that and the rocks, it made the beach more interesting- we spent time looking at the lovely fish and other creatures that gathered there .We walked on it no problem but you could just as easily buy jelly shoes and if you wanted perfect sand you only had to walk along to the left a bit. We found all the staff lovely and always polite - although I think they struggled a bit sometimes with our Scottish accents :-) as it appears to be predominately French and German who go there . The nearby golf course is superb and the spa is faboulous .We would most certainly go back. Our only comment would be that having spent 14 nights there, it would have been good to have another restaurant to choose from .Also ,although we had no problems the 1st week getting a sunbed at the beach area ,on the 2nd week there appeared to be an influx of holidaymakers who thought they were entitled to get up at the crack of dawn put towels on the beds and then not turn up till late afternoon (not that that stopped us removing them ) but a few more beds might have saved that hassle .

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SheebeeGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2010

We honeymooned here for a week in October and had a very enjoyable and relaxing time courtesy of the Tamassa.

The hotel itself is well designed and very well kept, particularly the grounds. Our room was very nice and clean but there were little signs of wear and tear creeping in on closer inspection, although nothing to worry about all the same. The air con in particular could have been better.

The beach is only 'okay' as there is a lot of broken coral but that's not really the hotel's fault. We still enjoyed lounging at it every day in the beautiful Mauritian sun shine ; )

The staff at the hotel were excellent and if anything were too efficient!

There are 2 restaurants and we varied lunch and dinner between both. 'Show' is the buffet style restaurant and we enjoyed some really nice food there. 'La Playa' was fine dining and again we had some really nice food here. It's a wonderful restaurant and has a great ambience being right on the sea front. Our only gripes would be that generally, the soups at 'La Playa' were bland and the deserts at 'Show' were so-so. We were 'all-inclusive' which was great at 'Show' but in 'La Playa' not everything in the menu was 'inclusive' which was a shame. If anything, the 'all-inclusive' selection could be improved to be a little more generous.

We enjoyed both bars and particularly enjoyed their 'Bel Ombre Sunset' cocktails and the local beers (Phoenix and Blue Marlin). The bar staff were always friendly and always about the beach if you needed a drink brought to you

The 2 main pools were really nice and we enjoyed a day or two at the hotel spa which was good value.

All in all, a very good hotel and one we would recommend but if we are being honest with just a little extra effort this hotel could have a 5th star!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cmckee1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2010

Me and my husband stayed at Tamassa Hotel for 9 nights as we were getting married at the hotel.

We was a group of 19 with one child and the staff could not do enough for us.

From the moment we arrived to the time we left we you could not ask for better service. We had booked a standard room (if you can them that!) but was upgraded to a deluxe room which was beautiful!. The grounds of the hotel were perfectly kept & the pools were always clean.

We had an 18 month child with our party & the hotel staff catered for her needs & kept her entertained throughout the holiday.

Staff- We wish to say a special thank you to Melani our wedding co-ordinator who made our wedding day stress free & perfect, Nishant who is our brother from another mother! who made our evenings in the B bar one word can describe him LEGEND!!.
Last but not least Joel in the Playa restaurant thank you for coping with us & being a superb waiter. All staff however were superb & made our stay more than memorable!

Beach- idylic, yes there are sea urchins but just avoid the rocks or wear jelly shoes.

Food - The food in the buffet and al a carte restaurant was gorgeous, i do not understand how in previous reviews people complained about the food in the buffet. It was different every night and some of our party perferred the food in the buffet restuarant to the Playa restaurant.

Playa restaurant was lovely, lovely setting and superb food.

Entertainment - Every night there was something different. Entertainment was at the playa bar and B bar. Each night it was on till gone 11.00pm. It is the best entertainment that we have seen in a hotel.

Wedding- Perfect, although when people were asked to move the sun loungers they did for 30 seconds, then they put them back! Melani made the whole thing easy and stress free, you spoke to her about what you wanted including extras if wanted and she sorted it all out for you all we had to do is turn up. She also did special touches like having our menu with our names on for our wedding night dinner and being able to walk down the aisle to whatever song we wanted. We also had our first wedding dance at the B bar and it was made to feel like our wedding reception. It was personal and perfect and we would not have done it any other way.

Overall this is one of the best hotel's that we have stayed in and defintely rate it a 5* hotel. We have already said that we will be back for our 1st anniversery & would recommend it for weddings or just an idylic getaway!.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nade75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bel Ombre
7.7 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
5,149 reviews
0.4 mi away
Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort
14.9 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.6 mi away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 7 in Grand Gaube
4,498 reviews
30.3 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,584 reviews
32.1 mi away
LUX* Belle Mare
LUX* Belle Mare
#1 of 12 in Belle Mare
5,785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamassa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamassa Resort

Address: Coastal Road, Bel Ombre, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Savanne District > Bel Ombre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bel Ombre
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bel Ombre
#1 Spa Hotel in Bel Ombre
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bel Ombre
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bel Ombre
Price Range: $262 - $601 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tamassa Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new experience awaits guests at this beautiful all-inclusive beach hotel in Mauritius, located in Bel Ombre, on the island's south-west coast. Tamassa, a 4-star beach hotel, stands at the end of a long avenue of mature coconut palms towering skywards. A picture postcard landscape stretches across sugarcane fields to the mountains beyond. The south-west is a beautiful part of Mauritius, with spectacular walks and drives through lush, tropical hillsides and a range of open-air activities in beautiful countryside. In front of the beach hotel, beyond the sandy beach, lies a turquoise lagoon that almost blends into the skyline. The sea air is invigorating and the ripples of the waves gently calming. Beyond, lie thousands of miles of open sea. The traditional style architecture ideally suits the tropical setting, with beautifully landscaped gardens. The buildings seem at one with the environment. The decor is breathtakingly contemporary, with clean lines and bold use of colour. The atmosphere is one of eternal youth, friendly, cheerful and enthusiastic. Tamassa is a new Mauritian experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tamassa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naiade Hotel Tamassa
Naiade Hotel Mauritius
Tamassa Resort Mauritius/Bel Ombre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing